What a variety from The Writer’s Room.

Over the next few weeks I will bore astound you all with pictures taken on our recent trip to Canberra. They won’t be in any particular order and the odd one or two from home will pop up. All of these pictures will look far better opened in a new tab or window.

I nearly wet myself when I saw this butterfly in the Canberra Botanical gardens.
butterfly

I snapped these roses in the garden next door to my brother’s home in Canberra.

Roses

Taken in the Canberra Botanical gardens. I’m using this on my about.me page.

waterfall

Botanical gardens.

plants

The things a photographer does for his art. I took this lying on my back to get the effect, at Orraral in the Namadgi National Park. A satellite tracking station once stood in the area, part of the network used in the Lunar landings in 1969.

Orraral Campsite in the Namadgi National Park.

I actually stood up for this one.

Orraral Campsite in thNamadgi National Park.

I had the hardest time getting a half decent shot of this Blue Wren, it’s obviously mating season and he’s trying to impress the ladies. He impressed me with his turn of speed. Oh and some travelling Wood Ducks off for a bath.

Blue wren

There is a fabulous rose garden in Cowra New South Wales.

Roses

I was intrigued by the amount of long dead grass on the roadside with golden seed heads. So we stopped and I snapped this.

grass seeds

I think this Bee owns the rose at Cowra. He stayed while I huffed and puffed back to the car and changed lenses for a longer one. I like to keep out of their way.

Bee

I took this sequence yesterday at home after Lorelle said, ‘Get your camera.’ Joey saw me and headed back to Mum, did a skidding turn and headed for the pouch. I think she was after breakfast because she settled down and relaxed. It’s good to see them out and about.

Wallaby and Joey

That’s it for this week, something of a smorgasbord indeed. So be prepared for a colourful exhibit and some odd shots. Until then,
Cheers
Laurie.

25 thoughts on “What a variety from The Writer’s Room.

  1. Nia Simone

    Wow, absolutely spectacular. I’ve never managed to photograph a butterfly. That one is my favorite but it was a hard choice, they are all so amazing. I like you embedded close ups inside the larger photo.

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thank you Nia, I always try to get up close with the insects. they make such great subjects, especially when they’re so colourful. I have so many pictures that I like to embed some in a bigger picture, especially the Wallaby and her joey. Then I make them big enough so when you open them in a new window you get such a great view.

      Like

      Reply
  2. WordsFallFromMyEyes

    These are wonderful photos, Laurie🙂 That yellow of the flower is just so so richly beautiful. Love it.

    I only passed through Canberra. I think it was Bellbird Caravan park my husband & me stayed at. I will look forward to your pics, see what’s in Canberra!

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Noelene, I love taking pics of flowers. I think it’s because they only last for so long then click, you have them forever. 😦 I didn’t do the tourist thing around the city this time. Oh, except for the Botanic gardens. You need a week or two to really get it all in: war memorial, museum, art gallery etc.

      Like

      Reply
  3. peglovesjesus

    Laurie, you are an incredible photographer. Such an eye for beauty. You even made the golden seed heads look extraordinary! It’s all about perspective, isn’t it? Taking time to notice the beauty all around us.

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Peg. I watched the grass (wild oats) for miles and thought I would have to stop and take a close up of it. A simple photo, yet it shows the beauty of the pods. I try to look at things differently.🙂

      Like

      Reply
  4. Raani York

    Ooooooohhhhh! So beautiful!! You just chose ALL my favorites: Animals, roses, flowers, waterfalls!! I’m so amazed!

    Like

    Reply
  5. Pagadan

    Laurie, I love the flowers, especially the roses, and the seedheads. (Sometimes tares are pretty.) And you did a good job of catching the joey heading home; and the photo of the Orraral is Impressive, especially when you stood up.

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Hi Joy, thank you. They are nice roses, more to come. I never tire of watching the joeys, they get up to so much mischief. Orraral is a nice part of the world, I had to lie down, I needed a break.🙂

      Like

      Reply
  6. hitandrun1964

    I love your pictures, as always. Wonderful. Roses are so pretty, birds, sigh, sweet and the kangaroos…well, you know I’m crazy about them. You live in a truly beautiful place. More, please. Thank you. Peep. Hope you feel lots better:)

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Hi Gigi, Thank you. As you know I like to have some variety in my posts and of course I love to put kangaroos up. They’re an integral part of my world here. I’m feeling chirpier thanks.🙂

      Like

      Reply
  7. rayj2012

    The grass is black oats or wild oats Laurie, a pest for wheat crops, as the harvesters can’t take it out of the wheat grain. They get hit for impurities in the grain if there are more than a couple visible either in the test sample or across the load in the truck. A useless weed!

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks for that Ray, there was an awful lot of it. Obviously someone has been sowing their wild oats. A useless weed, yet it still makes a vivid statement on the landscape.

      Like

      Reply

Tell me what you think.

