Lizards, Quolls, Moons and stuff from The Writer’s Room.

I know I usually do sunsets and sunrises, no not this time. I reckon I’m getting clever, well adventurous with my new telephoto lens. The one I need a Mule and handler to carry around, it’s not exactly the Hubble telescope but it could give it a run for its money. Okay it’s a 500mm lens. So to entertain the masses you kind folks who are following this blog I braved the dark scary night wee hours of the morning to learn how to use the Bulb setting. It worked to a degree, you should have heard the girly squeals when I saw craters. So what did I do? I PhotoScaped the heck out of it and gave it all these special effects.

moon

Then I realised you didn’t do it with bulb and took this one a few nights later.

moon

When you have all finished holding your collective breath with wonder at what looks to be alien Homer Simpson heads, let me set you straight. This montage is of a – wait for it – cross section of a piece of Iron Bark firewood. I felled a dead tree the other day and began splitting the blocks, until I came on a huge wasp nest in a hollow part. When I split them I may add a photo. Right, I saw the sap and thought I should take a picture, as you do. With a few deft twitches of the key board I made these. The sap had a hint of jade green in it and gave rise to this strange assembly.

Wierd images

I could not resist this. We were driving out on Tuesday, it had been raining through the night and naturally the Roos were wet, sad, in need of a coffee and horny. By the time we stopped and I grabbed the camera the situation had changed. On the left of the track five young males lay on the grass staring wistfully at the old man Roo chatting up the delightful young thing across the way. For clarity open this one in a new tab. Top left, large male Roo being charming. Top right, anxious young male who was missing out takes matters into his own……. hmm, you get the idea. Centre pic, throwing all caution to the wind he decides on any port in a storm and cosies up to the other male. The one standing in front of them is not sure whether or not they’re playing leap frog, so he braces himself. Bottom left, just a little tickle around the ears and we’ll be fine. Bottom right, old man Roo snickers to himself and continues courting.

kangaroos

We went to the animal enclosure at Queen’s Park in Ipswich last Saturday. Everything was asleep, including this Dingo. I imagine you can only be awesome for so long. I had to take this through the cyclone wire fence, he wasn’t even interested. Stardom can be difficult.

Dingo

This comatose little fella is a Quoll, or Native Cat. They are carnivorous marsupials, the only other one is the Tasmanian devil. He’s about the size of a toy Poodle and gets around at night. He was in behind a glass wall, so I felt chuffed that the pic came out okay.

Qoull

The Corella’s are deciding on who is going into the stump first. A little bit of mutual grooming is going on as he tries to convince her that this stump is better than the one up the road.

Corella's

I sat on a stump by the path and photographed this Australian Water Dragon. He was a few feet away at first and trotted up closer, then posed. They’re equally at home on land and in the water.

Water Dragon

 While we are on the subject of lizards these are Lace Monitors, or commonly called Goannas. The one hanging onto the palm tree has fallen in love with it, the bigger one couldn’t care less. The enclosure was a photographer’s nightmare, five different shades of light happening at once. They are small compared to the picture of a Goanna I took near our house, about 8 feet long.

Lace Monitors

There is also a Japanese garden at the park, by this time I was knackered and wanted to go home.

Japanese garden

I was very happy with this rose picture, so soft, almost melting.

Rose

To finish up a montage of a moonset. I can’t help but point out the extreme dedication needed here to take these shots. Actually I ran out, set the shot, hit the button and ran back inside until I was ready, sip hot coffee by the fire and race outside again. That is dedication. Actually I should have been in bed snuggling.

Moon

That’s your lot for this week, I hope you enjoyed it and I promise to get better moon pictures.

Cheers

Laurie.

16 thoughts on “Lizards, Quolls, Moons and stuff from The Writer’s Room.

    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Hi Merlin, good to ee you. Well the blighters have been known to stand at the window and look into our bedroom. Our windows at the front of the house go from ceiling to about a foot from the floor. I’ve woken up a few times to have a roo staring at me. Naturally the camera is in the kitchen. I should get a disposable one and leave it on the veranda, they get into everything else.
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
  1. bgbowers

    Great photos, Laurie. All the things see most days and love about Australia 🙂 Those water dragons are my favourite. I feed them nectarines in the Summer and they can’t get enough of them 🙂

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Bianca, they’re a nice lizard, very up front though. I guess nectarines would do that for them. The one in close up had an expectation of a bit of tucker I think. 🙂

      Like

      Reply
  2. Owls and Orchids

    It makes my moon shots….different, but I guess the main thing is enjoyment. I should have a change of pace and review some photos.
    You’re storyline for the Roos , hysterical. I’ll forego comment in male boredom 😮
    Ciao
    Susan

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Hi Susan, I love playing with some photos, get away from the ordinary and look at things differently, Those Roos, I don’t know they’re always up to something. They bring a certain delight into my life. I’ll have to put an Oxford Street sign up on the tree now. Like most males they get bored.
      Cheers
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
  3. hitandrun1964

    The corella’s are amazing. I can’t believe how beautiful they are. The lizards are adorable. Great photographs. Love the moon…both of them. Nice going. Those birds…sigh.

    Like

    Reply

Tell me what you think.

