Stamen envy, Roo tails and strange lights at The Writer’s Room.

It isn’t a good sunset without clouds and these performed very well, the last throes of another day hanging onto the light.

sunset

Guess who bought himself a remote switch for the camera *pause for girly squeal* yes and I worked out how to set up the night shots. The top pic was open for about a minute and a half as I danced around with the camera flash on led. The trailing lights on the right is yours truly exiting stage right. The bottom one was open for under a minute and I waved the light around at the side. In the background is Venus setting and there is a green luminescence in the sky. Looks a little like a touch of Aurora Australis though I’m not sure. Prepare yourselves for more weird photos.

lights

Nature is not backward about coming forward in regards to reproduction. The stamen on this Spathiphyllum is, well a bloody big un. It screams out for attention, letting any passing insect know that it is ready to share the pollen. Bloody show off.

spathaphylum

This grevillea flower is, I think overdoing it. I mean look at it, a powerhouse in the reproduction stakes. All that nectar to tempt those flying by, dozens, count them dozens of delicate stamens. Oh no, not content with one is this heavyweight. You can hear them all now, ‘Pick me, me, pick me.’

grevillea

Hibiscus flowers are regular show-offs, I mean have a look at the colours in the throat. Dark, mysterious with deep hidden chambers, then this twisted, have a look, twisted stamen surges forth. The only thing missing on the end of this bloke is a top hat and a monacle. Put this in a new tab and take a close look, those cute yellow pads are just another come on to the unwary traveller who will be covered in pollen.

Hibiscus

‘Ooh, look at me, look at me I’ve got shiny bits on the end of mine, popover here and play for awhile. I’ll still respect you in the morning.

Hibiscus

This guy has a future ahead of him in adult flower movies. He has the colours, the shading all the attributes to get ahead in show business.

hibiscus

There is a term for stamens like this, OMG. Now I didn’t highlight or manipulate any colours here, it has a flesh texture that if you touched it there would be warmth. I focused on where the stamen came out of the throat. All of these flowers look much better opened in a new tab.

hibiscus

I had a few Shag pictures left over from the other week when I acquired the telephoto lens. These were about 150 metres away. Now I have the remote I should get clearer pictures. I feel sorry for the shag at the bottom. It would be like climbing the corporate ladder, every time he looked up there would be some asshole ahead of him. I daren’t think of the consequences of a diet high in fish, I wonder why he turned his head away in the first shot? The shag in the middle has his own roost, taller than the others he doesn’t own it though he bought it on higher perches.

shag

Same wallaby, on the left she seemed interested in something down the paddock, then she moved further over towards the palms and found herself in the light from the setting sun. No touch ups or highlights here only mother nature at play. I love the flower hanging out of her mouth. She hasn’t been ear tagged, the missing bits are probably from fighting or dogs.

wallaby

I apologize for the fuzziness of this picture. We arrived home on sunset to a mob of Roos at the front gate. They took off and went into the paddock across the road. These two began to fight and I scrambled to get my camera out. I snapped a few of the fight, then the light began to fade and I didn’t have time to focus properly. I did however get this shot of what a Kangaroo’s tail is good for, standing on. We heard the thud when the kick connected, it put the other bloke straight down on the ground. He is obviously a Ninja who follows the ancient art of *Kung Roo.*

kangaroos

That’s it for this week, quite the mix I thought. Take care until next week and remember there is always something going on around and about at The Writer’s Room.

Cheers

Laurie.

36 thoughts on “Stamen envy, Roo tails and strange lights at The Writer’s Room.

    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Bianca, it was a hard choice on the sky. I took about twenty shots to get the right one. I would have loved the duelling roos to be clearer, I’ve never seen one stand right up on his tail like that. 🙂

      Like

      Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      As the song goes, * everybody was kung roo fighting* I guess you wouldn’t. So that answers my question, I left a comment on your blog about the header. It looked like England. I started answering comments from the top down this morning, silly me.
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
  1. kelihasablog

    Oh my goodness Laurie… These are ALL so fantastic! I’m jealous that you’ve had time to play around with your camera enough to do the cool stuff. Your photos were already lovely and unique, but you’ve out done yourself. 😀 Maybe one day I’ll have time to try this. Loved each for different reasons, but the fighting roos is just amazing to me… LOL. You can tell I’ve never seen one in person. They look so sweet and docile. Hahaha Thanks for the kind words of encouragement you’ve left on my latest posts. I haven’t responded to any I don’t think, but they’ve meant a lot! Blessings ~

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Keli. I’ve been trying in your absence. The good thing about retirement I guess, you have time to do stuff. 🙂 They’re pretty amazing creatures those Roos, get up to all sorts of things, watch out next week. I left the comments because I knew you would read them, just to let you know I hadn’t forgotten you.
      Cheers
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
  2. Laurie's Lovely Living

    KungRoo – That is so funny!! These pictures are so wonderful. Australia is on our list for travel in a couple of years. I can’t wait to explore but until then I’ll have to live vicariously through you!!

    Have a wonderful day – Love, L.

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Laurie, yeah he looked a bit Ninja like, sometimes a ‘bad’ picture can be good. It’s a great place Down Under, you’re guaranteed a place to visit if you come to south east Queensland. We’re about an hours drive west from Brisbane. I’ll keep posting exceptional pics, you keep putting those recipes up.
      All my days are wonderful….sort of 🙂
      Love, L. I can be mysterious too. Hmm, L I like it there’s a hint of mystery about it. You take care.

