Some Birds at the Writer’s Room.

This capture shows the monthly data of my blog since I started it in June 2011. It has been a huge learning curve, and I’ve found out that people love photos. Good content is a no brainer so I’ve been working on that. I know you can’t please everybody and I’ve tried to vary my posts, I think I may have hit on a good recipe. Personal blog Monday, poetry mid week and pictures for the weekend. ( I have a lot of pictures ) May has been a good month, I have had the best day, 46 views, best week, 237 views and as of 8pm tonight, Friday 31 May the best month, 820 views. it is all thanks to you, the nice people who drop by and view, like or comment. Knowing that people are interested enough to follow the link makes it all worthwhile. I may be easily pleased, I don’t know but I thought I would give out a hearty thank you and hope that you keep popping in.Capture

We had been to town and I didn’t notice the sunset until I got out of the car to open the gate. Then it was a mad grab for the camera before it changed.

Sunset

I get up reasonably early of a morning for one reason, the birds are up early. Now I have had a picture up of this parrot recently, flying around the place. He had been sitting in the top of the shrub in the front garden. I had finished my porridge and stood at the sink washing the bowl and there he was. I could have taken a picture through the window ( I need to clean them ) instead out I went and sneaked around the back of the house in my dressing gown and rubber clogs. Not a pretty sight I can assure you. Creeping up to the front corner of the house I put the setting on sports, just as well, the little blighter flew off, one day I will get a nice close up.

flying parrot

it wasn’t all doom and gloom, I spotted this Curlew feeding his face on the grass seeds and doing his best to ignore me. ( have to trim garden as well ) Obviously I wasn’t a threat.

curlew2

I must have taken 20 pics of him from a distance then I managed to get up to a metre away.

Curlew

My dressing gown must have swung open because he took off for longer grass. I love the subtle colours in his feathers.

curlew3

We went to the pub for lunch last Sunday and this mating pair were there. By the look on his face I think she may have hit a sweet spot.

Galahs

They must have seen me watching them, it was back to serious, stern stuff. “Back off Myrtle he’s spotted us.”

Galah couple

It isn’t going to be a post without a Lorikeet in it. This pair were up a few weeks ago, however they were facing the other way. I love the colour palette of their feathers.

forblog7

So there we have it, mainly birds I know but I have put up dozens of kangaroo pics. There are a pair of Falcons who hang around a power pole a couple of kilometres away. I’ll try and get them. If anyone remembers the picture of the white ant’s nest up the tree, resembling a strange face, well a pair of parrots are nesting in there, I’ll see what I can do. I hope you enjoy the pictures and I’ll see you next week. I’m posting early again this week, Friday night Oz time we are off on a weekend road trip.

Cheers, Laurie.

22 thoughts on “Some Birds at the Writer’s Room.

  1. Russel Ray Photos

    When the new Australian Outback exhibit opened at the San Diego Zoo a couple of weeks ago, Australia sent some official delegates, as did some of the Aboriginal tribes (is “tribes” the correct word). They brought with them a gift of two of those pinkish birds which now are in a nice aviary in the Australian Outback. They are so pretty!

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Hi Russel, yes tribe is the correct word although when they refer to their family groups they say, ‘he or she’s from our mob.’ The pinkish birds would be the Galahs. Thanks so much for checking out my blog, I see you’ve been terribly busy.
      Cheers
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
  2. kelihasablog

    I’m glad you figured out the system for us… okay, well, for you at least. 😀 I do love the pictures. Seems like all of the birds there are so beautiful and well behaved… LOL I don’t know how you got them all to be so still. haha… I think the pink ones are my favorites… ;D

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      It’s like this Grasshopper, they’re still because I stand there for ages waiting for them to settle and get the right shot. Gets a bit painful though when you’re looking upwards. Then I take quite a few pics, hoping to get the right one. The pink ones are Galahs and they make great pets, bloody noisy though. A slang term for idiot out here is Galah. So that’s how I do it. On occasion you can get the fluke shot that turns out great. Wait until you see my swans and shags. Take care, hope your Mom is doing oaky.
      Cheers
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
  3. patgarcia

    Hi Bro,
    Thank you in return for developing your blog with your heart. I believe that is what draws people to your blog and keeps them coming back. So thanks.

    Ciao,
    Patti

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Hey Sis, Great to see you back, I was getting worried. What a nice compliment, thank you. I was just so happy to see my figures move upward that I had to thank everybody.
      Cheers
      Bro.

      Like

      Reply
  4. Raani York

    I love those pictures – and I admire you for having such a loyal followership (almost like mine. 🙂 hehehe) . See? I’m not the only one liking your pictures!! 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  5. Susan Wingate

    Although I enjoyed the animal pics immensely, it would’ve been great if you’d added a pic of the robe and clog combo! 🙂 Thanks Laurie. Your blog will take off and be a usual stop for many, methinks. 🙂

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Susan, let me assure you right now that although warm, it is not a good look. it’s not even dashing. Now if I did add that photo nobody would ever take me seriously again.
      Thanks for your remarks and confidence in my work Susan.
      Cheers
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
  6. suzanneguest

    Ah, Laurie, sigh. I could get soooo jealous of your photos. We just don’t have birds like that running around loose up here in the frozen North. Sigh again. I like your writing style as well. Keep it up.

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Hi Suzanne, thanks so much for commenting. True you don’t see many parrots up your way, that’s why I post them so people can appreciate them. Thanks for your compliment.
      Cheers
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Muchas gracias Chari, es un verdadero placer contar con usted visitar mi parte del mundo. Siempre tengo ganas de ver su cara sonriente y la lectura de sus palabras de aliento.
      ¡Salud
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply

Tell me what you think.

