Beyond the Writer’s Room

I am going to be using photographs from various places in coming weeks but I’ll always have a view from my room.

Moon setting

Moon setting

The Bearded Dragon is quite common and the good thing is you can get up close. From experience they will latch onto your finger. (Taken in front yard)

He doesn't like his picture being taken.

The Green Tree frog will make himself comfortable anywhere, just not in the laundry basket says my wife.

Frog

Kookaburras are quite the eating machine and when there are snacks available they get in close. I took this on a picnic a few years ago.

Kookaburra

This was taken at the same picnic, I had to do a little bush bashing to get it though. It’s a Rock Wallaby and as the name implies they live amongst boulders and overhangs. It was a little dark where he was, hence the red eye, I left it in it adds a little something.

Rock Wallaby

This Cactus loves trees, they will eventually smother the whole tree however their flowers are beautiful. They would be about the size of a dinner plate and last only a few days.

Cactus

All of the pictures that I will be sharing with you have been taken by me on our travels. The view from the room can be limited and I see the wider world as an extension of it.

The following links will take you to a couple of videos, go Buggy Cam.

http://youtu.be/MFQ8xlQ3EpQ

http://youtu.be/6IIqlicraNM

14 thoughts on “Beyond the Writer’s Room

      1. Russel Ray Photos

        But I don’t like rain. That’s a significant reason why I decided to stay in San Diego after all those years of Texas afternoon thunderstorms and hurricanes.

        I got to San Diego on April 27, 1993. On April 30, the weatherman announced that San Diego had not had any rain for 90 consecutive days. I said, “I could live here,” and never went back to Texas.

        Like

  1. kelihasablog

    It’s funny to see such beauty (the cactus) and enjoy it’s beauty as it’s killing the tree (sad). I love all the pictures though Laurie because they are things I’d never see. Well, except little tree frogs here that look similar to yours… sticky feet too..LOL. The first picture leaves one with a very peaceful sense of solitude. I love that! 😀

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Hmm, poetic there: something so beautiful killing the tree, it reminds me that some of the thins we hang onto in life, that stick to us no matter how beautiful they look can be bad for us.
      See I put that frog up just for you. I like the moon setting, it’s generally peaceful here but that really set the scene.
      Cheers
      Laurie

      Like

      Reply
  2. patgarcia

    Good morning Brother heart,
    These pictures are beautiful and show so much of what I love myself. The first picture with the mountains captured my heart. From then on, I sat here this morning before my computer and dreamed of a world where people would be as loving and kind as the picutes taken by you on your travels.
    I really enjoyed them this morning, especially after what has happened at Sandy Hook, Connecticut.
    Ciao,
    Patti

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Good morning Sis, thanks for your kind words. I like my mountain too, it changes so often. A nice world would be a change but I’m afraid there’s always going to be somebody who will do terrible things to others.
      Sigh
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
  3. Liz

    Thank you for the buggy ride! I can’t get over how many roos there are in the vacinity! You have done a wonderful job with selling your neck of the woods to me. No wonder you made the move!

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Hi Liz, you’re welcome it’s a lot of fun. There are a few roos, the most we’ve counted is 182 between the front gate and the house. It’s great place to live alright.
      Cheers
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
  4. Raani York

    These pics are soooooo amazing. Thank you very much for sharing them, Laurie. I especially enjoy the pictures with the animals… and flowers… and sunrises… oh… doesn’t that make all of them? *chuckle*

    Like

    Reply

Tell me what you think.

