Fast rides, Flowers, a Fish and more from The Writer’s Room.

I’ve been a busy little bee this week and the photos reflect this. I’ve been haunting people’s gardens and taking pictures of the results of their hard work. I know, I’m a naughty boy. This Hibiscus looks great on a new page.

flowers

A couple of close-ups on the Day Lilies here and their happy little stamens.

flowers

More shots from Queens park, Botanical Gardens in Toowoomba.

Queens park, Toowoomba.

This is the giant version of a Bird of Paradise, yes I know somebody else’s garden. The better botanists amongst you can tell me what the red flowers are. The white one is off a Kadachi tree.

flowers

We were visiting the grandchildren and the Siamese fighting fish were on the table. I put the little tanks together and this one flared up. What a fluke shot, I tried about twenty times after this but couldn’t get a better one.

Siamese fighting fish

Ah, the joys of fast moving rides, not.  Okay, the centrifugal force keeps you in. It doesn’t stop the person next to you being sick though. I used the 200mm lens on this one, undigested fairy floss, fish and chips and a cola doesn’t discriminate when it flies out at great speed.

carnival rides

These fountains were the only cool thing on the day, it’s a hot spring in Toowoomba.

fountains Toowoomba

Now I was excited when I saw this pretty young mother this morning. My nemesis, the little Rosellas that get around the garden were sitting in a large thistle. I know I should weed more. Naturally I was disappointed when they flew away and decided to take pics of the Wallabies. Yes that is a Joey sticking its little hairless head out for a sneak peek at the world.

hairless joey

I had to look twice at this shot. No it isn’t a pair of Wallabies joined at the hip. Just quick on the draw Laurie. I could have used a touch of the stamp tool and took out the far ones feet and tail.

Wallaby

Finally, something from our garden. I like Bromeliaed spikes and the way the late afternoon sun shines through. The nest is in the hedge around our solar shed, a pair of Top Knot Pigeons decided to set up home there. I will try and get a better picture with mum on the nest. The only problem is that the green tree snakes hunt through the hedge and they love bird’s eggs.

flowers

Without doubt I am a dill at times. I forgot to put his wonderful piece of Aboriginal art in the post. It is a gift from my nephew who works as a police officer on Bathurst Island, off the coast of the Northern Territory. It is a Black Cockatoo carved out of ironwood. the artist is a 75 year old man, Mario Munkara. He carves a variety of fish and animals. An interesting aside, on the day before my nephew turned up we had flocks of cockatoos flying around the place. Which isn’t a common occurrence and the same thing the day after.

Aboriginal art.

That’s the lot for the week, I hope you have enjoyed them and the vivid colours. Until next week keep well.

Cheers

Laurie.

32 thoughts on “Fast rides, Flowers, a Fish and more from The Writer’s Room.

  1. Russel Ray Photos

    Your red flowers could be just about anything from the various bottlebrushes: Callistemon, Beaufortia, Leucadia, Grevillea, Protea…………. I would need to see more of the leaves, branches, and perhaps even the full tree.

    Like

    Reply
  2. Eli@coachdaddy

    Frog pee tea apparently makes one a fantastic photographer, mate. You could have passed off the cockatoo carving as your own, and I’d have believed you too. But there’s no way I’ll take a ride like that – I intent to keep my breakfast in the digestive tract, my friend.

    Good stuff!

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      I do know it stings when you get it in the eye, yikes. I must have drank a bit of it then. My wood carving skills are limited to chopping firewood. That ride was too much, when I saw a boy bend forward I back pedalled and changed lenses for a longer one. Thanks for oyur kind encouragement mate.
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
  3. Owls and Orchids

    Beautiful photos as always Laurie. Love the little joey peeking out and the duo fooling everyone. Just looking at the photo of that ride made me feel ill – definitely a no-go area for me 🙂
    Maybe I’m not looking but there seems to be many more gardeners out your way than mine…. can’t wait to get my own garden humming…
    Ciao, Susan x

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Susan, the joey is cute. Focus on the non blurry ride then you’ll be okay. 🙂 I take my camera out everywhere so I might be in Ipswich and spot something, or Toowoomba. There aren’t many gardeners in my neighbourhood. I used to be an avid gardener but some things had to go when I took sick in 2010. 😦
      Cheers
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
      1. laurie27wsmith Post author

        I picked up a few techniques when I was in the job. One of the blokes I worked with was doing his photography course prior to becoming a Scenes of Crimes man. We talked about photography all through the shift. Until there were new developments of course, nothing negative you hear.
        Cheers
        Laurie.

