MIDWEEK POETRY: Circle of Life.

pageddd

Circle of Life

I didn’t know that I had died,
only that you, were by my side.
Like many other times before,
what is it called, in days of yore?

I have a memory, tho now it’s dim,
that we lived before, some said in sin.
They took you from me, and how I cried,
for I wasn’t there that day you died.

The flames consumed your flesh
I’m told,
They said you stood there, proud
and bold.
And I lay on a cold stone floor,
behind an iron bound,
oaken door.

I stayed there till I breathed my last,
when twenty more long years had past.
I took a painful breath and lay,
alone with no one who would pray,
to help my soul attain its wings
to go where some, said an angel sings.

I saw the light, it shimmered, wide,
then you were kneeling by my side.
You lifted me and calmed my fears,
and wiped away my spectral tears.

We journeyed to a place somewhere,
we sat and spoke without a care.
The mist came in, and then you vanished,
with our love, our dreams, those things
we cherished.

Gone.

Now.

I feel your heartbeat, for you are near,
Oh thank you, thank you, no more fear.
We’ll carry onward from before,
leaving behind those days of yore.
Back together, yes forever
perhaps again you’ll be my lover.

So much pain, the end is near,
from darkness now to
somewhere clear.
I feel your warmth, and sweet embrace.
I see your loving, tender face.
You kiss me gently, then I rest
upon your full, firm rounded breast.
I stare into your tired eyes,
you say, Look, he seems so wise,
perhaps we’ve met somewhere before.
We have mother – on a stone cold floor.
Laurie Smith© 2013

23 thoughts on “MIDWEEK POETRY: Circle of Life.

  1. Theresa

    Riveting – filled with a haunted longing, an emptiness – describing a deep part of you that doesn’t get much light. Beautiful, even more so with a second reading.

    Like

    Reply
  2. Patricia Salamone

    Fratello, how beautiful. It stirs up many emotions in such a beautiful way. Your talent astounds me, and I thought you were a tough guy, boy was I wrong. You have such a beautiful soul and are a big softie.

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Sorella, I like to astound people. I lull them into a false sense of me being some grumpy old ex soldier, then whammo, all soft and gooey. Thanks so much for dropping by.
      Fratello.

      Like

      Reply
  3. Raani York

    You are a very special and very emotional poet, Laurie. This poem is beautiful, scary, touching, sad and – everything to the same time. What a remarkable piece of art!! Well done!!!

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thank you Raani and you know the thing about this poem? I wrote it in10 minutes. Something’s happening here, it must be all the writing and little doors are opening. I had the feeling of how cheated you would feel if you came back expecting something……

      Like

      Reply
      1. Raani York

        LOL
        Laurie… this is only the prove that you’re more talented than I had thought first – and I already knew you were gifted!!
        🙂

        Like

Tell me what you think.

