An actual look (from the outside) at the Writer’s Room.

No, this isn’t outside my room. It’s the Queen Mary Falls in the Main Range National Park, near Killarney, Queensland.

Queen Mary Falls

This is where you’ll find the writer’s room, second window from the left. I took this about three years ago, before the garden went wild. The structure on the top right is our solar power shed.

HOUSE

I’m having a little fun here, this young mum hopped onto the garden and naturally I took a few snaps. I never tire of seeing those little joeys coming out of the pouch.

WALLABY JOEY

This Old Man Roo was huge! By the time I ran into the house for the camera he had moved down off the garden. He stood well over 6 feet tall. There is only one thing on his mind and that is finding a willing mate. View this in another tab. Big pic, “Hmm, why can’t I ever get to that itchy bit. Left to right. “Just checking, seeing if it’s there.” – “G’day sweetie, just passing. Hmm, you smell nice.” – “Brace yourself, it’s all systems go.”

RANDY OLDMAN ROO

This is a Blue Tongue Lizard, a member of the Skink family. I found him in a friend’s backyard last week. A warm winter’s morning and he came out of hiding for a sunbake.

BLUETONGUELIZARD

I spotted this yesterday on my way to Toowoomba. I call it ‘End of the road.’ Of course I had to play with the picture, having it as a line drawing and black and white.

ENDOFTHEROAD

Went along to a Truck show last week, this Mack, before I played with it was bright orange. I thought this looked snazzy cooled down as a line drawing.

TRUCK MACK

A summer view of the Snowy Mountains in Kosciusko national Park.

Snowy Mountaians

A view of the Opera House in Sydney, taken from the ferry terminal.

Sydney Opera House

A different view of the Harbour Bridge, I took this from a sailing ship as we headed up towards the western end of the harbour.

Sydney Harbour Bridge

I thought this had a certain appeal to it. Mountain sheep on their rocky ledge in Taronga Park zoo, with the Sydney skyline behind them.

Mountain Sheep taronga Zoo

A few more than usual I know but I think it gives a wider view of what we have to offer down under. See you all next week for another mix.

Cheers

Laurie.

20 thoughts on “An actual look (from the outside) at the Writer’s Room.

  1. Pingback: Camping Near Brisbane – Beaudesert’s Scenic Rim : Maximum Photo Exposure

  2. hitandrun1964

    I pretty much spent my teenage years at the North Avenue Rocks (Lake Michigan, downtown Chicago). It’s like a concrete beach but higher so you can dive in.I LOOOOOVVED it there. We hung out with the lifeguards on and off duty and got toasty brown. I was attached to the place, and we had great times. The guards had to drag in a dead body now and then, which freaked some of them out but other than that!!!! I never saw it. Thankfully. It took an hour to get there but when there were storms I would take two buses to the lake and stand across the street (the Outer Drive), and watch the waves crash against the rocks with such force that I could feel the spray across 4 lanes of traffic, the rocks and the parkway. OMG …the power, the energy and the fabulous electricity. No one would go with me, of course…their loss. I don’t know what they were afraid of, that’s for sure. I could never leave the energy of the city. The buildings and people. I need to know they’re there if I want them. We had a cottage in Wisconsin and I wouldn’t go because after an hour….too quiet and peaceful. After I fed the fish ten loaves of bread and played with the dragonflies, I wanted to go home. LOL I’m going to try and find your parrot pictures. I don’t know how I missed them. Hopefully I didn’t bore you to tears.

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Not boring at all, we seem to have some things in common. I loved the wild places by the sea as a boy both back in England and here in Australia. Walked all the way around Botany bay and back to La Perouse where I lived. I’m fascinated by the sea at its wildest and loved climbing amongst the cliffs at the heads of the bay. I remember as a ten year old, standing on the beach watching the bodies being removed from the water after Australia’s biggest plane crash, (23 dead). A grey, stormy day, everything was grey. The people, the water, the bodies. What struck me most of all was the sight of a doll washing up on the sand, a Christmas present for some little girl who would never get it. I see you are a city girl at heart, somebody has to live there, 🙂 I can adapt, I could if I had to but I’m staying put until then. You should have the parrot link. I have a lot of entries under my writer’s room photos. That’s the best place to look from. No you didn’t bore me at all, it’s refreshing to find someone who is chatty and talented.
      Cheers
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
  3. hitandrun1964

