It’s pretty low key at The Writer’s Room.

It is quite low key this week, so when all else fails let there be Camels, Kangaroos and flowers. The flower beds are at Picnic Point in Toowoomba. We had to go up there yesterday to see the Doctor, so when life is glum flowers always help lift the spirits. Oh yes so do Camels.  This little family group were in the paddock opposite where the Stag was the other week. The large picture is of the Bull. I pulled up all excited and leapt out with camera in hand, then huffed and puffed across the road. I think these camels were part of a herd belonging to a nearby resort. We haven’t seen any in several years. I stood at the fence and he stopped for a moment. This bloke was wild. His cow (bottom left) took up a stance, the calf stopped and faced up then the Bull turned and started coming towards me. I don’t think this family group had been rounded up at all. It makes for a good Kodak moment though.

Camels

I think this Old Man Roo has a white moustache, so I’ve named him Gerard DepaRoo. French actor and raconteur. After a quick interview I learned that: he was single but looking, enjoyed candlelit dinners down in the paddock, enjoyed French………insert subject here……… became overly excited in Spring and didn’t see himself as father material.

kangaroo

Gerard posed for another shot citing that we didn’t get his *best side* and no way was he going to let his testicles descend, ‘Monsieur, is this not a familee blog?’

kangaroo

Gerard finished the interview with a ‘Sacre Bleu’  and moved quickly across the lawn to the side of this young beauty. The fact that she’d had her ear nibbled at more than once and her undercarriage hung a little low didn’t seem to faze him. I heard him whisper something, I think it went like this…………Qu’est-ce qu’un joli kangourou comme toi fait dans un endroit pareil? For those without access to Google translate, or who can’t speak French go to the bottom of the page.

kangaroos

This exotic beauty cast an envious glance at Gerard but the joey doing somersaults in her pouch reminded her that life isn’t always fair.

wallaby

This is a tiny taste of things to come, the Toowoomba Carnival of Flowers starts soon.

flowers

As always these pictures look better opened in a new tab or window.

flowers

I like how they use Kale in the bottom right picture. It adds substance to the flower bed.

flowers

Me playing with pictures. I saw the moon rising and wandered out and took a couple of shots. I like this one with the tree in front and thought I would make a little love heart – moon thingy if anybody wanted to inscribe their messages of love to somebody. Or you can sit there and think, Hmm, Laurie has way too much time on his hands.

page11

That is it for the week, I want to be up and about later next week and out with the camera. I hope you enjoy the pictures and really, I’m sorry about the French angle on the Roos but seriously, that moustache begged for it.

Cheers

Laurie.

Translation: What is a nice Kangaroo like you doing in a place like this?

29 thoughts on “It’s pretty low key at The Writer’s Room.

    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Yeah, that sounds right Caron. I love doing them, I might have to bring Wall Wallaby, Rooving reporter back for another visit. I’m glad they entertain you, a good picture is okay, when you have some dialogue well……
      Cheers
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
  1. Pagadan

    The camels and kangaroos are interesting (I didn’t know you had camels either), but I love looking at the flowers. All those pretty colors! And all the best with your hospital visit. Hugs, Joy

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Joy, I always try to get flowers in. I hope to get up to the carnival of flowers in the next 10 days so there will be plenty of colour. Thanks for your kind thoughts and hugs. Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
  2. Owls and Orchids

    Beautiful blog Laurie. Just what the doctor ordered this week 😎. Hope you are starting to feel better and up to your usual high jinks. Still hoping to get to Toowoomba for the carnival, it’s ‘undecided’ at present. Thankfully it’s there every year. 😊❤

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Susan, no better into hospital Monday for a camera down the lungs, oh the joy! The carnival goes for about 10 days, you never know your luck. 🙂 Though as you say there’s always next year.
      Cheers
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
  3. Laurie's Lovely Living

    Well at least he kept it in his pants, unlike his human counterpart. 🙂

    I had no idea you had camels in your part of the world, let alone the finest in the world. I really need to get out more.

    Hope you’re feeling top o’ the morning ole chap!!
    Love, L.

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thankfully for my more delicate readers he did. Oh, the other Gerard, phew thought you meant me. Indeed we do, they haven’t bred with other types, so they’re coveted by those in the camel racing/breeding fraternity in the middle east. Not too bad Laurie, I received your email this morning will let you know what’s going on.:-)

      Like

      Reply
  4. hitandrun1964

    Great photographs! You actually have camels in the wild? OMG And the male looked as if he had bee sewed together out of different pieces of material…the lines on his side look like patchwork. Beautiful camels and flowers and roo’s. Always a pleasure t see them. Feel better and good luck on Monday.

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Gigi, yes we do. Mainly in the outback, they have reached pest status. He did look like Frankencamel, I think he may have been knocking a few fences down in his travels. It all proves you don’t have to travel too far to get good pics. Thanks for the nice comments and best wishes.:-*

      Like

      Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      It’s not often one sees camels but there they were. I’m glad there was a fence, that bull was a tad upset. Yep, flowers you can get almost anywhere. As an aside, Saudi Arabia actually buys camels from here because we now have the purest breed. They came over in the mid 1800’s, explorers preferred them to horses. Then again according to the old advertisements 57% of Doctors preferred camels. 🙂

      Like

      Reply
      1. Theresa

        I’m not sure how to respond to that, but I do love the fact that the kangaroos speak with a French accent in the outback – very cultured. Between that and the pure bred camels, I’ve got to visit Australia. Oh – their bloggers are pretty good, too!

        Like

      2. laurie27wsmith Post author

        It was an advert for Camel cigarettes in US magazines for years, about Doctors preferring Camels over other cigs. Yes, lots of culture here, especially the bloggers
        O:-)

        Like

    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      I’ve had a think and you are right but when you see a male kangaroo standing idly around with his hmm, large testicles it kind of defines the moment. I think I should have been born with a jock strap. My guys have been in a lot of trouble over the years. The fact is Susan it just takes balls to write about some things. 🙂

      Like

      Reply
  5. Suzanne

    As always, loved the blog. The pictures are great; however, the narrative accents the pictures so beautifully and creates a story. I love it!

    Like

    Reply

Tell me what you think.

