Reflections, shade and mist away from The Writer’s Room.

The following pictures were all taken at Mt Cootha Botanical Gardens in Brisbane. I walked through the Japanese garden to have a look at a small water feature when the sprinklers came on. I don’t know about anyone else but I think this picture has a certain surreal quality about it.

sunlight through the sprinkler

This is the water fall I wanted to see. Ah, the peace and quiet of it all.

water feature

What? More serenity.

water feature

I love the form and setting of these gardens, everywhere you look small areas are framed by bigger plants.

Japanese garden

There must be Bonsai. This is an Azalea and it is absolutely adorable, well they can be adorable. Can’t they?

Azalea Bonzai

All I have done to this picture is to lighten it. The water looked oily black, dimming the flower, so I lightened it a little. The remainder of the pictures are in the main part of the gardens.

Water Lily

All I have done with this picture is to trim it sown, the reflections look like an oil painting to me.

water lilies

This picture is not about the wee water hens you may be able to see. It’s about the different textures and colours of the water.

water reflections

Textures and shading in the fern house.

Fern

A little different to the usual Cranes one sees wading around the place. A road tunnel is being constructed outside the gardens, it goes under the General cemetery.

Reflection on a crane.

That is me for tonight, I know I’m not my usual bouncy and cheery self, but the pictures make up for it. Drop in next week and we will have a flower fiesta happening and maybe a couple of animals that lurk around the gardens

Cheers

Laurie.

45 thoughts on “Reflections, shade and mist away from The Writer’s Room.

  1. Laurie's Lovely Living

    Number 4 is definitely my favorite. I could grab a book and sit there forever. Must have been a spectacular day!! But all the photos are beautiful. You have a great eye for photography my friend!

    Keep it coming – Love, L.

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Laurie, it is nice. I would have liked to have sat there longer but a young French couple were kissing and cuddling where I wanted to work from. Sacre bleu.
      Love. L.

      Like

      Reply
  2. Raani York

    Oh Laurie – I just LOVE these pictures!! They left me smiling and happy in front of the computer. They’re so beautiful!!!

    Like

    Reply
      1. Raani York

        ??? What did I say?? Does that mean you don’t believe me – or does it mean I should have said they can’t be better?

        Like

      2. laurie27wsmith Post author

        Noooooo. It means that I now have to keep up the quality of work. The level of the bar has been set and I can’t fall below it. You also inspire me you know. 🙂

        Like

  3. Owls and Orchids

    These are certainly beautiful Laurie. It’s been a long time since I visited Mt Cootha botanical gardens and this has certainly piqued my interest. It wasn’t there the last time I went, which shows how long ago it was. I love the first picture, wish I could download one and frame it!
    Well, as John Wayne was find if saying in “The Comancheros” , “Take it easy Monsoouer”.
    Ciao, Susan 😮❤

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      I will send you a ‘bigger’ copy if you like. I don’t have any problems if people want to use my work, A if it’s on a blog link back to me and B, if you print it out tell all your friends.
      🙂 This Pilgrim is soldiering on.
      Cheers
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
  4. hitandrun1964

    Wow! Truly lovely and especially the first one with the sprinkler. Really beautiful photographs and what a fabulous place. Where did your bounce go? Perhaps you could dance with your wife or a chicken and you will find it again. Hate when that happens. Hope you’re back to yourself soon.

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks so much. I love the first pic too. We only covered a third of the place before the asthma hit, a plant growing there didn’t like me at all. My get up and go got up and went. 🙂

      Like

      Reply
      1. thisisnotbangkok

        That’s good. By the way, I had to factory reset my phone, as it was acting up and all my newer poems were on it 😦

        So I am trying to create them now. I may also be moving in a couple of months as the mgmmt here just raised my rent. Can’t figure out why. There are always vacancies and I have paid on time every month for 8 years. Perhaps this is my reward — read sarcasm. So it is a hectic time but the poems will be coming :-

        Like

      2. laurie27wsmith Post author

        All these things happen for reasons, perhaps when you recreate your poetry they will be better. Moving sucks, landlords get greedy who knows you may find yourself in a much better place.

        Like

      3. laurie27wsmith Post author

        I try, that is until someone cuts me off at the lights. Seriously though I’ve had to take on a different approach to how life works to survive mentally. Life is grand.

        Like

      4. thisisnotbangkok

        well said. As for the “lights” I don’t know if your evolved status will make it in L.A. 🙂 The drivers are brutal. I call our freeways the autobahn. Everyone does what they want, unless they are in range of the highway patrol, were everyone falls in line at 60mph lol

        Like

Tell me what you think.