    I came back to look at the lizard again:) So adorable and sweet:) The kangaroos…I hardly know what to say…they are wild and wonderful. You live in an amazing place. You have waterfalls and I have water fountains…hmmmm…let me think about that for a second. Okay, you win. You live in a magical place and I live among giant steel and glass buildings, which I adore but petting them isn’t the same as having a lizard in your hand, that’s for sure. Although, over the years, I’ve come to think that the skyscrapers have personalities that have nothing to do with the people who work in or walk among them. I do love them so much. And Lake Michigan is nice and dangerous and dark and eats people who think they understand her. She’s a vicious one and when angry, she closes down streets and kicks up huge, frothy,waves that reach out to grab you. We’re friends…at least we used to be. I don’t see her much anymore but she has always been nice and sweet tempered with me, even as a kid. She knows I respect her. Well, thank you for your lovely pictures. Beautiful and enticing.

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Yes that lizard is a beauty, I love their colours. We have no shortage of kangaroos here, they’ve taken over the place and always entertain us with their antics. Waterfalls, water fountains, both have their unique beauty. We live here for the peace and quiet, yet I love to go into the city (Brisbane is our state capital). Or better yet down to Sydney and immerse myself for a little while in those man made canyons. Watch the river of people and the stampeding traffic, then go home and nestle back into the wild. You’re right buildings have a life about them, kind of like giant trees and we just nest in them. The great lakes can be a wild and vicious place, it made me think of the ‘Wreck of the Edmund Fitzgerald’ so I’m playing the video now as I’m writing. I know it was on lake Superior but it gives me a better idea of what you have there. Hmm maritime chickens perhaps? I sense that you have a great love for this body of water. I love the way you give it a life and personality, great stuff.
      Your welcome, there will hopefully be more lovely pictures to come.
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
  4. hitandrun1964

    Wonderful photographs. I enjoyed them very much. I’m from Chicago and our wildlife is a bit different than yours:) So is the view. LOL Again…your pictures are beautiful.

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thank you, I guess there would be a huge difference in wildlife. I appreciate you stopping by and commenting, if you scroll back through the blog there are plenty more views and animals to see.
      Cheers
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
  5. Pagadan

    Laurie, I love your pictures, though it does take a while to load them. (I’m not on the cutting edge…) But I always enjoy them. And it’s fascinating watching the joey coming out. How close are they to your house? I’ve mostly got anoles, geckos, butterflies, squirrels, the occasional opossum, …

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Hi Joy, thank you. I try to keep the pic size down. They average between 800kb to 1meg. If I make them smaller then they lose resolution and just become ordinary. How close, some times they come onto the veranda and peer through the windows. The wallaby mum stood about 20 feet from the front door. We don’t feed or encourage them at all. We just happen to be where they eat. I’ll look at lowering the size of some pics so they load better.

      Like

      Reply
  6. Raani York

    W O W – these are AMAZING Laurie. And I LOVE waterfalls! I like what you did with the old truck picture. great!!
    I’m impressed, as usually! 🙂

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Hi Raani, thanks so much, I may have to dig through some more photos. The waterfall one I took about four years ago, I think I fluked that one. I love old wrecked vehicles they have a certain air of quiet decay about them. I’m very happy that you’re impressed, I always appreciate your comments. *grin*

      Like

      Reply
  7. jelkasamsom(dr)

    Dear, dear Laurie, I look at your pictures with pure amazement. I’ve seen quite a bit of the world but I’ve never been to Oz and never has one’s natural environment been presented with such fun and love. Thank you ever so much dear mate! How I absolutely love your kangaroos and they’re much bigger than I thought they were..

    Could you tell me why, Laurie, why we don’t have kangaroos in Europe?

    All good wishes!

    Jelka

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Hi Jelka. I’m happy that you like my pictures. I love to share the scenes that quite often greet me on a daily basis. If you get the chance it is a wonderful place to visit.
      yes the kangaroos can get big, he is one of the tallest I’ve seen around our home. Some further out west can grow a foot taller. Why you don’t have them in Europe? I would say it’s because the land bridge between Australia and the rest of Asia collapsed long ago. There is a species of tree wallaby in New Guinea, so that’s why Kangaroos are unique to here.
      Cheers
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply

Tell me what you think.

