I couldn’t wait until next week.

I went outside this morning to take a picture of this handsome Kookaburra. He was feeling the chill in the air and fluffed up his feathers. He had perched in an Ironbark tree in line with our solar shed. I turned and saw one of the elusive parrots sitting in a Grevillia bush having a feed.

Kookaburra1

The Pale headed Rosella, they nest further down the paddock and as you know I’ve tried to get a sitting shot for ages.

Pale headed Rosella

Trying to stay nonchalant in my robe and clogs, I took another pic of the Kookaburra. My robe obviously startled him and his head feathers shot up.

Kookaburra2

Taking a chance I walked closer and he stopped eating. Obviously mesmerized by my appearance.

Pale headed Rosella

Food got the better of him and he stayed put for a little while longer.

Pale headed Rosella

I had to share, there are so many pictures I want to put up but I thought nobody would mind having a look at this elusive parrot.

Cheers

Laurie.

21 thoughts on “I couldn’t wait until next week.

  1. Russel Ray Photos

    The kookaburras at the San Diego Zoo are now in their nice, new, huge, monster, gigantic, really really big aviary and seem to be having a wonderful time. They really like putting on a show for we gawkers.

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Aviary that big eh? They know how to have a good time, They’re very easy to domesticate and love hanging around picnic areas and BBQ’s. I love it when they congregate in one of the trees near the house and start laughing. very Australian. I sit in the lounge and check my emails early in the morning and I can see out the window and our back fence is there, paddocks behind then sky, anyway this morning the Kookaburra is sitting on the fencepost and then a Wallaby comes bouncing around the road. I thought, yep I’m in Australia.

      Like

      Reply
      1. Russel Ray Photos

        My next video goal at the Zoo is to get those little Wallabys hopping around. They hop all over the place when my camera is not set to video. As soon as I get the video ready, nope, no hopping. They are so cute, but frustrating…….lol

        Like

  2. liz blackmore

    Hi Laurie! Thank you for this display. I have sang the kookaburra song to my children and grandbabes for a very long time now, not really knowing what they looked like. Now I do! Awesome parrot pictures too!

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Hi Liz great to hear from you, I’m glad you like the pictures. He is a handsome kookaburra, those darn parrots are the hardest thing to photograph talk about jumpy. Now you’ll be able to show the grand babies a real nice photo of a kookaburra.
      Cheers
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Keli, I stay still, it’s like photography for Ninjas. The blue one is nice, they look like big budgies. I’m happy with the pics of him, pardon the pun but they’re very flighty.
      Cheers
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
  3. Ms. Vee

    Beautiful photos of beautiful birds. Thank you for following and the like(s) on my blog. I will revisit your blog. I hope you continue to like my writings, poems, etc. Have a great day.

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Hi Vera, thanks for dropping by and viewing my blog. The birds are nice. I’ll drop in and keep an eye on you from time to time:-D Take care and I will check out more of your work. Cheers
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
  4. Tami McVey

    I live in a world just like Suzanne’s with the occasional splash of colour from a blue jay, so I love to live vicariously through your bird photos! I would never have fancied myself a bird-watcher but I can see the appeal now!

    I look like the kookaburra most mornings!! haha

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Hi Tami, I’m just spreading the cheer with your calzones. I never thought of myself as a bird watcher, well not the feathered variety. With so much colour and the patterns in their feathers it’s hard not to like them.
      I have a visual of you with your hair standing up everywhere now, 🙂
      Cheers
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
  5. suzanneguest

    I’m glad you didn’t wait until next week, Laurie. These are absolutely phenemonal. Sigh. I live in a world of robins, Mallard Ducks and Canada Geese. Not exotic.

    Like

    Reply

Tell me what you think.

