All over the place from the Writer’s Room.

I’ve been rummaging through some old and new photos this morning. I took this one the other day. I know I usually have a sunset but sometimes life doesn’t always give you beautiful sunsets/sunrises. It gives you the gloomy and the dark, the sombre and barren. So when the next sunrise comes your spirits are lifted with the promise of a new day.

IMAG0292

On the other side of the coin, life gives us squirrels. I took the following two pictures near a lake in the centre of Austin, Texas, USA. This is a squirrel with attitude, it was his tree and wanted to make sure you knew it.

squirrel

This little bloke had the, ‘Please Mister can you spare a nut or two, ( that doesn’t sound right ) I’ve got a wife and three young ‘uns, pleeease?’ down pat, a born scrounger.

Squirrel 2

Sometimes I have too much time on my hands and start playing. I got the idea off Russel, a photographer I follow online. ‘Water Lily Infinity’ sounds okay. http://russelrayphotos2.com/

Untitled

Then I get carried away and play with a Grevillea flower, I promise I won’t do it all the time. It’s like photography on LSD, new perspectives and shapes.

swirly grevillea

There are times when I can’t help myself at all, this is at the West Edmonton Mall In Canada. Me playing Jonah and the Whale.

100_0038

This old bear didn’t have much to say to me at all. I was waiting for my flight out of Vancouver Airport, there were two lovely female constables from the Mounties nearby. I chatted to them and naturally asked if they would take my picture. Old blokes in cowboy hats obviously weren’t a threat.

102_0222

I have to use the Lorikeet pictures up somewhere.

Lorikeets

I took this on a film camera years ago, it is at Wivenhoe Dam here in Queensland. With a Pelican being there naturally I used him as the excuse for not catching anything.

img005

The hills are part of the Great Dividing Range and quite often when it rains it comes up through the valley. The clouds cling to the hills as if they’re afraid to let go, and unwilling to show their colours as the sun shines its rays through them.

Stormy Hills

I’m listening to Vivaldi’s Four Seasons as I’m doing this and the word mellow comes to mind. I hope you enjoy these pictures as much as I’ve enjoyed taking them over the years.

Cheers

Laurie.

20 thoughts on “All over the place from the Writer’s Room.

    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Russel, next time I’m in California ( sat in LA X airport for 8 hours waiting for a flight) i’ll pop over and see what you need doing around the place. 🙂 It’s amazing what you dig up when you look through old photos.

      Like

      Reply
  1. Pagadan

    Beautiful pictures; I especially liked that first one (sunset?) and your flower pattern…

    Btw, I’m glad you enjoyed Carnies, my flash fiction story on Flash Fiction Friday.

    Like

    Reply
  2. kelihasablog

    My goodness Laurie! Your pictures are just getting better and better! I need to try to learn your cool trick you got from Russell. Your squirrel pictures are just SO much closer and clearer than mine. I’m super impressed. 😀

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Hi Keli, follow the link I put up and it takes you to the page where he explains it. The main thing is to work with a square image and then polarize it. Those squirrels were under the impression I had food, so they stayed. *lol*
      Cheers
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
  3. Raani York

    So GREAT your pictures. Some of them are downright breathtaking! And I of course LOVE the one with the two bears. (the one with the moustache – and the other one…) *chuckle*
    Thanks for showing these, Laurie!!

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Raani, ahh the two bears. I really hope you mean huggy type cuddly bear for me and not the slang term for an old gay man with a moustache. *rotflmao*
      Cheers
      Laurie
      *still laughing*

      Like

      Reply
      1. Raani York

        Dear Laurie… OF COURSE I’m talking about the HUGGY TYPE CUDDLY BEAR FOR YOU!!! *shakinghead* – what else???
        HUGS
        Raani

        Like

      2. laurie27wsmith Post author

        Phew, I just needed to sort it out. Being an old handsome devil I’ve had a few inappropriate whistles from men with daddy issues. *oh this is funny.*
        Laurie.

        Like

  4. Tami McVey

    Great shots, as always! Have I mentioned there are some awesome shots to be taken in Northern Ontario, Canada? If you guys ever head back to Canada, you should look me up! 🙂

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Tami. I went to Edmonton 10 years ago to visit my son and his family. He’s living in the U K now and I don’t get to see the grandchildren. So the only reason I would come over is for your fabulous cooking.
      Cheers
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply

Tell me what you think.

