SURPRISE, SURPRISE!

I couldn’t leave this until next week, As you may know Lorelle and I are having a weekend away up near Kingaroy, the peanut capital of Australia. Being tired or perhaps too lazy, I put off washing the car until the wee hours of this morning. As in 5am, dark, very dark. Out I go in my bathrobe and rubber clogs, yes Susan Wingate I wore them again. My shed is a little untidy, perhaps downright untidy, come on I can’t write thousands of words a day and clean the shed.

I have shelving, what good its doing I don’t know, most of my stuff is on the floor. I flicked on the light and wandered around looking for a bucket and sponge. Couldn’t find a sponge so I thought, Hmm, rags. being too lazy to look I wandered inside, “Lorelle, get us a rag will you Love?” She fetches one for me, why wouldn’t she I look fetching in my bathrobe. After washing the car I put the bucket back in the shed and look up, Hmm I think that may be a snake up there, on top of my car rags. A normal person would fetch a stick and clobber it. My first thought was, Where’s my camera?   The second thought, I can’t take a pic from down here. Fetch ladder from other side of shed, hang on to camera, images of being another David Attenborough flow through my mind. Now one of two things were going to happen, 1. The snake would launch itself from its warm, snuggly bed and latch itself onto my throat. 2. My bathrobe would fall open and the snake would curl up and die laughing.

snake1a

It was cool in the shed, so the snake was a little sluggish, after taking a couple of happy snaps, Lorelle called out, “What’s happening?” –  “Nothing, just a snake.” – “Hit the bloody thing with a stick.” Slam goes the window. Excited now I clamber down the ladder and fetch my underutilised three pronged garden chipper, back up the ladder and pick up the snake with the prongs. He came to life and wriggled a bit, holding it away from me I tottered down the ladder, picked up the camera and took a one handed shot, hence the snake’s head is a little blurry. Maybe I was shaking, with excitement. Taking him over to the back fence I flung him away, he landed on the cool, wet grass and glared at me. Well it looked like a glare. He is a Green Tree Snake, not venomous but they will still bite you. There is a possibility he could have been crossed with a venomous Brown Snake.

snake2a

There we have it, not even on the road and the excitement is already at fever pitch, well maybe bubbling a little. See you all next week.

Laurie.

15 thoughts on “SURPRISE, SURPRISE!

  1. Pingback: Wha’s Not Worth It? | The Velvet Closet of a Lesbian

  2. Raani York

    Holy Macro… Laurie!! I’d been frozen in shock… I do like snakes, actually… I think they’re fascinating… as long as they’re not poisonous – and behind thick glass… as in a zoo…. LOL
    I love your pictures, though!!

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Lol, a real snake lover eh? That’s funny, behind thick glass. I try to entertain the masses you know and snakes get good responses. So a snake for Xmas is off the list then?
      Cheers
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
      1. Raani York

        Uhm…. yes… I’m afraid so, Laurie… I’ve got three cats… no more room for snacks. LOL

        Like

    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      I love my old bath robe, exhilarating was one word you could use. I’ve handled many snakes over the years ( bitten once at 13 ) and this one was a darling. Being cool kept him slow, if it were warmer he would have been much quicker. Still, it’s not a thing you want in the shed in the wee hours of the morning. 🙂
      Cheers
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
  3. suzanneguest

    Good posting, Laurie. Great narrative. I love the way you thought of camera first, getting rid of the thing second. That sounds like something I might do. Hope you have a good weekend away. Looking forward to your next blog.

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Hi Suzanne, thanks. In situations like that one must prioritize and I thought of my fellow bloggers. The weekend is going good. Took some okay wildfowl pics, will post them next week. Thanks,
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks, if he was venomous things may have ended differently. They do a good job of keeping the mouse population down but he can do it outside the shed.
      Cheers
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply

Tell me what you think.

