‘Woodlands’ half an hour from The Writer’s Room.

This is the front of Woodlands at Marburg, Queensland. (Not to be confused with the one in Germany) It is a beautiful example of late Victorian architecture and as always it will look better opened in a new tab or window. The cast iron lacework is absolutely beautiful and surrounds the whole building. It was built in the late 1890’s by Charles Smith, the property was a sugar plantation for many years before being sold on. It has been many things since then and is now mainly used for weddings and receptions. Lorelle and I are there for the week attending a book show for children. Hundreds of school children are attending for lectures by authors and artists. We have a stall with books from Tell Me a Story Books and of course I’m selling my children’s book, Wuff and Ready. I couldn’t get a wider shot of the front entrance, there is a ring road and a hedge so no way to get that shot. Although I think this gives it that feeling of, ‘yes I’m haunted and I’m imposing enough to look down on you.’

Woodlands, marburg.

This is the eastern aspect of the mansion which confronts you as you drive in showing off the delicate fret work. It is also a restaurant and conference centre. The rooms are all oak panelled with high vaulted ceilings.

Woodlands, marburg.

This is Andrew the peacock, Andrew is lonely and spent the morning behind our tent calling out for a mate and alternately showing off his plumage. He spent all morning there before he became sick of the kids clamouring around him.

peacock at Woodlands.

‘Ahem, excuse me all you available peahens out there. My name is Andrew and as you may notice I live in a mansion. This is Moi at the western end greeting visitors. If you decide to visit you will have access to beautiful grounds, plentiful insects and an unlimited number of human admirers. Sorry, I have the admirers you may bask in the reflected glory.’

peacock

‘One of my fave cheesecake shots, I thought I would leave you all panting for more.’

peacock

The chapel used for weddings is situated on the other side of the hedgerow down from the front of the mansion. This is a typical example of country churches in the district.

chapel

This grotto was built during the period when Woodlands was a monastery. People talk about the mansion being haunted, I came across the spirit of a Jesuit priest down from here, he stood near the hedgerow and the whole area took on a feeling of peace and tranquillity making me a little reluctant to move on.

grotto

The only thing I know about these flowers is that they are beautiful.

flowers

Same with these, they’re like little bells and seem to have a precarious existence.

flowers

That is all for this week, I didn’t have to walk far to get these I did however fall prey to a nesting magpie and copped a peck on my bald spot for my efforts. Ahh, the sacrifices one makes for their art. I’m sure to have something fresh for next week, so I hope you enjoy the offerings.

Paranormal Paratek, Woodlands Marburg.   This link will take you to a video on a paranormal investigation.

Cheers

Laurie.

32 thoughts on “‘Woodlands’ half an hour from The Writer’s Room.

  1. Russel Ray Photos

    Your first orange flowers picture is of a clivia (Clivia sp.), native to southern Africa. The second orange flowers picture is of a coral plant or firecracker plant (Russelia equisetiformis). It is native to India.

    Like

    Reply
  2. bgbowers

    Looks like a great place to visit overnight, Laurie. I’ll have to look it up and plan a trip. Great post, thank you 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  3. Raani York

    Another beautiful collection of pictures Laurie. I had to share them all over the place!! I really think more people need to see these!!

    Like

    Reply
  4. thisisnotbangkok

    Wonderful post. You def have a gift for writing, as the piece flowed so beautifully and naturally. Good luck on your book. I hope it does well. I will watch the paranormal vid, as I am interested in such things. Take care…..

    Oh yes, very nice photos–they give a very good overview of the entire grounds. Great peacock pics :-

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Michael, I value your comments. I had to give that peacock a hand, I wonder if they have a lonely hearts club for them? 🙂 Same here for the book, it’s been out for a year, that kid’s book market is a tough one.

      Like

      Reply
      1. thisisnotbangkok

        Yes, I have a personal friend who is a children’s book writer and she has had some success but the industry sounds brutal. By the way, I just asked you a question in the last post about your Death series. I am intrigued by it and will try and start reading it soon.

        Like

  5. Owls and Orchids

    This looks surreal and totally beautiful Laurie… definitely one for my “Bucket List”. I know I have never been here but I ‘recognise’ the place. I also picked up a vibe off the garden setting near where you saw the Jesuit priest.
    Just to prove a small point, the larger flowering plant with the dark green strappy leaves, is a Clivia. 🙂 The other one I found a reference to it as the “Firecracker plant”.
    Hope the magpie didn’t do too much damage…. be well. 🙂

    Ciao, Susan x

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      That’s right, a clivia lily, ah a firecracker plant, when you look at it, it does have that firework feel about it. Thanks for looking them up for me. The gardens are nice to walk around, it’s worth a drive to have look at the place. Yes the place hums on a psychic level, very interesting. Not a lot of damage from the magpie (thick skull) more of a shock value and where’s my bloody shotgun.
      Cheers
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
    1. Pagadan

      Another collection of lovely photos. I love old, classic homes, and I visit them every chance I get. The peacock pix are impressive, but I love the delicacy of the little bells.

      Like

      Reply
  6. rayjamieson

    Brilliant post Laurie! A hidden gem! And I bet that peacock thinks I mean him!

    I’m sure Susan will know what the flowers are. I’m a bit like you, I think. My first thought is “Gee, they’re pretty!” Next thought is, “What’s for lunch!” However, Susan not only knows what they are, she will be on Google or somewhere looking up the details and history of the plant before I stop salivating over the thought of a sandwich…! (I was great with broadacre plants – like wheat, barley and sunflowers etc. Drag the planter over the paddock and pray for rain!)

    Cheers,

    Ray

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Ray, oh tell Susan I have her latest posts queued for reading, it’s been heck here today with our power playing up. I bet she can identify them, I would have looked but I’m either sleeping or trying to help get the power sorted. yeah it’s like that, ‘Oh what’s that, hmm where’s lunch? 🙂

      Like

      Reply
  7. Peggi Salva Tustan

    I couldn’t resist clicking on your link to see your pictures, Laurie. They never disappoint! The peacock in front of the window wow’d me, then … he spread his feathers. Oh, my! And the sweet wedding chapel.
    I’m addicted. Please keep posting your awesome pictures!

    Like

    Reply

Tell me what you think.

