Early morning delights.

I couldn’t wait for the weekend to share these.

It will be delights for this young Red Deer stag. Don’t let the fence fool you these are in the wild they go through this paddock to get a drink in the nearby creek. His antlers have only just come out of velvet and being such a little bloke he normally wouldn’t have all these females. Bigger stags would have fought him off easily. These pictures were taken yesterday morning about a mile from the house.Red DeerOne of the females had a young one but it decided to hide in the grass. I like the way it goes from light to shade. The tear on the females ear would be most likely from going through fences. The clicking of the camera caused them to run after this shot, I was that close.Red Deer herdI took this coming back up the track to the house this morning after the Anzac dawn service. This spider had obviously been busy all night making this remarkable web. The dew glistened perfectly.Early WeaverEvery tree had webs covered in dew, I thought this one seemed to say it all.Tree weavers

Thanks for viewing. Cheers.

17 thoughts on “Early morning delights.

  1. patgarcia

    Hi,

    I love these pictures and especially the ones with the dears. Now if we could only figure out a way to keep them from landing on someone’s plate to eat.

    Ciao,
    Patti

    Like

    Reply
  2. Raani York

    Oh – I love deer! Those pictures are unbelievable, Laurie!! Even though I have to say: I’m scared to death of spiders – I still think your pics are absolutely beautiful!
    Thanks for sharing!!

    Like

    Reply
  3. Pagadan

    I didn’t realize you had deer there too. Spider webs are beautiful covered with dew in the sunlight. However, when I take the dogs out at night, I have to be careful. I hate having spiders dancing in my face ’cause their web’s on my head. Sometimes I just walk into an anchor line.

    Like

    Reply
      1. Pagadan

        All introduced! Yikes!! I imagine they like the climate? Here in Florida, pythons have been introduced, along with giant lizards, Cuban tree frogs and anoles–displacing the native green anoles and little green tree frogs. Lots of other critters and plants too. And you should see the big tree frogs’ droppings! You had rabbits introduced also, as I recall.

        Like

      2. laurie27wsmith Post author

        The deer have adapted well, their natural habitat was quite mountainous and cold (Scotland). As long as they have hills they seem to do quite well. It’s amazing what the introduction of new species can do to an eco system especially when they are similar to native species. Then they compete for the same food and habitat. Some of that frog poo gets huge, they don’t digest real well as you can still whole insects in it. Not that I spend a lot of time looking at it 🙂
        Rabbits, oh boy weren’t they a problem. They bred in their millions and destroyed a lot of land. You see a few around the place now though not as many as in the 1930’s. I love rabbit pie.

        Like

      3. Pagadan

        So, the rabbits aren’t as bad now? Glad to hear it! Though I see that kangaroos are taking over the suburbs. There have been some documetnaries about Australia on PBS lately, including a series: Australia: The First Four Billion years (as I recall). Really interesting.

        Like

      4. laurie27wsmith Post author

        The rabbits have dwindled somewhat. The kangaroos come into the suburbs in time of flood or drought, of course the suburbs move further out so they tend to hang around. MY brother lives in Canberra and quite often has one or two on his front lawn. Australia is quite unique, it’s been above the sea longer than any other continent, hence the deserts, poor soil etc.
        Laurie.

        Like

      5. Pagadan

        We have critters in the suburbs too, especially since, as you point out, the suburbs are moving out. And I’m enjoying learning more about Australia from the documentaries–and you!

        Like

  4. kelihasablog

    Oh these are always so good Laurie! That spider web is amazing isn’t it? Love the deer, I thought maybe the rip was from a tracking tag…LOL. shows how much I know about hunting…LOL 😀

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Keli, that web is different it’s like a horseshoe. The deer with the ear 🙂 they’re considered a pest being introduced here in the late 1800’s. I love the cute white hairs in their ears.

      Like

      Reply

Tell me what you think.

