We’re going batty at The Writer’s Room.

Good morning, yes it is Friday again at least here in Australia. There’s something of a mixed bag again this week, ‘Isn’t there always?’ Who said that? Rest assured I’m not going crazy. Although after deleting a whole days worth of photos off my SD card, and only able to recover three of them I’m not a happy camper. To make matters worse, they were exquisite shots. Sob. Enough of this feeling sorry myself, let’s get on with it. Here we have a Great Egret, I took this at Lake Apex in Gatton, last Sunday. I think that green around the eye is lovely.

Great Egret

With those pink, skinny legs you would have to have nice plumage to attract the ladies.

Great Egret

The common old Cattle Egret scrubs up well for mating season. Their plumage is delightful.

Cattle Egret

I had a whole range of Batman jokes to go, then I thought better of it. These are Fruit Bats or Flying foxes, I won’t mention the names given to them by the people who live near their roosts. These bats are without doubt the, noisiest, smelliest creatures you would ever want to have around and yet look at those faces. The roost is at Gatton, in a creek bed behind several houses. The bats look like exploding umbrellas when they come in to land. The bottom picture shows how they just, ‘hang around ‘ all day. They remind me of alien fruits hanging on the branch.

Fruit Bat

This trio in the top section were something of a riot, they were engaged in an inordinate amount of grooming. The male in the centre yawned and then, well decided to groom his nether regions. The female on the right seemed stunned by his, ‘manliness’ and the chap on the left was more interested in scratching. The  bottom picture shows just how cute their faces are,

Fruit Bats

A nice water view at the Cowra Botanical Gardens.

Japanese garden, cowra

The Poinciana trees are out in flower, I adore the colours. There seem to be so many shades of orange. This fine specimen is growing at the Weeping Mothers Memorial in Gatton, Qld. The memorial is dedicated to the fallen in WW1 and 2, Korea and Vietnam. The memorial was erected after WW1 and is there to remind us that mothers grieve over the loss of their children in war.

Weeping Mothers memorial, Gatton.

I took these from the hill that Byron Bay Lighthouse stands on. No, I wasn’t perving on the young lady, she just happened to make more runs at the waves than the other dozen or so surfers. Honest, really.

Surfing

I know, it’s a water-lily, or two. Sometimes you just have to take the picture. At the East Ballina golf club.

Water lillies

The Frangipani in the top left is a, fruit salad type. The main picture is of the first flowers on a Frangipani I planted last year. The roses are all from the rose garden at Cowra.

roses

Sunrise at Ballina from our apartment balcony.

sunrise Ballina.

Playing around with a glass of white wine and a sunset at Ballina.

wine sunset

That’s your lot for this week. I hope you’ve enjoyed the variety and remember, the pictures all look far better when opened in a new tab or window. Maybe not with the fruit bat.  Until next week take care.
Cheers
Laurie.

52 thoughts on “We’re going batty at The Writer’s Room.

    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      They are a delightful creature, except when they live behind your house. Luckily we have none here. These were living in Gatton. I could watch them for hours

      Like

      Reply
      1. laurie27wsmith Post author

        As you can see these are quite big and they don’t have much of a following here. They carry rabies and a few people have died because of them. The sad thing is civilisation has caught up with them. When they take off at sunset the sky’s full of them. Quite a sight indeed.

        Like

  1. Pingback: Ballina: Day 1 | Hannah Dunn Photography

  2. Pingback: Egrets in Dutch winters | Dear Kitty. Some blog

  3. doverwhitecliff

    Your photos are amazing! I love the bats… and the poinciana and frangipani remind me of home…took a sec for me to remember that the rest of the world calls plumeria frangipani…there was a tree outside my window growing up…I miss the fragrance waking me up…along with the ruckus the mynah birds in the poinciana would make every morning. Thank you so much for sharing such beautiful photos!

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thank you, I’m glad I was able to bring back some memories. I love frangipani’s, the perfume is divine. They are flowering madly everywhere at the moment, especially the fruit salad variety.

      Like

      Reply
  4. Eli Pacheco

    Australia has such peculiar animals, mate. I’d never see them if it weren’t for you.

    Speaking of peculiar Australian animals (we were, weren’t we?), didn’t Andre Agassi use the same camera you use?

    And which is better – a wine glass at sunset, or a beer glass at dawn?

