Bit of this, bit of that at The Writer’s Room.

Another Friday and no sunset again. Well, this is round, white and looks like it is going extremely fast. I’m learning how to play with shutter speeds. My attempt at cleverness knows no bounds.

windmill

The windmill and flowers were all taken at a friends place. It’s good to have friends who like gardening, there are more opportunities for picture taking. I’m almost sure someone will tell me what these are.

flowers

Hmm, well it’s red and growing and very pretty. Damn I ‘d make a great Botanist.

flowers

A Phalaenopsis orchid, I know this one. I think they’re beautiful and yes, that is an Emu egg in the background.

orchid

Grevillea robusta, or the Silky Oak, the largest of the Grevillea family. They tend to only flower every couple of years but when they do it’s a magnificent show. This tree is about 60 feet tall. They are renowned for their timber which was used extensively in furniture making. It has a delicate grain that lent itself to veneers.

page10

Lorelle’s grandchildren came for the day and we went to the Darling Downs Zoo. I have mixed feelings about zoo’s: the animals are locked up and have limited freedom, most of the are born in captivity, there are breeding programs for rare species. So I guess they even up and we can enjoy the photos. It wasn’t a photographer friendly zoo and a lot of stretching and groaning went into some shots. So here we have a Common Wombat, they’re a marsupial and built like a small tank. In my first novel Mountain of Death, one of these little blighters is the cause of a turnaround in a character’s life. They can wreck your car if you hit them. They are usually quiet through the day, I think this one may have been meditating.

Wombat

A Rhesus Macaque with her youngster, “Bruce, how many times must I tell you to wash your ears?’

Macaque

An egret, I read his name on the fence and promptly forgot it. I had an asthma attack after being near the tiger cage so there were more pressing things on my mind.

‘Hmm, I could have sworn I put a pack of Mentos back here yesterday.’

egret

The best shot I could get of the Koala, naturally he was asleep. They’re more active early morning and evening. I had a look at the zoo website and of course their pictures of the koalas are taken when they’re on speed or something. All bright eyed and bushy tailed. I think they must have sessions where you can get better photos, especially with the big cats. I still keep an eye out for koalas when we’re out driving.

koala

Dave Manchon runs some of his horses on our place and to show his gratitude he organised a birthday treat for Lorelle’s granddaughter. Dave has a horse show and these three dogs are part of it. They are so well trained I reckon he could train a frog not to hop. Let’s get some dialogue going.

Tilly, ‘Me Dave, pick me I can drive it you know I can. Pick meeeee.’

Charlie, ‘Bloody hell, where’s your dignity? You’re a DOG, ya hear me. Oooooh treats, pick me, meeeee.’

Tia, ‘Shut up ya pack of useless mutts, the Kids have got the keys. Grab the treats, we’re all going cruising for a milkshake.’

Shaun the sheep was ticked off because there wasn’t any room for him.

Here’s Dave, his horse Rocy and one of the dogs, plus two happy kids.

One very happy girl who may have a future in horse riding.

This is a link to Dave’s, ‘Rooftop Express.’ it’s a fantastic show and gives you an idea of what a great horseman he is.

That’s all for this week, so drop by and check it out. Believe me it’s worth the time, especially for my overseas readers as the video gives you a look at the Brisbane Exhibition, or ‘Ekka’ a huge show where the country comes to the city.

Cheers

Laurie.

40 thoughts on “Bit of this, bit of that at The Writer’s Room.

  1. Russel Ray Photos

    The structure of the pink flowers in your first flower picture seem to be that of a begonia, but I can’t tell for sure without some pictures of the leaves. I suspect, though, that it’s an angel wing begonia.

    Your second flower picture is of a pelargonium, commonly called a geranium, but modern geneticists have separated the geraniums of my youth into pelargoniums and geraniums.

    Like

    Reply
  2. oldmainer

    Wow Laurie. This post is a show in itself. Between your photography and the video, it was a great bit of entertainment. But was a little disappointed. I thought being down under, everything would be upside down:)

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks a lot, yes it was a ‘showcase’ post even I liked the video. Actually we only walk normally when people are watching, the rest of the time it’s on our heads. that’s why I’m going bald.

      Like

      Reply
  3. caronallan

    The only time we went to the Ekka we ended up buying a new car – a lancer! We had it for four and half years, took great care of it and sold it for more than we paid to begin with – that was brilliant!

