Some colour, oh and a frog from The Writer’s Room.

We are well away from the writer’s room today, heading to Canberra for a birthday bash. My brother has made his half century, so I’ll give him flowers. This was taken at an open garden day put on by my doctor, with proceeds going to doctors without borders. A lovely day out and of course I can’t put everything up. Something of a mixed bag here.

flowers

A view towards Mulgowie from his garden. If you have seen the sunset pictures on previous posts well this is behind that mountain range. The bridge and waterfall are to the left of the top picture and the Jacaranda is behind part of a garden feature.

Mulgowie

Okay, I’ll admit it I love water lilies.

water feature

He had roses planted at the end of every grape-vine and of course it looks like everybody works. That bee is carrying some serious pollen.

rose and bee

Sigh, I know, more lilies but look at them they’re beautiful.

water lilies

We stopped at Coonabarabran for a break and I took these pictures. The name of the first plant escapes me, then there are climbing roses and I like the picture of the gazanias. Naturally the pictures look better if you open them in a new tab.

gazanias

Dave from down the road runs a few horses on our place, it saves a lot of grass slashing. These Palomino geldings are a pair of mischievous horses. I know they look all innocent and cute but I always have my camera and you can’t let a photo opportunity go by. Of course the wallabies had to get in the shot.

palominos

All of these are from the doctor’s garden.

roses

A flame tree in the parking lot of our local supermarket.

flame tree

Now where would we be without the first frog of spring? He was on the kitchen window ledge the other night. He’s looking a little dry with bits of spider web and rubbish on him. The dragonflies were on the edge of the waterfall at the doc’s.

green tree frog

I saw these as we flashed past on the way to Cowra, went a mile up the road and found a place to turn. Some photo opportunities you have to take. I was immediately reminded of the gates to the mansion in my book Mountain of Death. There’s a sense of mystery here, just what is up that laneway?

gateway

Okay, we have a strange pic here. We saw the ugliest looking piece of roadside art outside of Wellington, NSW yesterday. I had to take a picture. I’ll be putting up pictures of the structure next week because when I walked into it there were several pieces of good art to be found. This one is self-explanatory, big tree through broken glass.

tree

That’s the lot for this week, I can assure you of more in the way of flora, fauna and the strange in weeks to come. Thanks for dropping by and have a great week.

Cheers,
Laurie.

39 thoughts on “Some colour, oh and a frog from The Writer’s Room.

  1. Patrons of the Pit

    Greetings old chap. I say, what self-respecting, manly-man would openly admit a more-than-casual fondness and/or abiding affection for a water lily? I should like to cast a testosterone-based judgement on thee, but in point of fact, I can’t, because I rather fancy the lowly water lily too! They’re just pretty. I have even tried on one occasion harvesting their root, and cooking it up over the fire, but that didn’t work out so good. But I read they are edible, leastwise up in this part of the world they are. But I think you have to be mighty hungry.

    I liked the picture of the old truck in the grass. That’s art!

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      I remain steadfastly manly with a fondness for lilies and high heels, as long as Lilly’s wearing them. Oops, wrong Lily. I know that the roots of the hyacinth was used by Aborigines to catch fish. They would grind the root up and throw it in to a billabong (large pond) and the narcotic effect of the root stuns the fish and they float to the surface. So perhaps you would have to choose your delicacy carefully.
      That is a nice truck, it was just waiting to be photographed.
      Cheers
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
  2. bgbowers

    You have some great shots here, Laurie. I particularly love the bee, the gates to that house (definitely a story there), and tree through the broken glass.

