Christmas from the Writer’s Room

The storm.

Storm coming

An after storm view.

Sunset from the Writer's Room

It wouldn’t be Christmas without a large spider. We were having a look at a friends bush retreat, that is a normal sized window he’s next to.

For the Arachnophobiacs

A lonely Emu in the Flinders National Park in South Australia. I can only imagine he was looking for his presents.

Emu,Flinders National Park.

It wouldn’t be Christmas without antlers. The pic isn’t the best quality, I took it with my  phone camera. They were grazing in a paddock 500 yards from our front gate. They are Red Deer and are descendants of deer that were introduced into the state in the 1880’s, a gift from Queen Victoria to the hunting gentlemen of Queensland. I think she sent 3 stags and 5 hinds. They came from her estates in Scotland, so it seems apt that they are amongst the thistles.

Stags

The kids always argue over who received the biggest presents, although I think choking your little brother isn’t sporting.

Roos

I haven’t selected a video for this week’s blog,  I’ve been busy, busy. So I thought this picture was a good choice for the season, it’s my wife Lorelle and I at Christmas Creek in the Lamington National Park. We were hiking up to the site of the Stinson plane crash site. I wish you all a Merry Christmas and a Happy and prosperous New Year. Cheers from Laurie and Lorelle.

Christmas Creek

THANK YOU FOR STOPPING BY.

13 thoughts on “Christmas from the Writer’s Room

  1. kelihasablog

    Your pictures are beautiful laurie! Well, all but the spider… you can just add him to my list with frogs… ick. LOL
    Hope you and your lovely wife have a beautiful and blessed Christmas/Holiday season!

    Like

    Reply
  2. patgarcia

    Hi Bro and my lovely sister,
    Here is wishing the both of you all the best for Christmas, a great entry into the New Year and much publicity and many sales for Valley Of Death.
    Your pictures are fantastic and I would love to use the first two for one of my articles in the future, if you don’t mind. I will make sure you are credited as the photographer.
    Love you both.
    Ciao,
    Patti

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Hi Sis, Thank you so much for your Christmas greetings, they are accepted with the love with which they were sent. Feel free to use the images Sis. I hope that I make a few book sales too. Merry Christmas,

      Like

      Reply
  3. Raani York

    I’m always again surprised about the breathtaking beauty!!
    (Oh well… maybe except the spiders, but that’s another story!)

    Thank you so much for sharing Laurie!!

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      I like to keep you breathless there Raani, it’s a pleasure posting them. Spiders! Where? Oh that monster, yeah he was a big one. Imagine waking in that cabin with him sitting on your forehead?
      Cheers
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply

Tell me what you think.

