Mixed offerings from the Writer’s Room.

We have been away for a few days this week at Ballina, in New South Wales and forgot what it is like to have two young children in tow. I take my hat off to all you young parents out there.  This is the morning view from the apartment we stayed in at East Ballina. Don’t you like it when a bird makes an appearance in your sunrise?

Ballina sunrise

It’s just a glance to the left and we have Shelley Beach. I love the haze coming in across the sea.

Shelley Beach

Getting all artistic now at Skennars Head beach.

Driftwood

Does Laurie’s artistic flair know no bounds? At least they stood still long enough for me to get the shot.

reflections

Still in Ballina, it is good to see you have a choice of a cheap internment at the local cemetery.

cemetry

Jacaranda trees opposite St Mary’s Church, Ipswich. I hope to get out and take a few more pictures, there are places that have avenues of them.

Jacaranda tree

A solid, dependable hitching rail for those who attended church back in the ‘good old’ days.

Hitching rail

For the flower enthusiasts amongst you.

spathyphillum

Crucifix orchid.

crucifx orchid

A python at the Cecil Plains zoo. All snugly and warm yet he could latch onto you in the blink of eye. ‘Don’t let this glass case fool you, I – am a denizen of the forest. Now stand aside big boy I’m trying to hypnotise the kid in the far corner over there.’

python

Still at the zoo, Lion.  ‘Okay, now that I have your full attention I need to ask a few questions. One, why do I have big white fangs that can tear great lumps of flesh out of water buffalos?  Why do I have these large claws that can rip and tear hide open? Why can I run down large, fast game on the endless plains of the Serengeti?’

Small boy at rear of crowd, ‘Because you’re a big, savage African Lion!’

Lion, ‘Right, so why the bloody hell am I living in a cage in Queensland? So take your pictures already I can’t hold the grin forever.’

lion

That’s it for this week folks, another pot pourri of potentially pleasing pictures. I hope you like them, if so drop in next week.

Cheers

Laurie.

25 thoughts on “Mixed offerings from the Writer’s Room.

  1. Theresa

    I get so much out of your posts, Laurie! I take in the beauty of the jacaranda trees (my favorite color) and the ocean/driftwood, then marvel at the color of the pink-budded flower. I look at the glowering lion and am reminded about my trip to Tanzania, when my husband’s answer to the dangers of the local predators was simply to run faster than me. And if that wasn’t enough, you then provided important choices for a budget burial after my foray into the Serengeti. You’re quite a guy…

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Look Theresa I like to cater to all tastes and it is refreshing to know that people really enjoy them. Your husband sounds like he’s quite the comedian though. You are only the second person to pick up on the budget burial. I thought it was bloody funny when I saw it. There was a headstone nearby on an empty plot with the inscription, ‘Reserved for the Woodland’s Family Reunion.’ Next time you’re in the Serengeti tie your husband’s shoe laces together. I’ve never been called quite a guy before. 🙂

      Like

      Reply
  2. Owls and Orchids

    So glad you enjoyed your trip with the kids Laurie. The pictures are as always great and I find myself wishing for a better camera. It’s funny but I had a little camera “point and shoot” and loved it til Ray bough me my Nikon. I haven’t seen a good Jacaranda so far this year so that was a treat. I’ll have to remember the ‘reflection’ – I hate my photos at present, I can work my way round this one 🙂 I didn’t think they still had any hitching rails around – must get down there to see it. Love history! Hope the pollen has settled a bit for you – with this wind it should blow away…. tis a tad chilly tonight (BIG SMILE).
    Ciao, Susan xx

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Susan, I would have tried for a meeting but I don’t think you would have been in the mood for kids as well. It was full on, the salt air helped my breathing though. There’s a huge difference between point and shoot and a dslr. I wish I’d bought one years ago. The reflection is good, we sat on the rocks and watched the kid playing and their reflections stood out. So I had them stand still and viola, it worked. the trick is to look outside the box, look for the odd and out of the ordinary. I hope to go to Goodna and get better shots of the jacarandas. Enjoy the chills Susan. 🙂
      Cheers
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
  3. Raani York

    Oh Laurie, you offered a bunch of fantastic pictures here!! I love the flowers, the flowery trees and that “water picture” of course… and all the others too – my very favorite, as you can think, is the lion – of course!
    Thanks for sharing these pictures!!

    Like

    Reply
  4. Pagadan

    Lovely sunrise and flowers and shimmery reflections. The colorful urn at the cemetary really stood out, but I thought the hitching rail was truly interesting. I don’t think I’d have known what it was. The lion looks old … I appreciate the variety, Laurie.

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Joy, I excel at sunrises, flowers and shimmers. It’s a great hitching rail indeed, a strong, sturdy rail for the horses of the pious. 🙂 The lion was eight. I try to vary the pics and put in a little something for everyone.

      Like

      Reply
  5. Wordifull Melanie

    Lovely 🙂 Thanks for taking us on your trip. And I hink I laughed a little to much at “Still in Ballina, it is good to see you have a choice of a cheap internment at the local cemetery.”

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Melanie, you’re welcome. Laughs aplenty here. I thought the cemetery pic was good. I mean, how much would it cost for a coffin made out of a wheelie bin? They’d last longer, you wouldn’t need a hearse, the pallbearers could take turns wheeling you out. I’d better stop before I go way overboard here. 🙂

      Like

      Reply
  6. Peggi Salva Tustan

    You have such a wonderful way of viewing the world, Laurie. Thanks for sharing it in picture form. Especially liked, the driftwood – I wanted to be there immediately; the silhouettes, and the … garbage container (cheap internment) – LOL! Thanks for beauty and laughter!

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Hi Peggi, thank you. Yes the driftwood. What a beautiful piece of beach, even though it was a pebble one (reminded me of England) it had a feel about it. You could almost hear the wooden hull a whaling boat being drawn up the beach, crunching on the rocks. I love the silhouettes too and I was waiting for somebody to appreciate the hmm, subtle cemetery humour.

      Like

      Reply
  7. hitandrun1964

    Fabulous pictures, as always. Hope you are feeling better. Update needed. The chickens are concerned. Cluck. Boa is beautiful, flowers, as well…lovely bunch of photographs.

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Gigi, was better down the coast back in the bush and the dust and pollen has got to me. Tell the chickens I’m okay and I’ll keep the huge chicken loving boa away from them.

      Like

      Reply

Tell me what you think.

