A magic view from The Writer’s Room.

A rain squall on sunset makes for an interesting study.

IMAG0106_BURST001      I took this on Wednesday evening; smoke had been blowing in all day from a bushfire behind the hills.

smoke sun

A family of crows used to live in a nearby tree for awhile. They would bring their babies out on the lawn and wait for food, okay so I gave them a few tid-bits, they are scavengers. It was worth it for the antics, those babies gave their parents hell.

crows

For those who love handbags and shoes, this 13’ 11” salt water crocodile will stir your shopping juices.  Darwin N.T. 2009.

skin

 ‘If I stay still nobody will know I’m here.’ I know they’re cute, at Dubbo’s Japanese gardens.

ducks

I usually look at dead trees in terms of how much firewood I can harvest but these have a sense of dignity, even as they are dying. Near Quorn in South Australia.

trees

It’s amazing what you can snap doing 60 klm an hour. A little roadside waterfall in Kosciusko National park.

100_2408

Stop twisting my arm, here’s a Roo pic.

 “Hey Sweetie, who’s your Daddy?”

“Get lost, I’ve got my eyes on the hunk behind you.”

who's your daddy?

Thanks for stopping by. A note for followers of my blog, if you haven’t received this weeks Turnkey’s tribulations, part 9 it could be in your spam folder. I have a few links on it and wordpress may look at it as spam. Ta.

8 thoughts on “A magic view from The Writer’s Room.

  1. Raani York

    OMG – More AMAZING pictures!! This is beautiful! – And the pics from this beautiful sky! My camera usually dampens the colors… it doesn’t even make sense to use it… yours are so beautiful – you should make postcards!!

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Raani, I love the sky pics. The sad thing is we only see a certain spectrum of colour yet the camera pics up that little bit more. I’ll put postcards on my to do list. 🙂

      Like

      Reply
  2. kelihasablog

    Your pictures are wonderful…. I especially love the top 2 and the Roo’s… I was think of you yesterday when I heard about the fires. Hope they are not near your beautiful spot and I hope that they are able to get them under control asap. 😀

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Keli, I love cloud/sky pics. When I was little I always thought that there were huge cities in the clouds and that one day I would live in one. Crazy eh? The nearest fire was the one on the other side of the mountain, hence all the haze. There are some real dangerous ones happening in other states right now, deliberately lit as well.
      The Roos are great, I try to get the odd shots and the funny looks they give you. I need to carry my camera every time I go out into the yard.
      Cheers
      Laurie

      Like

      Reply
  3. liz blackmore

    Despite the devastation caused by wildfires, the way the smoke distorts the light is unique.I have witnessed some amazing skies during fires that I have been near. Another one I like is when a horrific storm is coming in. The weather system and clouds can consume all the senses. And thank you for the Roo(s)!!

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Hi Liz, phew that was quick. I’m always amazed by the way light works with clouds and smoke and storms, oh boy aren’t they great. I love Roos too, they’re so photogenic.
      Cheers
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply

Tell me what you think.

