FAR FROM THE WRITER’S ROOM

It’s pink, I think.

Pink sunset

We have done a little travelling around the country and this was taken on our honeymoon. It is outside the township of Seventeen Seventy on the Queensland coast. I love starting my posts with the sun.

sunset in 1770

This road is north of Thargomindah in western Queensland, it takes you to Quilpie 195 kilometres away. It had been drizzling rain and it kept the dust down. The only living thing we saw was one lonely sheep.

A long and lonely road.

This is what happens when people who live out on the gem fields in central Queensland have nothing else to do.

strange

Juvenile salt water crocodiles at Darwin N.T zoo. ‘You dropped your phone in there darling? It’s fine I’ll get you a new one.’

Crocodiles

I know, it’s cute. Taken this week in the garden, it isn’t often I get a good joey in the pouch shot.

MUM-BABY

Statues in the park Walcha, New England, New South Wales. I won’t make any comments about getting wood.

Statues

I hope you enjoyed them, call back next week there are plenty more to come.

16 thoughts on “FAR FROM THE WRITER’S ROOM

    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Hi Zyanne, thanks for dropping by and following my blog. yes western Queensland certainly is red soil country. feel free to explore of the blog there are plenty of photos.
      Cheers
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
  1. patgarcia

    Hi,
    I love starting my posts with the sun also. There is nothing as wonderful as watching the sun come up in the early morning. It is one of those elements of life that make me get out of my bed and get up in the early morning.
    Your pictures are beautiful. Of course the sun picture is the best for me. It seems as if you live where the landscape is wide and far away from civilization, which means you can sit down and think. You can hear the voices within you and I like that.
    Great work.
    Ciao,
    Patti

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Hi Sis, Thanks so much for visiting. The sun pics are good. My phone camera takes a good shot and also shows a slightly different spectrum to what the naked eye sees. We have neighbours on either side but we are on 40 acre blocks so we don’t see their houses. At the front towards the hills there is one house way in the distance. All we hear are the birds and yes the inner voice.
      Cheers
      Laurie

      Like

      Reply
  2. Raani York

    So fantastic, those pictures!!
    Oh Laurie – you’re a GREAT photographer too!!
    (I like the Alligators… oh wait… are those Crocodiles?) – oh well… you know what I mean: The ones that make great looking boots and purses. LOL

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      I like to think that I take a snappy pic or two. Yes they are crocodiles, there are huge pools full of them. I love it that you think of shoes and handbags, you can get items from the zoo shop. Extremely expensive though. I think I may have some video of the big crocs, I’ll post them if I do.
      Cheers
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
      1. Raani York

        *chuckle* Thank you… 🙂 Are they bad and dangerous in Australia, the crocodiles? Or are they a protected species?

        Like

      2. laurie27wsmith Post author

        They are both, nearly shot out in the 50’s they were protected. Now they are in huge numbers, people get taken now and then. Not a way I’d like to go, the last couple of victims have been children in the Northern Territory. The crocs have been seen down as far as Gladstone on the central Queensland coast.
        Cheers
        Laurie.

        Like

  3. kelihasablog

    You know I love your pictures Laurie, but these are just so cool and interesting… They are all lovely, but the top two especially caught my eye… guess without frogs or spiders, it looks like a cool place! 😀

    Like

    Reply
  4. Patricia Salamone

    Laurie, your photos are absolutely beautiful, that is the pinkest sky I ever saw and I live in Florida. The sunsets are beautiful here, but none can match that pink. I think the Roos know they are safe around your garden and so they come to rest in the shade and in return they pose for you :o)… How fortunate you and your wife are to be able to travel and enjoy the wonders of mother nature. Thank you for a delightful look at your homeland.

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Hi Sorella, I’m happy you like my pink sunset. Not a Photoshop in sight. The Roos are special, there is never a shortage of them. We are lucky to have such a diverse country, no shortage of Kodak moments.:-)

      Like

      Reply
  5. liz blackmore

    I am thouroughly enjoying the travel series Laurie! What an iintriguing place! The last time I saw earth that red was in Utah. How much did you pay the roo for the second last shot? They are in perfect form. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Hi Liz, it is red isn’t it? And it’s hard to get off your clothing. The Roo? Well that was just one lucky pic, a hot day, a cool spot and she posed for me. I love Roos, as I’m writing this there are seven big ones lying under the trees near the house. Thanks for stopping by, I always appreciate a visit from you.
      Cheers
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply

Tell me what you think.

