Something in purple from The Writer’s Room.

Jacaranda  mimosofolia, well, there’s the extent of my botanical knowledge for the day. It’s spring Down Under and the Jacarandas are in full bloom, and I have to say I love them. The beauty of their blooms far outweighs the mess after they finish flowering. I took this picture in Queens Park, Ipswich late in the afternoon. I’ve lived in and about this old town since 1964 and have probably climbed every tree in the park, except the pines. I went for a vivid setting on the camera and I feel this is a picture I’ll print out for display. Remember they look much better if you open them in a new tab or window.

Queens Park, Ipswich.

This view is on the far side of the top picture.

Queens Park, Ipswich.

Believe it or not I do get out at night, I had some fun scaring the crap out of drivers going past when I used the flash a few times. ‘I told you to slow down Derek, look at that light, another blasted speeding ticket.’ This is on the main road side of the park. The step pyramids are built out of limestone. Convicts dug the rock out of the small hills behind the structure in the early 1800’s. this link will save me typing.

 http://museumvictoria.com.au/collections/themes/2286/municipality-of-ipswich-queensland

Queens Park, Ipswich.

I know some people don’t like my composite pictures but I have so many to share. The main one was taken heading out of Laidley, bottom left a Jacaranda peeking over the roof of an abandoned cottage. The bottom right pic is from the garden in the next picture. ‘Okay already, I’m not perfect.’

jacarandas, Laidley.

The main picture is a small section of what used to be Toowoomba‘s first Courthouse. It is now a private residence and the owner has done a beautiful job on the gardens. I could only get a long shot of the roses by putting my vitals on the line to lean over the spear point fence, it was worth the risk. A close up of a nymph from outside the front door.

Court House, Toowoomba

In the botanical gardens, Queens Park, Toowoomba. They have just finished their spring carnival and I have *lots* of pictures.

Botanical gardens, Toowoomba

Obviously a lover’s walk type garden.

Botanical gardens, Toowoomba

The background for this picture is the sea at Ballina. Clockwise, a gazania, a mixed offering, the long purple flowers are Salvia Rat tails. me being very clever with PhotoScape and hmm, azaleas I think.

flowers

There must be columns, big columns actually, the fluffy looking shrub next to them is from China. I can’t remember its name.

columns, botanical gardens, Toowoomba

Still in Toowoomba, the main picture is one of over a dozen beds, petunias and snap dragons seem to be the plant of choice in this bed. Then a hydrangea, daylily and a beautiful rose.

botanical gardens, Toowoomba

Finally something nautical, this lighthouse in Ballina is the oldest in New South Wales, being built in 1866. The seagull had some fishing line on his leg and the others kept chasing him away.

Lighthouse, Ballina, NSW

That’s the lot for this week. I feel your pain and I know you want more, there is always next week. I have many pictures and a desire to share them with everybody. If you wish to use any of them feel free, I would appreciate it though if you linked them back here or acknowledged me as the photographer. Thank you, I hope you have enjoyed the visit, if so tell your friends, like or leave a message. I’m always up for a chat.

Cheers

Laurie.

31 thoughts on “Something in purple from The Writer’s Room.

  1. Russel Ray Photos

    Your “fluffy looking shrub” is a smoketree or smoke bush (Cotinus sp.). They actually are native to warm temperate climates in the Northern Hemisphere rather than China, but they’ll do well in any warm temperate climate.

    Like

    Reply
  2. bgbowers

    I do love October in Qld – the jacarandas and flame trees are spectacular. Soon the Poinciana’s will be in bloom. 🙂

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Mate, long time no see. I’ve been over to your page and commented. I love the Jacarandas, I’ve seen a few Pohutukawas here, they’ve a beautiful red foliage.

      Like

      Reply
  3. Owls and Orchids

    Love the juxtaposition of colour and historical architecture. You’re a true genius Laurie. Can’t see worth a toss today so the pictures said a thousand words. I always love them. Thanks. Susan. ❤

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Hi Susan, thanks for that, the old courthouse certainly looks better now. I’m sure you would remember it in its heyday. Oh, never been called a genius before, *blushing madly* thank you.
      Laurie 🙂

      Like

      Reply
  4. kelihasablog

    What beautiful pictures Laurie!! I love the purple especially, and all the sculpted gardens. You really look like you had a fabulous day! Thanks for posting so people like me would be able to see. 😀

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Keli, the purple certainly stands out, the sad thing is the sculpted gardens were on their last legs for spring. Yet they’re still beautiful. I always post them for you Keli. 😉

      Like

      Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Gigi, it is lovely. What I like about photography is the viewer is, in effect looking through the eye of the photographer. For that brief moment they are connected. There will always be photos from the Writer’s Room. 🙂

      Like

      Reply

Tell me what you think.

