A Potpourri of Pictures from The Writer’s Room.

It has been one of those weeks, I have a nasty chest infection and haven’t been out and about doing the whole happy snap routine. The safe alternative was to dig in amongst the copious folders of photos on the computer. Some old, some new coming from far and wide.

Instead of the usual sunset we have sunlight through the ice in a cloud. They make for great pics when you get a big one.

page4

A cactus flower which I may have posted a couple of years ago but here it is again anyway. It’s beautiful enough for a second run don’t you think? To give some perspective, it’s about the size of an adult’s head.

100_0008

I snapped this little bloke while bushwalking in 2004 up near Mt Barney. He’s a Rock Wallaby, he lives in little caves and under rock ledges. I came close to him and he sat there, obviously happy with his version of being camouflaged.

100_0008a

These were taken at Taronga Park Zoo, in Sydney about four years ago. the Gorilla at the top seems to have been to that barber in Seymour I wrote about in my Army posts. He’s jubilant about his stick, “No officer it’s only a twig. I wouldn’t dream of smoking it.” Bottom left: “I tell you Gladys it’s the same every night now, he goes out with the Gorillas, gets on the bananas then spends all day sleeping. No Gladys I didn’t fart, it was him. Ooooh, a fat louse.” Bottom right: “Are you sure Cheeta, really sure?” – “I’m positive Myrtle, Jane means nothing to me anymore, nothing.”

page1

I took this in a back street situated in Kyoto, Japan on a stopover. I have this printed out on A4 paper and up on the wall. I can never get enough of looking at the tree.

100_0015

We had a few people over last Saturday night and I brought some flowers in from the garden. When we were cleaning up he jumped out of the vase and onto the bottle. Green Tree frogs are rarely camera shy.

page2

Adelaide, South Australia 2004. I’ve never met a pig I didn’t like.

IMG_0051

The sounds of bleating sheep, whirring shears and the call for ‘Tar here Jack’ wouldn’t have been heard in these sheds for years. New England, New South Wales.

page5

The neighbours popped over today and their lovely Blue Cattle dog bitch Kiki, came with them. She has a great smile, I didn’t have to say cheese, just burgers. I think she may be something of a Media Tart in the making.

page3

I have to sneak the odd Roo in now and then: the wallaby on the far left isn’t interested, the next roo is wondering where the tip of his ear has gone, the next one looks a little apprehensive and big boy, well he’s chillin. Doing it with a touch of style by the look of it. (down from the house)

4roos

There we have it folks, the best I could this week. As always they look better when you open and view them in a new tab. I won’t rattle on today I’ll just let the pictures speak for themselves.

Cheers

Laurie.

22 thoughts on “A Potpourri of Pictures from The Writer’s Room.

  1. oldmainer

    Wow. These are great pix. Love the first on of the sky. Kind of draws you right in. Makes me want to walk through the light and see what is beyond. Thanks for sharing. Hope you get to feeling better soon.

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thank you, I thought twice about putting that one up. Yet the more I look at it there seems to be a certain something to it. Don’t go hurrying through that light too soon you here? I am feeling better thanks, the second lot of antibiotics (used for horses I think) are working a treat.

      Like

      Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      You know I took that picture on a whim, not thinking much of it at the time, yet it has that certain something. I’m feeling better thanks, a little clogged up still but not calling for the euthanasia needle. 🙂

      Like

      Reply
  2. Raani York

    Another beautiful post full of your pictures, Laurie. I love them, sure do!! I hope you’re feeling all better soon. Take care and get better! My Grandma used to say: try warm milk with honey – if this doesn’t help, a teaspoon of warm whiskey will at least knock you out! LOL
    Sending you a hug!

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Raani, love the hug. I’m in between yuk and blah at the moment but battling on manfully. 😉 Warm milk and honey sounds good, whisky better but I’m on antibiotics, might rub it on my chest huh?
      Thanks for caring.
      Cheers
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
  3. Pagadan

    Laurie, I hope you’re feeling all better real soon! Thank you for taking the time to share those pictures; I especially loved the sunlight through the ice cloud and the cactus flower. Btw, my sister had an Australian Cattle Dog/Blue Heeler named Blue Belle. (I’ve sent Kiki’s picture to her. My sister, that is…)

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      A little better every day thanks Joy. I wasn’t sure about the ice cloud, then I took another look and it has a certain appeal to it. the cactus flowers come out every couple of years. I hope your Sis enjoys the picture, Kiki is a real cutie.

      Like

      Reply
  4. Owls and Orchids

    It’s a wonderful walk through life, and humorous too! If you can do this when you are ill I’ll have to sharpen my pencil 🙂 Get well soon. Plenty of fresh air and pleasant thoughts I’m told will do wonders for whatever ails you (that and a good tot of Scotch) lol
    Lovely photos Laurie.
    Ciao
    Susan x

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Susan, I like humorous. You’ll have to watch out when I hit the straps, sharpen two pencils. I have the pleasant thoughts then I’m to tired to do anything. 🙂
      Agree on the scotch, at least it takes your mind of it. I try with the photos.
      Cheers
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
      1. hitandrun1964

        If it will help you get well I’ll try and draw a chicken tonight…but you have to keep putting beautiful birds and kangaroos on your blog so I can oooooh and ahhhh all the time. LOL You live in a magical place…so do I but way different magics. I’m assuming the kangaroos aren’t friendly and that you keep your distance. I just love your photographs. Okay…I promise I’ll do the chicken. My computer isn’t letting me post anything right now…it just keeps spinning on “saving” and I can’t get it to print but I’m hoping it will fix itself because, believe me, I don’t have a clue. So if one doesn’t appear it’s because of the glitch. Feel better.

        Like

      2. laurie27wsmith Post author

        Aren’t you just a nice chicken artist, thank you I look forward to when your computer is behaving itself. yes we all live in our own magical environments, mines just quieter I guess. No the kangaroos aren’t friendly, I don’t want them to be. Then they become dependant on handouts. they do however come up and stare through the windows at times, or lay up on the verandas, or poop on the verandas. We keep our distance from the big Old Man Roos, they can get aggressive. They’re a walking hormone, a bit like a teenage boy with absolutely no manners. I’ll keep the roos coming along. Thanks for caring,
        Cheers
        Laurie.

        Like

  5. caronallan

    Yes, the tree is astonishing and the cactus flower is definitely worth another look, if this is its second time. A tree frog like that jumped out of our toilet once, fortunately it was not in use at the time! Brill, as always

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      I agree about the tree, such love and care has gone into its trimming. I know I put the flower up somewhere but it is so nice. they only last a day, two at the most and they shrivel up. Yeah it’s a bit of a shock when something cold hits at your bum on the loo in the middle of the night. they have been know to cause a few high pitched squeals and not just from the ladies.
      Thanks for coming by.
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
  6. Tami McVey

    Another great round of photos and captions, Laurie! Even when you aren’t feeling well you manage to make me chuckle with your descriptions. Hope you recover soon! xo

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks so much Tami, look I have to laugh otherwise I’d cry right now. it’s only my sense of the ridiculous that has kept me going sometimes. That and waiting for your next recipe. 🙂

      Like

      Reply

Tell me what you think.

