Something different from The Writer’s Room.

I thought the blog needed a little tweaking with the presentation of the pictures. So I decided to give you more content and still put up about 9 photos. If you open them in a new window they come up even better.

 On the road leading into the Bunya Mountains, the forest is right in your face. The bottom two pictures show how some roots have a mind of their own and take on ‘interesting’ characteristics.Rain forest

This statue in recognition of the timber getters is outside the timber museum in Wondai. The log on the Dray is at Nanango and the diorama is inside the timber museum. I had the privilege in 1970 to actually see a bullock dray at work in the hills at Bellthorpe, Queensland. I didn’t have a camera with me that day. The road through the hills was a narrow dirt track, I spied something ahead and pulled over. Around the corner came a bullock team of 8 huge bullocks pulling a dray holding a mighty log. The Bullocky (Teamster) looked a little like the man in this photo but much older, he walked at the rear offside of the log with his whip. He cracked it a few times and believe me didn’t it sound off. They never touched the beasts with it, the cracker goes off above their heads. This was no demonstration, it was a working operation taking logs out of places that machinery still can’t get into. One of those moments that stand out in life.

Timber getters

I know, it’s the Shag from last week but not the same photo. You can almost hear him, ‘Can I do it, can I do it? Yes he can, who’s a clever Shag then?

Shags

Finally, nearly back to the car, the light seemed a little harsh after being deep in the forest. The footbridge is at the top of the waterfall. One big pine that I couldn’t get my arms around. I’ve been known to hug a tree now and then.

Rain forest

This Wren had a good look at me when I stopped to take pictures of the waterfowl. I managed to get a half decent picture of the Falcons who hang around on the road down from our place. They moved to three different power poles before I could get a shot.

Birds

Clockwise: Wooroolin wetlands, north of Kingaroy. A Scrub Turkey at Dandabah campgrounds in the Bunya Mountains. A Fan Tail in the rain forest and another one of a Black Swan.

birds

This sculpture is at Dandabah. Art is very subjective but I believe it has something to do with the rain forest and its struggle. I like the mushrooms around the roots. Don’t remind me, it’s the same waterfall from last week. I do think that it highlights the sculpture though.

waterfalls and statue

No, I’m not being lazy. You may recognize the shot on the left, I posted the top half of it last week, here it is in its glory. A view from the top of the waterfall on the right.

waterfalls

Even the mighty fall in the forest, weighed down with vines and roots. Another perspective and the one below that reminds me of something trying to get out from underneath a dinosaur’s foot. The trees that grow there once fed dinosaurs, I can imagine some huge herbivorous lump grazing through the forest.

rain forest

I would appreciate if you do comment could you let me know if you like the new format for the pictures. I must thank ‘thisisnotbangkok’ for putting me on to PhotoScape for its free software. If you get a chance drop by and look at his photos, tell him Laurie sent you. These individual pictures were all around 8 megabytes, it was only a click and drag into the frame and viola, the pictures you see here. The whole picture is now around a megabyte yet they’ve retained their depth of colour. http://thisisnotbangkok.wordpress.com/

See you next week,

Cheers

Laurie

13 thoughts on “Something different from The Writer’s Room.

  1. patgarcia

    Hi Bro,
    Your neck of the woods in Australia is absolutely heavenly. It appears to be a peaceful area, filled with history, and mother nature seems to be everywhere.
    I enjoyed the pictures this morning. They were a nice way to start my day.

    Ciao,
    Patti

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Hi Sis, There are some lovely places, it takes a while to get there but the trip is usually worth it. I’m glad you enjoyed the pictures and what better way to start your day.
      Cheers
      Bro.

      Like

      Reply
  2. thisisnotbangkok

    Hi Laurie. Thanks so much for mentioning my blog here. For me, I enjoy all different types of blogs: those with text, those with one photo, those with many photos and text, as you do here. So I do not think there is too much going on.

    As for the photos, I think the composition is spot-on in all of them. One good thing about PhotoScape is that the “resizing” tool usually does not affect the clarity of the photos. An 8mp photo is used and they seemed to turn out well here.

    I think you did a fine job. Personally, Photoshop is more comprehensive and you can do more layering, but I am quite pleased with the results of this software. It certainly beats the hell out of Lightroom for me.

    Take care and keep in touch

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Hi Michael ( it is Michael isn’t it?) I was happy to mention your blog, I do it now and then to send people to good places in the blogosphere. Your suggestion for photoscape helped me. I tend to follow all types of blogs, from the funny right through to the deeper ends of the net. There is certainly something for everybody.
      Thanks for your comments about the photos, I love that PAGE section with its resizing tool. I’ve put some big pictures in and they come out beautifully. I take a lot of photos in RAW and when they are changed over they’re still 11 megabytes. I agree about Photoshop it is more complex, I’m trialling it at the moment, I may rent it for a couple of months. No worries at all, I’ll be keeping in touch.
      Cheers
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
      1. thisisnotbangkok

        Thanks for these comments. I’m glad you are able to use the software. I think you just gave it a better endorsement than I did.

        Yes, we will def keep in touch.

        Bye for now …..

        Like

  3. Raani York

    The pictures are definitely GREAT. Absolutely amazing!!
    As for the new format: To have so many next to each other is a little “overwhelming” to my eyes. Even loving the pictures, it’s almost a little bit too “busy” to watch and take in.

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Raani, me trying to be creative, I’ll have another look at the layout and see what I can come up with. The whole thing is I have so many pics I want to share, at the same time I don’t want to be putting a post with them more than once a week. I’ll work it out, thanks so much for liking and giving feedback.
      Cheers
      Laurie

      Like

      Reply
  4. kelihasablog

    Oh my goodness Laurie!!! You are really great at taking such inspiring and beautiful pictures! I love looking at them since your area is so different from here! 😀 These are fantastic!

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Keli, I’ve been trying to get the right layout and maximise the post, like Goldilocks, not too much or too little but just right, so I’ll work something out. I’m happy that you like them. It’s certainly different in the rainforest, I love them.
      Cheers
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Ellen, they do have a certain ‘I’ll go where I want’ about them. Thanks for your comment, I’m trying to maximise my output without putting them up several times a week.
      Cheers
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply

Tell me what you think.

