More botanical offerings from the Writer’s Room.

No smarty pants remarks about this Spathiphyllum today, it is just a lovely plant that hangs around the huge hothouse dome at the Botanical Gardens. Although that stamen is a fearsome looking object. For some context the whole thing is twice as big as my hand.

 spathyphylum

This is Pachypodium lamerei, I’ll call him Fred, he’s probably the first plant you see when you walk in. I could sense his loneliness and detected a sadness about him, Fred always missed out on hug a tree day.

Pachypodium lamerei

You only get the majesty of this tree when you open it in a new tab, it dominates the landscape. I don’t know what it’s called, there were too many prickly things to get past to read the plaque.

page4

I know, not half as good as last weeks. This is best viewed in a new tab.

page9

I like this for its simplicity, that and the reflection of the ferns in the pool.

page10

Speaking of reflections.

page11

The green feathers caught my eye here.

Teal

Mum Wood Duck and the kids were nesting in the mulch under a tree, then decided not to hang around.

Wood ducks

I wanted a pic of the turtles sunning themselves but you bring a camera out and everyone’s in on the act. The turtle had a go at the water hen and all the Ibis seemed interested in was whether or not he had all of his chins tucked in.

turtles

A change of pace here, I took this near home a couple of weeks ago. I saw his silhouette from half a kilometre away then found somewhere safe to park. Naturally by the time I had the camera out I was shaking (old deer hunter). No time for manual settings, I clicked it onto auto and started clicking. The only thing wrong was the autofocus pulled up on the grass stems in front of him. Putting him slightly out of focus. He had been rooting up a mud wallow, hence the grass hanging off his antlers. I put a picture up a while ago of the other stag and females that hang around, well I’m sad to say that he is now on the outer. This big bloke stole his females. We saw the distraught smaller stag standing forlorn and lonely that afternoon. Life’s tough in the real world.

Red Deer

I took this in our garden a week or so ago, along with some butterflies on thistles etc, there seem to be a lot of them around on the net lately. Anyway the bottlebrushes are bursting out with nectar and this mating couple were trying to do it all at once. ‘Frank, I swear if you don’t bugger off and let me eat it’ll be, POW right in the old proboscis.’

butterflies

I hope you enjoy this weeks offering, I’m recovering okay and will try and get out to take some fresh material.

Cheers,

Laurie.

24 thoughts on “More botanical offerings from the Writer’s Room.

  1. Russel Ray Photos

    I believe your tree is Illawarra Flame Tree (Brachychiton acerifolius). They are native to Australia. Yours looks like it is flowering out of season, which they commonly do. We have one at the San Diego Zoo’s Safari park. Their in-season flowering is spectacularly gorgeous.

    Like

    Reply
  2. bgbowers

    I recognise that place…I take my kids there at least a couple of times a week. It is truly beautiful and so well designed.

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      You’re welcome Joy. I reckon that Fred uproots at night and wanders round looking for hugs. Poor old spiky tree. I went out for a little while yesterday, came home and slept 12 hours. 🙂

      Like

      Reply
      1. laurie27wsmith Post author

        I remember shooting several wood ducks years ago and I roasted them in a slow oven, they were stuffed with cored apples and draped with slices of orange. Veryyyy tasty, if you keep the flesh moist they are delicious. Doing a bit better thanks Laurie.
        Love. L.

        Like

  3. Owls and Orchids

    Beautiful photos and commentary – as always Laurie. Great to hear you feel you are on the mend. Fresh air is best, I’m told, but not when it’s full of carbon monoxide (car fumes) 🙂 Take care of yourself.
    Ciao, Susan x

    Like

    Reply
      1. Owls and Orchids

        Yeah, I know the feeling. Beginning to wonder if I’ve changed realities a I’m really a doppelgänger imprisoned in some tortuous hell. Feeling sorry for myself and it stinks!
        Get well soon. 😊❤

        Like

  4. hitandrun1964

    Beautiful photographs again. Love the one with the turtle and crew. The stag is wonderful and so are the plants. I’m especially happy to know that you are getting better. Great news:)

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thank you for your caring thoughts. I thought the turtle was going to bite a hunk out of that waterhen. I had mixed feelings about the stag but realised a picture doesn’t have to be perfect to be good.
      Cheers
      Laurie

      Like

      Reply

Tell me what you think.