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Bianca, I wish the shot was clearer on the bee, I was given a lens to help with wide angles and macros yesterday so watchout for more insects. 🙂 Wait until you see the shots for next week re the broken glass, very arty.
      Cheers
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
  3. Owls and Orchids

    Beautiful as always Laurie… I’ll have to find my tree frog picture… we’ve had our fellow around for two months, really early I know, but I’m not complaining. Love the flowers…. I must get out more, and not to doctors!!!!
    Have a great time.
    Ciao, Susan x

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Susan, there’s little water around for ours and it’s been cool. I think hunger got the better of him and out he came. Glad you like the pictures. I agree about the doctors, I hate going now. 😦
      Cheers
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
  4. Theresa

    Great shots, and of course loved all of the purple. I’m glad you mentioned the kangaroos in with the horses; I wouldn’t have noticed them without that, and magnifying the picture.

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Theresa, of course you loved the purple it’s your colour. 🙂 The kangaroos are so much a part of the background that one tends not to notice them. I couldn’t resist taking the epic of the horses, it seems that blondes do have more fun.

      Like

      Reply
      1. Gallivanta

        That’s the trouble isn’t it? Knowing too much strips away the delight of mystery. Some things should remain mysteries despite our need to know.

        Like

  5. hitandrun1964

    I may have to move to Australia. Seriously, it’s not fair that you have all those beautiful things to yourself…okay, I know you SHARE them with other Australian people but still. It’s dark, cold and heading for winter here and (sniff, sniff) I want to see the frog and dance with the horses and see the dragons and sit by the flowers and…and…do I have to have an Australian accent to get into the country? Can I bring a chicken or two? Do you guys hate Americans or are we okay with you? Can I pet a roo? Do they bite? Do you have any winter at all? Snow? Sigh. Alas, you are so very far away. If I move there do you think anyone will notice that I’m not a native? LOLOLOLOLOL Hey, just checkin’.” Your pictures just get better and better. Truly inspiring.

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Indeed you may Gigi, but I do share them with you and obviously cabin fever has set in and you are feeling the cold and OMG I’ll have to post more great pictures. 😉 With illegal immigrants sailing to the north via Indonesia you might be able to sneak aboard one, bring heaps of chickens though. Don’t worry about the accent, it seems you can keep your own language and fall back on it when you do something wrong. No we don’t hate Americans, we are after all joined by the ANZUS treaty. Just don’t send us your politicians, ours are bad enough. Yes you can pet a Roo, we have a zoo an hours drive away and you can feed them. In the wild they’ll scratch and kick you. We have winter and it snows but mainly in the southern highlands where I am visiting right now. It’s about -1 Celsius, that’s 30deg F but it gets way lower. We have quite a smattering of cultures here so a lovely lady from Chicago will fit right in. I’m glad you like my pictures, posting them makes me look for better subjects and styles.
      Cheers
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
      1. hitandrun1964

        Thank you for all that great info. 🙂 Sounds great. I got to pet some kangaroos in florida, feed them too…wonderful experience. they were little roos but adorable and very sweet and gentle. It was at Busch Garden. I didn’t realize your temps dropped so low. Thank you again and more pictures, please. Hope you are feeling better and all is well. Peep.

        Like

    1. Pagadan

      I love the photos, especially the iris and roses–and the palominos. (I’ve loved Trigger since I was a kid–the most beautiful palomino ever.) And Great Scotty Beam Me Up! It’s a White’s tree frog in its native habitat…

      Like

      Reply
      1. laurie27wsmith Post author

        Hi Joy, I’m glad you like the flowers, they are beautiful. Ah, Trigger what a horse he was and you like frogs, well I certainly have plenty of subjects to choose from when we get some rain….

        Like

    2. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Bob, it’s nice to have ones work appreciated, especially from someone in a picturesque part of the world. By the way your posts aren’t coming through until someone comments on them. I may have to re-follow you.
      Cheers
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
      1. oldmainer

        That’s odd. Don’t know why that is happening. Hope re-following corrects the problem. Wouldn’t want you to have to miss any of my wisdom:)

        Like

    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Tami, I had three shots to choose from and that one has ‘attitude’ a don’t mess with me mate look. I’m waiting for the other 75 to come out of hiding. 🙂
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply

Tell me what you think.

