Far, Far, Far away from the Writer’s Room Part Two. Birds.

The first three pictures are of Corellas.

No he’s not caught in the fishing line, although it could be a danger.

Corella

He was trying to get the twig above his head, they’re regular showoffs.M M Cockatoo

I love the subdued colours in this one and how the pink blends in the breast feathers.

Who's a pretty boy

On the left is a Galah, all pink and grey and on the right is a Sulphur Crested Cockatoo.

Sulphur Crested Cockatoo and a Galah

A Sulphur Crested Cockatoo with his crest visible behind his head.

I am a pretty boy

This reminds me of delicate petals.

Petals

I took these this afternoon a five minute walk from our motel in Queanbeyan. The pictures were taken with my new camera, I love it. I hope you enjoy them to.

16 thoughts on “Far, Far, Far away from the Writer’s Room Part Two. Birds.

  1. hitandrun1964

    Argggggg! How is it possible that you have all these amazing things all around you. WOW I’ve played with parrots but they were companion birds and would never be outside. Your birds are so incredibly beautiful. I don’t know if I would ever go in the house. Okay, I would be excited about all the wildlife for a time but, like everything else in life, probably end up taking it all for granted…in about fifty or sixty years. Sio sweet.

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      They are nice aren’t they. We have them around the house but only in a couple of mating pairs. A friend feeds them so I turned up at his place and sat in the backyard and snapped happily away. When you get to the pale headed rosellas they live around the paddock, we get the Galahs, and sometimes the king parrots drop in for a look see. I never tire of seeing the birds around here, especially the kookaburras. The butcher birds always follow me when I’m out with the tractor or cutting wood. A bit sad isn’t it, getting excited about all these birds, I can remember when it was a different type of bird………..

      Like

      Reply
  2. Pingback: Wild parrots learn human language from escapees | Dear Kitty. Some blog

  3. liz blackmore

    Beautiful! I had to look for the Galah, but I found him! I agree, the one of the cockatoo does look like petals arranged about his neck. What kind of camera did you get? What is the zoom? The pictures are very clear. Good job my bird brother! lol

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Liz, yes he was hiding. I have a newer post where they are out on the ground. I love the petal one, it’s beautiful. The camera is a Canon EOS 600D and the zoom focal length was 250mm. The birds were only about 40 feet up in the tree but I like to get good clear close-ups, so I go for the big zoom. then the detail is much better. I’ve been using RAW as well, you get 25megabyte photos. Then you can bring them down without losing clarity. I like birds.
      Cheers
      Laurie

      Like

      Reply
  4. Raani York

    Those birds are sooooooo beautiful – and I love the way you were able to show them by camera! So well done, Laurie. You’re a great photographer… ever thought about an additional career? 🙂

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      I worked with a police officer who was in training to work in scenes of crime. I enjoyed his company and questioned him endlessly about techniques in photography. It is only in the last few years that I have really begun using the camera. Now I have a new beaut one, watch out. I do love the birds, they’re cheeky things when you start to shoot they really perform. I am experimenting with the Raw setting on the camera, it takes 25 megabyte pics. You then use a program to make them smaller without losing the clarity. Watch this space.
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Keli, it is a Canon EOS 600D 18 megapixel.It takes great pictures. I have taken more of a black swan and some Cockatoo’s grooming.They look awesome.
      Cheers
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
  5. patgarcia

    Good morning,

    I enjoy them also. They are a good motivator for this morning. Extremely clear with clarity that makes me think the birds could fly off of the pictures. The pictures look very real. You have done an excellent job of capturing the realness of nature and the reality of a beautiful world surrounding us, my brother.

    Have a great Friday and I wish you and Lorelle a blessed weekend.

    Ciao,
    Patti

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Hi Pat, Good morning to you, it is amazing what you can do with a decent camera. They are a pleasure to watch and the colours though subtle are beautiful. I’m so glad you like them Sis.
      Bro.

      Like

      Reply

Tell me what you think.