    Like

    Reply
  4. Raani York

    So beautiful, your pictures, Laurie. And of course I immediately fell in love with the Koala. *chuckle* 🙂 Thanks for sharing!

    Like

    Reply
  5. Theresa

    Laurie: Beautiful shots – I feel like I was along for the trip. I agree with you on having mixed feelings on zoos – I know that’s the only way some people will ever see the animals, and I know they do brilliant conservation work, but after having gone on safari in Tanzania 2 years ago, I lean more toward the wild. Seeing the animals in their habitat – the “Circle of Life” in all its entirety – knowing that I was only a guest trying not to leave any sign that I visited – it sang to a part of my soul that I didn’t know existed. I didn’t want to leave. I talk about it in: http://soulgatherings.wordpress.com/2013/09/17/tuesday-travels-tanzania/

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Theresa, I imagine after being in Tanzania then a zoo looks a tad dreary and time worn. You’re right the wild is the place for these animals but. I’m going over to look at your post and I’ll probably leave more thoughts there,
      Thanks,
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
  6. Owls and Orchids

    Beautiful blog Laurie. I’m going to let you down this time… the second photo looks like a geranium, the first, I haven;t been able to match exactly, might be a cassia hybrid but that’s guessing. Beautiful shots, Love the Silky Oak… Thanks.
    Ciao, Suasn x

    Like

    Reply
  7. Jane Risdon

    Beautiful photos and I want to know which camera you use….so clear and so vibrant. I love these and the information too. Thanks for sharing such uplifting photos, made my day. 🙂

    Like

    Reply
      1. Jane Risdon

        I do enjoy them all so much. I have a Canon EOS 350D and I can see the difference in your shots v mine. I shall need to update at some point. Great seeing them. Get well soon 🙂

        Like

      2. laurie27wsmith Post author

        Even if you use the RAW on automatic settings it gives a deeper pic. It’s the working with the file afterwards because they are about 20 megabyte files. it’s all in the trimming and reduction of the file size. 🙂

        Like

      3. Jane Risdon

        Oh cripes am I going to need to be David Bailey? I just point and press normally….I shall have a look and a think about it all when I get my camera out again. Keep ’em peeled!

        Like

  8. Pagadan

    I enjoyed the wombat and koala photos–and the flowers, plus the horses and dogs. (I think I saw a red heeler with the two black and white dogs.) Oh, and I loved the spinning windmill. (We had a working windmill on my grandparent’s farm, btw. I love them.) I appreciate your sharing your beautiful and fun pictures!

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Joy, yes that’s a red heeler. I wondered if anyone would like the windmill, I think it’s cool with everything nice in the background and it looks like it’s rushing like mad. I have a few old run down windmill pics around the place.

      Like

      Reply
  9. rayjamieson

    Hey Laurie, what a BRILLIANT show! As a former farmer and grazier, I did a lot of horseriding, but what wouldn’t I have given firstly for a horse as well trained as these, but then, cattle as well trained as these too! Might not have needed the horses then! As it was, our muster of 230 cows and their vealer calves each year was more exciting than ANY rodeo you ever went to – more action too!

    As such, I can REALLY appreciate the training and horsemanship of the guy – he’s brilliant!

    Thanks for such a great post – no doubt Susan will identify the flowers, and I loved the Rooftop show! We’ll watch it together again later.
    Cheers,
    Ray

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Hi Ray, it certainly is. Dave used to be part of the Outback Spectacular, now of course he has his own show up and running and it looks to be doing well. Yeah my ex is off a cattle property and we used to go back and help at times. You can have some fun but boy it can get dicey at times. He works hard every day with the horses he trains, now his mares are dropping foals so it’s all systems go. I’m glad you enjoyed it ray, it adds something to the post I think.
      Cheers
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
    2. thisisnotbangkok

      Wonderful photos and post. Very well put together. I hear you about zoos. They are definitely a mixed blessing. The have the ability to help animals, esp endangered species, yet they also imprison them.

      Like

      Reply
      1. laurie27wsmith Post author

        True Michael, I mean the white lions are the only ones in
        Australia, you don’t tend to see them in the wild. I imagine one day that’s about the only place they’ll be or in people’s homes in Texas. :-0

        Like

Tell me what you think.

