What! Not another view from the writer’s window?

It is, the view goes from the mundane to the strikingly beautiful especially at sunset. I haven’t retouched the photo. Sunset Green Tree frogs love our rainwater downpipes and when it rains they come out and spread themselves around the veranda. Three Amigos ‘I’m a tree, I’m a tree go away.’ Actually he’s a Bearded Dragon, they head for the trees when you are near. IMG_0103 This is one lizard you don’t want to mess with, he’s a Goanna and about 7 foot long. He sauntered past the house a few Christmas’s ago he’d been in a tree behind the house stealing birds eggs. We only knew he was there by the screeching from about a dozen different birds. They came from everywhere. Goanna up a tree Last but not least we have more visitors, don’t you hate it when they turn up empty handed? Don't you hate it

It wouldn’t be a post without a Video. http://youtu.be/jgpAJj1XqUc  I took this not long after we built our home and as you can see the paddock is quite rough. It didn’t bother the Kangaroos and their ongoing pursuit of females. She isn’t bothered at all, meanwhile they’re getting stuck into each other. They aren’t playing here, I’ve seen one big male after a fight where he’s laid stretched out on his back for most of the day. Then when he could get up he hobbled away. Enjoy.

27 thoughts on “What! Not another view from the writer’s window?

  1. Peggi Tustan (@PeggiTustan)

    The sky in your first picture is absolutely breathtaking! Thanks for posting it. And the frogs and lizard and kangaroos (even fighting) are so exotic. Quite a treat for the eyes of this gal from Cleveland. The kangaroos fighting look like two kids going at it.

    Thanks, Laurie. Loved it and had to share your link on my fb page!

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks so much Peggi, it’s nice to share our own little corners of the world. I guess we sometimes take the things we have in our own back yard for granted. It’s my favourite sky picture to, I love it. Thanks for stopping by.
      Cheers
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
  2. salpa58

    Laurie, breathtaking views and pure and beautiful nature sitting right in your back yard! I hope you have plenty of spare rooms in your home and a big deck with plenty of chairs available because I have a feeling we are all going to show up on your doorstep one day.

    Like

    Reply
  3. kelihasablog

    Wow… you took some GREAT shots! I hate to say though, that I’ll have to “postpone” my trip to visit (Kidding) due to my insane fear of frogs… LOL Not to mention that thing climbing the tree is HUGE…. 😀

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Awww, they’re only little frogs. Actually when you startle them they pee on you. We had some visitors from England and they were taking pics of the frogs. One jumped out of the downpipe and landed on the little boy’s head, the look on his face was priceless but they took a great shot. I’ll have to find some pics of them on the windows at night, just for you. The goanna is a big boy, you don’t get in front of them because they run up anything. I’ll avoid posting spider pics though:-)
      Cheers
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
  4. patgarcia

    Hi,
    These are some beautiful pictures and I love them. I looked at the video also. It looked like a mating dance, but I am not sure. You and Lorelle have a beautiful home and the nature surrounding you is absolutely gorgeous.
    Ciao,
    Patricia

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Hi Sis, they are beautiful and I’m glad you liked them. The video shows two males fighting over the female. They don’t hold back and do some damage with their hind feet. I should have set it to some waltz music.
      Cheers
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
  5. Raani York

    Oh Laurie!! Those pictures are just sooooo beautiful!! If I only could see this for real once!! 🙂 You’re so lucky!

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Hi Raani, they are nice. I like the sunset it reminds me of a smelting furnace in the sky. I’ll keep putting the photos up, even if it’s only you enjoying them.
      Cheers
      Laurie

      Like

      Reply
      1. Raani York

        Thank you Laurie – I appreciate it. Those pics ARE beautiful and I do enjoy the view from your place and as well the nature these pictures are showing me. 🙂

        Like

Tell me what you think.

