MIDWEEK POETRY. My Writing Room.

Something a little different this week, I wrote this as a reply to another bloggers question, ‘What’s in your writing space?’ What else could I do but write a poem/song. With apologies to The Sound of Music, sing along to the tune of ‘My Favourite Things.’

            My Writing Room.

Stuff on the top shelf that threatens to topple,

a toy Roman soldier whose head does a bobble,

covers of books that I’ve written on Death,

and I’ll keep writing until my last breath.

 ~~~

Revolvers and pistols, bayonets and knives

the stuff that you need, when taking those lives.

Badges and buttons, toy cars and rings,

these are a few of my favourite things.

~~~

Books that I’m reading and books that I’ve read,

manuals and maps, if they fell I’d be dead.

Toy tanks and soldiers, a medieval knight

and a bendy – old metal –  retro desk light.

chorus

When the muse hits.

When the storm breaks

and I’m ready to write.

I’ll grab a coffee and handful of cakes

and then plug away – all night.

Laurie Smith©  2013

page1

32 thoughts on “MIDWEEK POETRY. My Writing Room.

  1. Pingback: Writing: What, Where, How, When, and Why | Burgess Taylor

  2. Theresa

    I love this, Laurie. Imaginative creativity mixed with healthy doses of humor, pathos and reality – a winning combination. Plus, a photo to picture you typing away. I am glad I found you!

    Like

    Reply
      1. Holistic Wayfarer

        Ha ha ha I meant “some coffee” instead of what you wrote. Was suggesting a change. Only suggesting. Well, indeed you’ve been a wonderful reader, L. I strive to make it worth your while. Thanks.

        Like

  3. Pingback: Enjoy this writer’s poem (link) | Joy V. Smith

  4. Pagadan

    I love the poem! And the chorus. And thanks for sharing your desk photo. Writer’s Digest a long time ago had a webpage where writers could share their office photos. That was fun.

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      You’re welcome Joy, I love to share the mess that is my room, that’s only part of it. Yet the work still gets done. 🙂 Thanks for forwarding it on. I try to put the fun things in now and then.
      Cheers
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
      1. laurie27wsmith Post author

        *sings* ‘The hills are alive, with the sound of music, la,la,la,la, with songs they have heard for a thousand years.’
        Now let’s see everybody get that out of their heads today. 🙂

        Like

    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Ray when I was in Puckapunyal they had it on at the theatre over a long weekend. I had a thing for a sergeant’s daughter so I kept going back to watch it. She did too. 🙂 Every time I look at this poem Julie Andrews keeps popping into mind. 🙂 Believe it or not I love opera, classical music, big musical productions.
      Cheers
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
  5. Raani York

    I just LOVE your writer’s room poem! And with the picture it’s what I expected. You’re such a great gifted poet, Laurie!

    Like

    Reply

Tell me what you think.

