Another view from the writing room.

Good morning I thought I’d have a go at adding a video through you tube, and also give you a look at the various animals and vistas over the past few years. It’s a fine day today but the view changes.SAM_0335

The rain when it comes cloaks the hills in a damp embrace.Rain

Afterwards if you wanted to go anywhere, well it’s a good day to write.Staying home

Life goes on in the front yard, there’s grooming to be done.

I can't find my iPhone.

And some folk need to be somewhere else in a hurry.In a hurry.

The below link is a video I shot his morning, albeit a little shakily but it gives you an idea of the family group that hangs around. The mob are Whiptail or Pretty Face Wallabies. The above pic is of an eastern grey Kangaroo. It all goes to show the peace and tranquility of our home and surrounds and the trust that animals put in you when they make your home theirs. Oh except when they poop on the verandah.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MfFH03xPRSI&feature=youtu.be

21 thoughts on “Another view from the writing room.

    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Yes it’s good to get an off the ground shot. they’re very aerodynamic. We’re lucky here, I sat on the veranda this evening and took about 30 snaps of them. Some cute ones too.

      Like

      Reply
  1. liz blackmore

    Thank you, Laurie, for sharing this! You have quite the herd (is that what they are called?) hanging out in your paddock. The two sentry guards did not move a muscle. Beautiful pictures of the storm rolling in!

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Liz, I lost those pictures from the second post. I may have hit the wrong key, and they are a secondary post, who knows. But they are nice pics. It’s a Mob of Roos and the two in the trees look like they belong to ‘The Mob.’ 🙂 Yes we get some good storms rushing across the hills.
      Cheers
      Laurie

      Like

      Reply
  2. Sharon Ann Rowland

    Hi Laurie, what a wonderful outlook you have, my family and I are also blessed with a nearby family of Roos, white deer, rabbits and many other interesting animals. I have 2 cats that are covered in bells to stop them from stalking the wildlife.

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Hi Sharon, Thanks for dropping by. Yes I like it and it is a blessing to have the added bonus of the wildlife, We have a small herd of Red deer hanging around, usually over the back or down the road. Haven’t come within camera distance of the house yet. The only downside is we have a pack of wild dogs and dingos that hang around. They come into the back yard sometimes and howl like crazy. It sounds like you have a special place there too.
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
  3. kelihasablog

    Okay Laurie…. if you keep posting these really beautiful pictures, we are all gonna show up on your doorstep one day…LOL. Your wife will bop you on the head then… 😀 These are beautiful. I haven’t figured out how to post videos yet. Do you have to pay extra and upgrade to do that?

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Always welcome Keli, I’m delighted that people like them, I think I sometimes take the view for granted it’s there every day. I got a google account, (very easy) and it gives you an email account, a cloud drive, and the ability to upload videos to you tube. When you’ve put the video up you put the link in your blog. You can pay extra to wordpress for the embedding of videos but you tube is easy.
      Cheers
      Laurie

      Like

      Reply
  4. Patricia Kruck Salamone

    Laurie, What a wonderful clip. “If you build it, they will come”. You have applied that quote and natures creatures have found it.:o). It was also nice to put a voice to the face that I have gotten to know. Love your accent. I hope you don’t mind I shared on fb and tweeted it on twitter. I feel a story brewing.:o)
    Well done brother dear.

    Pat

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Patricia, it was my first posting, I need a tripod. Ahh, my voice it’s from the north of England mellowed by living here for 51 years. You share it as far and wide as you like Sis. I hope to post more as time goes by. I’ve been digging in the archives looking through the pics I’ve taken.
      Take care now,
      Cheers
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
  5. Raani York

    So amazing, Laurie!! I’m jealous!! What I like so much is the jumping wallaby. – Oh… I should visit this area some time… *sigh* – Thanks for making me jealous – No I can’t sleep!!!

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Phew that was quick Raani, insomnia? At least you get to look at some nice pics. They are right there in the yard. My wife went out to hang the washing yesterday and a wallaby and its joey sat about four feet away while she hung the washing. It’s worth a trip. Glad you like the post, I thought an extra post a week with some pics might lighten the mood.
      Cheers
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
      1. Raani York

        OMG Laurie – I didn’t see it – I did check the video right now. They’re so cool – and even cute. And besides: Thanks for commenting your video – Your voice sounds very sympathetic. It fits your picture!! 🙂

        Like

Tell me what you think.