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      There certainly are some peculiar animals here Eli, even stranger politicians but we won’t go there. I’m not sure what Agassi used, I do know that I wished I had one like it years ago. Definitely a wine glass at sunset. It speaks of a day well spent, you’re at the end of your labours and have already tasted the fruits of the grape. A beer in the morning reminds me of a urine sample in a glass, indicative of a hard night on the grog. Therefore you would be drinking anything at that time, and perhaps not feeling too well at all. So I’ll stick to photos of wine glasses. *insert large smiley face here.*

      Like

      Reply
  5. Owls and Orchids

    Beautiful post and photos Laurie. I love your perspective, even through a wine glass – the effect is superb. Yes, the bats look adorable but I think about the noise, and the smell and the Hendra virus and I’m afraid they simply lose out.
    If I had your eye and turn of phrase (no, please, I insist you keep them 😉 _) I’d be seriously tempted to do a book….. another one. Seriously! I really enjoy them. Thanks. Susan x

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Susan, look you couldn’t pay me enough to live next to a bat colony with the associated fallout. Yet, there is that sweet face which lends itself to the camera lens. I could always do calendars for xmas presents or something similar. Hmm? I like that wine glass too. There are things to think about here. 🙂
      Cheers
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
  6. hitandrun1964

    THAT WAS SOOOOO WONDERFUL!!!!!! Did I say that loud enough? Seriously amazing. Each picture was perfect. The birds and those cute bats. I didn’t know they had an odor. They are so adorable. Really wonderful post. Can’t say enough good things about it. Your photographs are ready for publication in magazines and I suggest you send them to a nature mag. 🙂 I’m sorry that you lost your pictures. So frustrating:(

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      I HEAR YOU!!!!! Thanks Gigi, for your kind words. I’ve never thought of them as being that good actually. I know they’re okay though. Thanks for sharing the sadness, such beautiful pics of the girls. 😦

      Like

      Reply
  7. rayjamieson

    Great post Laurie. I wish I could share everyone’s enthusiasm for the flying foxes – but I don’t! Sorry, a big smelly bat is a big, smelly bat. I was bombed by one once in Brisbane, left a streak across my shoulder and down my shirt front. If you think they smell in the colony, wait until they leave a calling card on you – enough to clear a bus – at speed!
    Cheers,
    Ray

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      I didn’t think you would be a fan being an old farmer. I guess they serve a purpose other than crapping on our cars and rooves etc. It’s considered lucky to be shat on Ray, 🙂
      Cheers
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
      1. rayj2012

        Lucky, lucky me! I guess I was getting into practice for being shat upon from a great height – become rather accomplished at it in recent years – almost turned it into an art form!

        And after a lot of research, I’m still not sure what other purpose they serve! Like ticks and mosquitos, I think God messed up somewhere, or had some leftover bits to use up on THAT Saturday evening…!

        Like

      2. laurie27wsmith Post author

        Ah, a great sense of humour there Ray. Quite true about the bats, I have no idea what they are here for, they probably help with the pollination of trees. They were quite a feast for the aboriginal tribes of old. Kentucky fried bat, yuck.

        Like

  8. Pagadan

    I am so sorry about the loss of your precious photos! (Similar to how I feel after losing a big chunk of ms. Oh, the wailing and gnashing of teeth… ) But your flowers are beautiful, and the egrets and bats are interesting and fun (great close-ups), but the sunset through the wineglass is a real work of art. Great cover for a wine or dining magazine…

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      It sucks but I’m moving on and I hear you about a manuscript. I’m glad you like my photos Joy, that wine glass is my favourite. The sad thing is I had even better shots of larger glasses amongst the ones I lost. you’re right I think it would make a good cover.
      Cheers
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
  9. bgbowers

    I always look forward to your photos, Laurie. That Egret with the green markings around it’s eyes and slender pink legs is beautiful. I love watching the flying foxes fly over in the evening and listening to them squabble over space in the trees outside.
    The Poincianas are spectacular – they are my favourite trees.
    And, the Byron Bay lighthouse – I love it up there. The view is spectacular.
    Cheers!

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      It’s nice to be appreciated for ones photos. The view was spectacular from the lighthouse, I’ll actually put a pic of the lighthouse up next week. 🙂 I did like that egret, the green is something else.

      Like

      Reply
  10. nataliescarberry

    I’m so sorry you lost a bunch of good shots. I’ve done that too and it is maddening to say the least, but what a great lot of them you have here today. I loved all of them. Thanks for taking me to Australia via your photos. Blessings, Natalie

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Yes they are breaks, right up there with a burnt out smoker or a ruined pork roast. *sighs* I use a Canon Eos Rebel, 600D and take my photos in RAW format. It means a 23megabyte picture but you get the most out of your shot. They can then be changed to a jpeg.

      Like

      Reply
      1. laurie27wsmith Post author

        Thank you, it serves me well now. One day I would like to upgrade. I like to shoot in so many styles now it gives a different perspective. Perhaps I should drink more wine when I take photos?

        Like

  11. Raani York

    OMG – SOOOOOOOOOOO amazing, Laurie. I love the sunsets (of course!) – and the flowers, and the birds – and most of all: the bats… they’re fascinating!!
    (Would I wish I hadn’t met them if I were this close? LOL)
    Thanks for sharing this beautiful art! You’re such a gifted photographer – but I guess I’ve mentioned that before, haven’t I?:-)

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Hmm, is it because the sunset is through a wine glass???
      I thought you might like the bats, look they have delightful faces, and you ought to see the little babies but they aren’t universally loved. They don’t hurt you, however if you were a ripe mango I’d watch out.
      You have mentioned my talent before Raani but please, don’t let me stop you. 🙂

      Like

      Reply

Tell me what you think.