        Like

    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Hello, yes we are totally independent from the electricity grid and run a 9 KWH system. Twenty four panels and batteries, plus we have a solar hot water system. The wallabies are next to one of four 25,000 litre water tanks we have. I love the taste of rainwater, the frog pee is well watered down so it isn’t a problem. 🙂 Thanks for visiting.
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
      1. laurie27wsmith Post author

        Ah yes, I love them. They are such cute things, the trouble is the snakes like them too. They get on the windows chasing bugs, hang on the screen door, leap out of the gutters and land with a plop on the cement. Besides they don’t pee too much. 🙂

        Like

  4. Pagadan

    I always enjoy the variety! This time my favorite picture is the hibiscus at the beginning; the spinning ride is fun and colorful, and the eggs in the woven nest is [hmm.are] sweet.

    Like

    Reply
  5. peglovesjesus

    Love your pictures, Laurie! They are a respite for my computer/text tired eyes. The double wallabies shot is amazing! The momma with the joey picture is both strange and sweet! As always, thanks for posting!

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Peg, the colours are easy on ones tired eyes. The wallabies are cute, the baby has a certain off appeal to it. All in all very satisfying. Thank you for stopping by.
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
  6. hitandrun1964

    That was wonderful! The pictures of the kangaroos were so adorable, with the baby looking out. So sweet. The flowers are so beautiful. It looks like it’s still summer by you. And, truthfully, just looking at the PICTURE of the ride mad me dizzy:) The fighting fish is so pretty. Thank you for this great treat.

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Gigi, pop back again I’ve put a piece of art up that I forgot to post. The Wallaby was for you and yes the joey is so cute and pink. We’re coming into summer down under, a hot one as well. 🙂

      Like

      Reply
      1. hitandrun1964

        Saw the new picture:) Lovely. Thank you for all the bird and animal pictures. You’re going INTO summer and it’s getting cold here. If you weren’t sooooooo far away I’d stop over to enjoy your sunny shores. If you’re looking to freeze a bit, you can fly here in a month and then, if you’re lucky, we can have a snowball fight:) Thank you again for the wonderful pictures:) I really do look forward to them. Be well friend. peep

        Like

      2. laurie27wsmith Post author

        You’re welcome, Gigi. I’d like to say summer is around the corner but it hit us head on. That is just how it is. I’ve spent a Xmas in Edmonton at -35celsius. Send snowball by snail mail. 🙂 I’m glad you like my pictures, I have plenty for next week now. Cheep.

        Like

      3. hitandrun1964

        I’ll do my best but snowballs do have a tendency to MELT now and then. LOL I can send snowball water, if that’s okay:) Remember it will be from Chicago so it may have pollution in it so don’t drink it. I’ll try to get beautiful, whit fluffy snow but since I don’t actually have your address…I’m guessing you won’t get it. LOL It’s the thought that counts. Looking forward to your photographs, as always. Cluck. Hope you feel better and so do the sweet chickens. They have become quite fond of you, you know.

        Like

      4. laurie27wsmith Post author

        As long as it’s not yellow snow that’s okay, never, ever eat yellow snow. I think the whole melting thing will be a problem. As long as you don’t send a frozen chicken. 😦 Is it only the chickens that are quite fond of me? 🙂 I look forward to your posts and replies you know, oh and of course the chickens.
        Cheers
        Laurie.

        Like

Tell me what you think.

