Through the telephoto lens from The Writer’s Room.

I’ll say it right from the start, some people should not be allowed to have access to technological thingy’s and gimcracks. Especially me, yes I bought a Sigma 500mm telephoto lens, no I’m not taking it into the sand dunes where young ladies may be….. No I’m using it for noble pursuits, like birds of the feathered variety and to annoy the kangaroos in the paddock. *Nothing will be hidden, nothing,* sorry got carried away there. Both sunset pics were taken with my smaller tele lens. I had packed up because the light was fading and turned around and there it was. I took about 20 shots it was that nice. Over Lake Dyer, at Laidley. I love water and sunsets.

Sunset

I like water birds and have great respect for any creature that can have their bum stuck in cold water for most of their lives. This Shag would have been about two hundred metres out from shore. He reminds me of the birds you see after an oil spill.

Shag 2

I felt all fuzzy when I saw this on my camera. It’s not the clearest but it gives a sense of movement yet has that phoenix rising look about it.

Shag 1

Okay, I like Shags. He left the water and perched there for a little while before diving in again. They are such great fishermen, his eye looks like a marble. How they see movement so far below the water is beyond me, their eyes must be like polarized sun glasses. In like a bullet, grab a fish, guzzle it down and back up.

Shag 3

This tree was way out, it gives you an idea of how they roost around the lake. I tried to stop bringing in the phrase ‘Shagadelic,’ from the Austin Powers movies. Sorry, I’m weak, I couldn’t help it. ‘Yeah Baby, it’s Shagadelic.’

Shags on tree

The big boys are here, yet even they have to look good. He was closer and sailed by like some majestic galleon.

Pelican1

There’s majestic and there’s, ‘Watch out of the way ya great galoot, sheesh, where’s air traffic control when you need em?’ This was waaaay up the dam. I’m trying out the limits of the lens and may have exceeded it here but I love the shag in the water beneath him. Even at that distance he looks worried.

Pelican landing on shag

The common, everyday Magpie decided to come and see what I was up to. I hope he knew because I didn’t.

Magpie

I had to think what the silver line was between the shore and the darker water. Then I realised it was the surface minus any sunlight.

Sunset Dam 2

This has nothing to do with telephoto lenses, I was bored okay? I was playing around with setting up a toy car in front of a picture, make it look like I’d been somewhere exotic in my Mercedes. Then I thought what is the problem most people have while driving with the top down? Bugs. Especially bugs on the windscreen, then bugs inside and bugs….. You get the drift. This little bloke caught my eye when I nipped to the shop so he became my unwilling model.

Mercedes

As always the pictures look better if you right click on them and open in a new tab. Once again they are all around the half megabyte or below for those with slow connections. I may have to watch myself with the new lens, I asked the shop assistant if it came with a pack mule to carry it around. No sense of humour, so I kept the Hubble telescope jokes to myself. Hopefully by next blog I will have had more time to get better pics with it. Word must have got around the paddock the Roos have cleared out. It is probably more to do with the wild dogs we had going through the other day. So, I would appreciate any hints and or feedback from photo gurus out there about the perils and pleasures of using telephoto.

Cheers

Laurie.

16 thoughts on “Through the telephoto lens from The Writer’s Room.

  1. Owls and Orchids

    Oh so jealous. I have a Nikon 750 SLR and love it. I was joking last week it would be nice to have a telephoto lens – the whales come close in at Byron. Love the photos, it’s made me realise how much more you can get out of a camera. Love the dialogue too – 🙂

    Like

    Reply
    1. Pagadan

      Laurie, I love the sunset(s), but the first one is so lovely. I enjoyed seeing the shags too, which I’d never heard of before. Yes, phoenix rising–good comparison. Beaurtiful close-up of the car, and I liked the science fiction story: Giant bug looking for prey…

      Like

      Reply
      1. laurie27wsmith Post author

        Thank you Joy. You may have guessed I like sunsets and sunrises. Shags are so photogenic, they pose for ages then, whooska they’re underwater again. That bug was the real star of the photo shoot….

        Like

    2. laurie27wsmith Post author

      A good camera indeed. I must do some whale watching one day, catch all that tail raising. Cameras are a lot of fun if you start playing with them, hence the toy car. 🙂 I can’t help myself with the dialogue, pictures are worth a thousand words and I like to add a couple more.

      Like

      Reply
  2. caronallan

    I love seeing your bird photos. It reminds me of a particular place I lived in Queensland, only a few Ks from Brisbane. Our house backed onto an easement, and when it rained this became a huge lake outside our windows, we spent hours watching the birds and lizards. There was an old dead tree, and the shags used to sit in there, holding out their wings to dry. It was a very special time.
    You have a lovely spot to sit and write, or daydream, or procrastinate or …

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      I’m glad to have reminded you of something special. it certainly doesn’t take long for the shags to get around. There is definitely something about them. I certainly do write, dream and procrastinate. Ah the days when I used to………………….

      Like

      Reply
  3. hitandrun1964

    Nice shots. I never saw a Magpie before and she’s beautiful. Love that picture. Funny bugs…LOL The birds are sweet and your ride looks ready to go, if you could only shrink yourself a tiny bit. Excellent. Thank you for the fun.

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thank you, that’s right our magpies are different to what they have in other parts of the world. yeah I’ve got to find a way to shrink down a little for the car. The bug wasn’t impressed thought. 🙂 You’re welcome I like to have some fun with my pictures.
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
  4. Suzanne Guest

    As usual great pics and great narrative to go with them, Laurie. I love your sense of humour. I too have a 500mm lens – and no it doesn’t come with a sherpa to carry it around for you. Therefore, I have a camera backpack for it. I too haven’t learned how to use my new camera equipment fully, but it’s fun anyway. Since I don’t live in Australia and don’t have exotic birds and animals flying and hopping around, at this point I’m using my telephoto for such mundane things as seagulls and children – my grandchildren.

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Suzanne, you have to laugh otherwise we’d cry all day. They certainly bring a new dimension to photography. To solve your lack of exotic animals you could always dress the grandchildren up in floppy ears and tails and then take photos. It would add a new dimension to it all.
      Cheers
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply

Tell me what you think.

