More oddities from the Writer’s Room

It’s not a post without a sunset, pretty I know.sunset

I spotted this handsome specimen on the side of our track when we were driving out this afternoon. It’s a Bearded Dragon and he’s trying so hard to look nonchalant.bearded dragon2

So I picked him up to give you a closer look. He’s still doing the I’m cool nothing’s going on here thing.bearded dragon

This ornament lurks in our garden. I woke up one night and saw it through the window when the full moon shone down on it and nearly cacked myself, it glowed so strangely.head

Speaking of strange heads, this white ant’s nest is exactly how I found it. No touch ups or carving here. It’s about 7 metres (22 feet) up an Iron Bark tree in the paddock down from the house. What happens is birds, mainly Kookaburras make their nests in them and that’s how it came to be.ant nest

It’s amazing what mothers put up with, the look on her face tells it all. Joey: ‘Mum, I can’t find my X-Box and where’s my lunch?’where is it

Here’s a rose for you, I took it at Queanbeyan and didn’t see the bug until later. The small patch of white on the petal does nothing to detract from its beauty.rose

Last but by no means least, this is at the front of our property. The house is about 800metres further up. This is a big picture and would be ideal for printing out or as a wallpaper. Unless I specify otherwise on the photo all the pictures I put up are free to use. I only ask that you acknowledge where they come from.view from dam

That’s it for the Writer’s Room this week, who knows I may get bored in the meantime and put something up on the weekend. Until then, Cheers.

10 thoughts on “More oddities from the Writer’s Room

    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Keli, it is cute eh? That’s why I love photographing them. The dragon will latch onto a finger if you don’t handle them properly. Good to hear
      from you. Cheers.

      Like

      Reply
  1. Raani York

    Another post of beautiful pictures. I love the “bearded Dragon”. What a beautiful animal!! You are so gifted Laurie!! I think I’m slowly getting jealous. *chuckle*

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      You are welcome Raani, he is a handsome beast, I wonder why you like him, hmm?? Dragon maybe?? They make great pets, my younger brother and I spent hours as kids hunting for them and snakes. He used to walk around with half a dozen baby dragons on his head. 🙂 Keep getting jealous girl it’ll inspire you to take more pictures. 🙂

      Like

      Reply
  2. patgarcia

    Hi Bro,
    I love your pictures and of course the best picture is the one with the sunset. It is absolutely beautiful.
    By the way, I love your new web design. Great job. It is bright and very pleasing to the eye.

    Love you.
    Ciao,
    Patti

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Sis, I try to put a sunset up for you. Yes I like the new design, it’s called twenty twelve and I think its minimalist look actually makes the pictures look better.
      Cheers
      Laurie

      Like

      Reply

Tell me what you think.

