A mixed view from The Writer’s Room.

I took this last week a few hours after I posted my blog with the Gazania in lieu of a sunset. Nature excelled herself, for a little while, the rain came back the following morning.

Sunset

A view of the ruins at Furness Abbey, Cumbria UK taken in 2002. They are situated a couple of miles from where I lived as a child and were a great place to play. The Abbey was destroyed in the reign of King Henry the VIII in the Dissolution of the Monasteries. Read all about it here,

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Furness_Abbey

Abbey Ruins

A view from inside through the arches.

Arches

A beautiful example of an English country garden, on Abbey Road.

English garden

I apologise for the condition of the photograph, I took it on an old 126 Kodak camera. What I wanted to show was how prolific nature can be. this is an Ivory Curl tree that grew in the garden of a house I lived in. The flowers are the size of bananas and were always covered in bees.

Ivory Curl Tree

More ruins, this time a settler’s cottage near Quorn in South Australia.

Ruins South Australia

I can only describe it as a Mack truck threesome in the car-park at Wal-Mart, San Antonio, Texas, 2002.

Triple Trucks

Bottle Brush shrub in the back yard, the rain certainly gave it a welcome boost.

Bottle Brush tree.

That’s it for this week, I still have a limited internet connection and hope to be up and running next week. Thanks for dropping by and looking at my pictures. Laurie.

9 thoughts on “A mixed view from The Writer’s Room.

  1. Raani York

    Another post with beautiful pictures. You’re a genius, Laurie, that’s what I just needed to see. Thanks for sharing!

    Like

    Reply

Tell me what you think.

