MIDWEEK POETRY. Yes, it’s Chickens again or Laurie’s mid week snack pack.

chicken artist

http://gigisrantsandraves.wordpress.com/2013/08/19/graffiti-10/

GRAFFITI

I was a chicken artist,
of great, world wide acclaim
I sprayed the biggest buildings
and garnered wealth and fame.
Then I took up smoking
and lit a long blue flame
igniting fumes around my beak,
they said it was shame.

~~~

So now I paint real careful
they reckon I’m to blame.
The chicken insurance company
think that I’m fair game.
They sent a bounty hunter,
she has a deadly aim.
A chook they call Spring Chicken
who’s going to settle my claim.

~~~

So I’m heading to the rail yards,
for my life won’t be the same.
I’m going where wild chickens roam,
on a spray painted westbound train.

Laurie Smith © 2013

chicken art

http://gigisrantsandraves.wordpress.com/2013/08/24/misguided-kiss-fan/

KISS FAN.

I used to be a Kiss fan
I went to all your shows
I fainted in the mosh pit
and you didn’t even know.
So I’ve sent a little picture
of the cutey you did miss
I should have put my ass on it
for you to give a kiss.

 Laurie Smith © 2013

img_3103[1]

The Jop O Lynn cutout page

I’m just a plain old chicken
as plain as plain can be,
but I want to be like Janice.
Surely you can see.

“`

I now have all the bits I’ll need
to strut upon the stage,
it has to be infinitely better
than living in a cage.

~~~

I want to drive the highways
just me and Bobby Magee
and head on down to Woodstock
and man, well I’ll be free!

~~~

Instead I’m sitting in my cage
I’m plain and get no flattery.
I’ll never be another Janice
just an old hen in a battery.

Laurie Smith© 2013

My thanks to Gigisrantsandraves for the artwork and lovingly posting my ditties on her blog. She has some great stuff over there and it is worth a visit. Here are some more poetry and general blogs to have a look at:

 http://laurieslovelyliving.com/ Laurie is a great lady with a huge sense of fun and she has recipes too!

http://bgbowers.com/   Bianca has a great blog with poetry and writing.

http://owlsandorchids.com/  Susan writes poetry and has, like me many stories to tell.

No gloom today, I’m saving it up for another time. So I hope you enjoy the offerings for this week.

Cheers

Laurie.

25 thoughts on “MIDWEEK POETRY. Yes, it’s Chickens again or Laurie’s mid week snack pack.

  1. Raani York

    Laurie – I love your poetry – I love the chicken poems so much! I love the way you write and blog and publish… is there anything you CAN’T do?? 🙂

    Like

    Reply
      1. Raani York

        *grin* You remember my post – be careful what you wish for? ROFL

        You’re doing GREAT, Laurie!!!

        I’m so proud to have you as a friend!! 🙂

        Like

  2. Owls and Orchids

    Tis a scrambled tale you’re telling and the shell wasn’t hard to crack. One good smack between the two of you and I’d have a meal for a snack. The least you pair of double yolks deserve! (chuckle) When I hear the squawk you’ll know I have you by the tail feathers,,,, no short and curlies here!
    (You both deserved that)
    Ciao bella,
    Susan x

    Like

    Reply
  3. Laurie's Lovely Living

    Aww. You mentioned me. Your the best!! But you knew that already 🙂 I love your poetry. It’s my very favorite kind. When I was little I was terrified of Kiss. I thought they were monsters… Obviously, not a far fetched assumption.

    Keep being awesome!! Love, L.

    Like

    Reply
      1. Pagadan

        I enjoyed your poems and the illos, but I especially loved the poem about the graffiti artist heading west on the spray painted train.

        Like

  4. peglovesjesus

    You two made a great team (art and words)! Thanks for the fun, Laurie. You lured me in with Joplin and Kiss. Who knew chickens love to rock. 🙂

    Like

    Reply
      1. rayjamieson

        May I say it? EGGCEPTIONAL! This could be the time when all your chickens come home to roost!

        Like

Tell me what you think.

