Back at the Writer’s Room.

We arrived home late Tuesday night and the following morning this mob of Kangaroos were all waiting in front of the house. What a welcome, there’s a link at the end of the post for a quick you tube video.Welcome home Roos

The Ebor River Falls in Northern New South Wales.

Ebor River falls

High in the New England Ranges between Grafton and Armidale. The road is quite narrow, wet and a great drive.High in the New England Ranges

There is nothing quite like having a friend clean your ear out. This pair of Cockatoos were in Queanbeyan, NSW.

Grooming Cockatoos

This Black Swan swam by after I took the picture of the Cockatoos.Black Swan

Taken from the lookout in the Moombi ranges, NSW.

Looking south from Moombi lookout

Another mix from our travels, we clocked up 3,000 kilometres or 1,875 miles. I’m happy to be home. We took a lot of photos from the car and they aren’t the best however I’ll put a few good ones together in the coming weeks. The below links will take you to the movies I put on you tube. The mother and joey were two metres from the front door, I thought it was delightful when the joey’s head popped into view. I hope you enjoy them. I’m posting this today so you can enjoy them before the Easter break.

http://youtu.be/Mm5SB4YDylE      Mother and Joey on veranda

http://youtu.be/bcgXD2cXyII   The mob

14 thoughts on “Back at the Writer’s Room.

  1. Pagadan

    Thanks for sharing your pictures! I really enjoyed them; and it was interesting seeing your mention of the New England Ranges since I only became aware there was such a name in Australia when watching a cocumentary the other night. (I lived in New England–the northeastern states, including Massachusetts–here in the U.S.)

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Hi, Thanks for stopping by and looking at my blog. Australia is still something of a mystery to many people. The ranges are beautiful, I lived on a cattle property there when I was 11. It was the greatest place for a boy. I love it when I see movies set in New England US, especially in the autumn. The colours are magnificent. Don’t sweat it about the typo, I thought it quite funny. I do them all the time, big fingers. If you go back through the blog I have quite an offering of pictures. Our New England is in a position where the seasons are quite definite, so the trees look good there. At least the introduced maples and chestnut trees. take care and please drop back soon.
      Cheers
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
  2. Jane Risdon

    Just fabulous photos Laurie, how wonderful to have such access. I took some photos of black swans at Leeds Castle, Kent last year, but for some reason they were unclear. Same with the peacocks. Funny thing happened inside the castle, I was photographing happily and then the camera went on the blink and in one area, nothing came out! It took a while for the camera to start working OK. Odd. Thanks for sharing these. Thanks for visiting my author blog too – really appreciated.

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Jane, it’s great to hear from you. Black swans are beautiful birds until they attack you that is. I would say that when your camera began to play up it could be one of two things, the area was cold and the batteries failed a little. Or you came across some paranormal activity, maybe both at once. Who knows? Especially in old castles.
      Cheers
      Laurie

      Like

      Reply
      1. Jane Risdon

        Now you mention ghosts and I have to tell you that several of the photos which should have had flash, came out with white floaty streaks on them. It was not unduly cold in there. I shall have to ask a friend who is a paranormal investigator when she is not being a real life private investigator. She what she thinks.

        Like

  3. kelihasablog

    I love your pictures just about as much as your stories :D. You make it look so fantastic there, interesting and beautiful, that it really makes me wish I could visit. Unfortunately I know that won’t be any time soon. I really need to get a passport! LOL

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Keli. I try to get as much variation as I can. It is fantastic here, the way things change , the trees, pastures etc. It is a worthwhile place to come see. Get a passport!!
      Cheers
      Laurie

      Like

      Reply
  4. Raani York

    Aaaaaawwwwwww….. I just adore you for your art of capturing interesting objects on camera. Those pics are GREAT!!

    Thanks for sharing, Laurie!!

    Like

    Reply
  5. Zyanne

    Wow. What a fantastic way to live. I watched the “mob” in the video and at first I thought it was just the photo of them because they are all so very still, then just a the end one of them moved 🙂

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      I think there may have been a little ear flapping going on. Next on my list is a tripod so I don’t shake. Thanks for looking in and commenting.
      Cheers
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply

Tell me what you think.