      Like

      Reply
  3. Owls and Orchids

    Hi Laurie,
    Late to the party, WP was simply not I the agenda until I could start to see properly again!😎 The photos are beautiful, OMG I wish I had your camera…. I thought mine pretty neat til I saw your pics.
    If you are taking orders for shots,….orchids and owls. Please?! You can guess why.
    Love the Roo photos… So very accurate. You must have quite a few mobs around you? Wild dogs too! Could be interesting wandering round,day or night!
    Ciao
    Susan 😊❤

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Had to wait for the fog to clear eh? Thanks, I love taking pictures. I have another orchid coming out so I will get that on the blog. I’ve seen two owls in 7 years here. I need to get out more at night. yeah we have three main mobs move through. It’s all wallabies the last few days. Then the big blokes down the front, they make their way up to the house after a couple of days. Then we have a darker type of Roo, they have black points on tails hands, feet and ears. Very cute. There are two wild dog packs that tend to follow them around. haven’t been able to get pics of them yet. Had one eyeballing me from the back fence the other week, about 20 metres away. Nasty looking thing.
      Cheers
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
      1. Owls and Orchids

        Yowza ! Need to wander around with a shotgun Laurie. The wild dogs are a huge problem in some places…. Not sure if I would like to be baled up by even one if they’re mean enough or hungry enough.
        We’re busy whale watching. I have some nice photos but not close enough to be entertaining for a blog. I just love seeing them 😊

        Will miss the ocean when I move but I want / need some peace and quiet. Trying to Find a nice place in the country, big enough, to rent whilst we get the next phase done isn’t easy. Not here at least.

        (Excuse me whilst I run outside and throw up!). I don’t think it would go over very well. )
        PS from Ray, the black tipped ones may be ‘Pretty Faced Wallabies’ but without seeing them not 100% sure.
        Hope the Japanese garden was good…. Very jealous 😉❤

        Like

      2. laurie27wsmith Post author

        Whale watching is infinitely better than dog watching. it’s not the real dingoes that bother me, it’s the feral dogs they aren’t afraid of humans. I have a big stick. Too crazy for a gun. 🙂 Lot’s of luck finding your new place, well you can always put the thought out there for it, power of positive thinking, wishing etc it helps. Yeah they’re Pretty Faces or Whiptails. I usually put roo so I don’t confuse any os readers. The Japanese garden was okay, too many people so may go again through the week. Got a couple of good shots out of many. It is a nice place though. The one in Toowoomba is nice. Talk soon, I’m off to bed.
        Cheers
        Laurie.
        Keep well. 🙂

        Like

      3. Owls and Orchids

        Spent several years in Toowoomba – as you gathered, was not the crowning glory of places to be – at least for me. Only in private – ask me what I thought of the D’s there. lol

        Like

  4. oldmainer

    They say “give a kid a hammer and suddenly everything needs pounding”. Sounds to me like you just bought a new hammer:) Have fun. The pictures are beautiful.

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks oldmainer, an expensive hammer but a good one. 🙂 I’m glad you like the pictures, once again it was a mad scramble to choose the *right* pictures.
      Cheers
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
      1. laurie27wsmith Post author

        You are welcome Joy, thanks for dropping in. I’m working hard on interesting. I had about 10 pictures of that sunset it was a bit hard to choose. 🙂
        Laurie.

        Like

  5. Raani York

    So beautiful, your pictures! – And once again I find myself sitting on my computer, staring at those beautiful pictures and smiling about their beauty!!

    Like

    Reply
  6. patgarcia

    Hi Bro,
    These pictures are beautiful. I would love to copy some of them into my photo album and used them for some of my blog articles. May I? I would make sure your name is written for the credits. Also if you ever take any pictures with nice large lily pads, I would love to use one of them. I have been looking for a pond with round green lily pads in it for an article that I am writing.

    You take excellent pictures. Great job.
    Have a nice weekend and my warmest greetings to Lorelle.

    Ciao,
    Patti

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Hey Sis, thank you so much. You can copy as many pictures as you like. Large lily pads are a rarity around here. I’m actually paying a visit to a Japanese garden tomorrow, they may have some. Anyway I’ll do my best. Lorelle says hi.
      Cheers
      Bro.

      Like

      Reply
  7. hitandrun1964

    OMG you are too much! LOL That was funny in a beautiful, flowery kind of way. The kangaroos are wonderful and I love the pictures. I hope they don’t hurt each other:( And dogs? Dogs fight with the kangaroos? Or do the kangaroos fight with the dogs? Either way, her poor ear.

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Hello, thanks for dropping in. Glad you liked my *flowers.* The Roos kick the living crap out of each other. I’ve seen one big old man laid up near our house all day, unable to get up. Wild dogs get at them, had a wallaby taken in front of the house by a Dingo one afternoon. yeah her ear looks like a cookie cutter ate it.
      Cheers
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
  8. Peggi Salva Tustan

    Incredible photos, Laurie. Your “stamen envy” theme is hilarious (and well deserved)! 🙂 And I can’t get enough of your kangaroos, which I can only catch a glimpse of in our zoo. Keep posting them, please!

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Hi Peggi, thanks so much for dropping in and commenting. I took one look at the Hibiscus and thought, crikey you aren’t shy at all. I love the Roos although I would have hated to be on the receiving end of that kick. Don’t worry I’ll keep them coming.
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply

Tell me what you think.

