MIDWEEK POETRY: Wanted.

page

Wanted.

Loved?

Unloved?

Existing as

a commodity.

A vessel for forbidden lust.

Bartered, traded for

other damaged receptacles.

~~~

We met in the hallway.

Strangers.

Naked emotions

mirrored on young faces.

Naked bodies, smeared with love.

~~~

Now we are wanted,

for our innocence.

Marionettes

with invisible strings.

Posed.

Manipulated.

Limbs entwined.

Too young to know.

~~~

Smiling in the flashbulbs

harsh glare.

Miniature adults joined

together.

Pleasure gathers,

we feel loved now.

Revered.

Forever captured

on film,

for the viewing pleasure

of broken

voyeurs.

L W SMITH© 2013.

25 thoughts on “MIDWEEK POETRY: Wanted.

  1. Theresa

    Write what you feel, Laurie, and those who don’t understand it never will, nor do they have to read it. In the meantime, it is cathartic for you and a huge help to those who have been abused and need to know that they did not suffer alone, and that they can survive. The picture perfectly captures the words – wooden puppets, present physically, but far, far away on every other plane.

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Theresa, I’ve learnt while blogging that you can’t please everybody. I certainly didn’t write it to titillate. When I began spewing all of this out to my psychiatrist he stopped me, picked up his phone and made an appointment to see his shrink. Nor am I writing to big not myself, or say my abuse is worse than other people’s abuse. I do it for what you have said, to let others know that no matter how horrible it was you can survive. You can come out the other side and still function. Those puppets say it all.

      Like

      Reply
  2. bgbowers

    Another emotive poem, Laurie. I echo Susan’s comments from ‘Owls and Orchids’. This behaviour, regardless of whether a perpetrator was once a victim themselves, is unacceptable, intolerable and unforgivable.
    Bianca x

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Bianca, I agree with you but there is a start point in people’s lives that put them on a road, and once started they no longer fit into the ‘norm.’ Society’s morals and mores mean nothing to people who are driven by needs that go beyond the realm of civilised behaviour. In my own childhood I came up against monsters. My work in prison and the police has put me in front of people who, by their actions would make your blood go icy. All of them had been victims of some form of horror or abusive behaviour. At some stage the notion of right and wrong has been eliminated from their minds to varying degrees. I would say they have made decisions on where their life will take them, and weighing their options and experience take the path they find the most pleasurable. Also the main reason I think as to why these criminals can’t be rehabilitated is that the offences are deeply rooted in the pleasure sensors of the brain. Sexual gratification is a powerful thing and when it is warped the drive is overwhelming. The sad thing is that these people don’t look any different to the rest of us.
      What people do when they see this behaviour is to make the judgement from a ‘sane, respectable viewpoint.’ The people who commit these acts aren’t totally sane or respectable. Their worldview is one of, what can I get away with next, how far can I go to satiate my desires? The more vulnerable the victim the more chance of success. My point is this, the less victims of abuse there are, the less perpetrators society will have to deal with. Although there are those who have the best lives and become monsters, they are few and far between. Nor am I saying that every victim becomes a perpetrator, although my experience is that many people are of that belief. It still comes down to what they do is wrong!
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
  3. Owls and Orchids

    You are an incredibly evocative writer Laurie, prose or poetry. With your poems you leave me feeling ill in the pit of my stomach and heartbreak for innocence stolen and bartered away.
    You’re right, the sick will always be sick, but that doesn’t mean they can be excused at all – even if they abhor their ‘nature’. Have I the right to judge anyone else, or to condemn them…. with this I think so. It’s unconscionable on any level. You are a brave man to bring a subject few would talk about into the light.
    As an aside… I love the photo – it is evocative of the innocent purity of the lotus. (To me at least).
    Well done my friend. Susan x

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thank you Susan, I guess you have to extract a visceral response from your readers. Yes they will always be sick and I think it shows that desire in any form is a potent emotion. If the person has sociopathic tendencies to add into the mix then there is no hope of stopping completely. I don’t know if I’m brave or stupid, I may have lost a few followers and I guess that is to be expected. Some people tend to equate an abused child becoming an abusive adult. So when the abused child puts their hand up to draw attention they suffer twice. My shrink warned me about writing about my childhood, saying that many wouldn’t believe or understand and would condemn me. I guess the writer in me didn’t listen. I’m glad you liked my picture, I hunted everywhere for the artist’s models. I will be using them a lot through my poetry. I won’t be doing heavy stuff all the time though.
      Thank you again Susan.
      Laurie. xox

      Like

      Reply
      1. Owls and Orchids

        It’s a sad indictment Laurie, if people stop following your blog because you touch on subjects which are too ‘heavy; or THEY cannot face, it’s their loss ultimately. I think when any of us write we run the rick of alienating people who judge from their own world view.
        As we both know most people ‘know’ what goes on but ‘don’t want to know’. Seeing the facts plain on paper makes it impossible to avoid. So they retreat. Of curse I may be wrong. That’s life.
        I’m still here and I feel each word you write. There is a beauty in your writing amidst the horror.
        Your photography shows the beautiful nature of your soul….
        Ciao, my friend
        Susan x

        Like

      2. laurie27wsmith Post author

        Oh so true Susan. I can only see it as their loss. I write what I write and that is how it is for me. When I first started blogging I decided that to be real you had to be truthful, to yourself and your readers. Sometimes truth hurts. You are quite right in your statement, it shows that life hurts too. I’m quite glad you’re here Susan. thank you for your beautiful sentiments.
        Cheers
        Laurie. xox

        Like

  4. rayjamieson

    Great poetry Laurie, great comment Melanie. A well written poem on something that should never be allowed to happen…. The sad thing is that it still goes on. If only the sufferers of the past were enough and the evil was sated, but it seems the rot is in the minds of the perpetrators and there will never be enough…

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Ray. the fight is against human desire. It is an incredibly strong emotion that drives people to do many things. The threat of incarceration and even death won’t stop the person who wants something badly enough. Especially when they haven’t the strength of will to pull away from it. I saw first hand the mental torment of the abuser at work, and the subsequent fallout of anger, explosions of physical anger, then regret and self punishment. Then the cycle starts over again. It was never pretty. As an aside, what did you think of the picture, I took it last night?

      Like

      Reply
      1. rayj2012

        Appropriate, fitting, exactly right for the story you are telling. I didn’t realize you created it, well done.
        Appropriate, very fitting, I didn’t realize you created it! Well done!

        As for those telling you not to write about this, it may be helping you but my guess is that it’s helping heal others too, people drawn here for reasons they don’t yet understand. To them, you’re some sort of Angel, a channel for their healing.
        Blessings Mate!

        Like

      2. laurie27wsmith Post author

        In regards to the photo, thank you. I thought it gave the impression of how we can be manipulated as children. Besides I don’t have to look for images on line.
        I’ve never been called an Angel before, I hope what I write helps others Ray. Even one, I hope so because this can be a painful task at times.
        Cheers
        Laurie.

        Like

    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Melanie, I’m trying to show that it is a way of life for some people and that despite all our concerns and laws it goes on. Children who know no better, either by being taught from an early age, bought or threatened will continue to be marionettes in this sordid game.

      Like

      Reply

Tell me what you think.

