There’s a fight on at The Writer’s Room.

I took these photos on Monday morning, well actually I took 72 photos. These are the best of the bunch. We were having breakfast and my wife Lorelle looked out the window and called out, “Leave the poor thing alone, she’s only little.” I’m used to these indignant outbursts on behalf of the local female kangaroo population. “Leave them be,” I said through a mouthful of eggs and beans, “that’s how life is with those randy old Roos.” –  “Oh, now they’re fighting.” My camera, with 500mm lens attached sat on the table, dropping my knife and fork I picked it up. Still munching I went outside and there they were, two large male kangaroos facing up to each other. Bear in mind this action is taking place about 50 metres from the front of the house. So let’s follow this exhibition of WWRW, that’s World Wide Roo Wrestling with a full commentary by Wal Wallaby, our rooving reporter.

Wallaby.

‘G’day viewers, *wink* and ladies, it’s Wal Wallaby here making his journalistic comeback. We’re here today at ringside to watch another stoush between the local chump champ, Spotty and some idiot who thinks he can steal the ladies’ attentions. You’ll see the champ further in the fight, (pic 5) with the black spot on his back. He’s been a regular here at WWRW for a few years and is known as a dirty bastard fighter. Like most fights they start off with a little pushing and shoving. This way they can test each others strength and prowess.’

fighting kangaroos

‘They employ these neck straining techniques to keep out of the way of those claws. Yes sir, they’d rip you a new one.’

pageb

‘Oh, this is terrible the champ is not going to like this, the contender is going for the ear pull. He’s only just moved into the area and hasn’t heard about Spotty’s reputation.’

pagee

‘It’s getting worse the contender is now going for the ‘nipple gripple’ hmm, we males don’t have nipples. Well if we did that’s what would be happening.

paged

‘WHAT A RIGHT UPPERCUT! The champ has had enough and he’s making a comeback, can the contender recover from this punishment?’

pagei

‘OH NO! The contender has turned the tables, he’s grabbed Spotty’s ear and he’s going for the back breaker. I can’t watch this.’

pageg

WAIT FOR IT, YES, YES! Spotty has made a comeback, his famous headlock with a nasal cleanout, we haven’t seen that one in ages. Oh I feel for the contender viewers, it’s bad enough picking your own nose with claws like that.

pagej

YES! The champ is giving his all now, that time he spent in a Japanese zoo wasn’t wasted. Now he’s bringing his new found talents in the art of KUNG ROO to the fore. Oh this is beautiful to see, the old hip throw indeed.’

kangaroo

OMG! NO SPOTTY NO! Let him up, where’s the referee? Oh we don’t have one, no Spotty this is going beyond the pale.’

kangaroos

‘WHAT! THE CONTENDER KNOWS KUNG ROO? Oh this is terrible viewers, look at his style. I’ve seen this manoeuvre before, it’s the *rigid tail, I’m bigger than you and going to kick the crap out of you play.* Spotty isn’t giving up, look at his demeanour. His tail is bent underneath him, seconds off flexing and propelling him upwards to meet this new threat. Look at his face viewers, he’s confident.’

Kung Fu Roos

‘WHAT THE…..! Who stopped the transmission. We’re what, going to a commercial break? Because it’s too violent? Sorry viewers we may not know how this fight ends but the butterfly on the test pattern is beautiful.’

butterfly

There we have it for another week, a little bit of silliness for your viewing entertainment. The fight was indeed something to see. The grunting, hissing and the noises when they kicked each other, unbelievable. FYI, spotty won and after a lot of dancing around and kicking the contender hobbled away. Yes they can hurt each other badly at times. I took most of the pictures while hiding behind a hedge in the yard. I’m not stupid, these male roos will turn on you if they think you’re a threat. Until next time,
Cheers
Laurie.

44 thoughts on “There’s a fight on at The Writer’s Room.

  1. Pingback: More stuff happening at The Writer’s Room. | laurie27wsmith

  2. Pingback: Not a lot from The Writer’s Room. | laurie27wsmith

    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      I may have mentioned in a comment that Spotty won on the day. He drove the other roo off, where it sulked and moped around the place. 😦 That is a nice butterfly, there it was fluttering around.

      Like

      Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Larry, they do give a different perspective than happy zoo shots of tame kangaroos. I’m glad your child enjoyed them, it takes a lot to impress a 7 year old. Battle it was, Spotty brought the mean out for sure.

      Like

      Reply
  3. lifechange90

    Hey Laurie, takes me waaaay back!
    I took a big roo (6 feet tall) for dogmeat one day years ago on the farm. About 200 metres away in the bush, so I left the rifle in the ute and went to get the dogmeat portions. I walked all the way across, armed only with a skinning knife, and had begun the task, when I felt like I was being watched… That crawly feeling….

    I looked around and about 20 feet away was a huge grey roo, around 7 feet tall on his haunches. Hadn’t moved a muscle since I shot his mate, and I hadn’t seen him! Very much like a tall broken off tree stump… He just sat there watching me.

    Knowing how very dangerous they can be, I just sat down and waited. Not much else I could do – couldn’t fight it, couldn’t run from it, best defense is to get down low so they can’t get hold of you and ‘tear you a new one’… After a while, he casually hopped away…

    Taught me to be a little less casual next time….

    Thanks for the memories.
    Ray

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      You’re welcome Ray. They can get big and dangerous, you were lucky. The big fella might have thought you’d done him a favour by cutting down the competition. I might add here for my overseas readers that kangaroos are definitely not an endangered species. Even in suburban Canberra they are a major hazard for themselves and motorists. My brother has a big red that visits and lays on his front lawn. The neighbourhood dogs keep well away.

      Like

      Reply
      1. lifechange90

        You are right about the numbers Laurie, they are in plague proportions throughout Australia, multi millions of them! Since the agricultural revolution swept through Australia over the last 200 years, the roo population has multiplied many times over. Water provided for the domestic livestock has enabled the roos to breed prolifically. They are a ‘perennial’ breeder – as soon as there is water about, rain or other water, the female will get pregnant, she can be nursing a half grown Joey, have one attached inside the pouch, and be pregnant at the same time, and if the water dries up, the gestation goes on hold until it rains again or water appears, then it restarts from where it was. Incredible breeders with this feature and they can double a population it seems overnight!

        The greenies that cry out to save the kangaroos have absolutely no idea what they are talking about. Their strategies will see the roo numbers explode when it rains or around farm dams, then starve by the millions in the dry season each year…. When the joeys leave the pouch, Momma can’t feed them grass, she can only feed the little ones suckling, and the rest starve, and probably starve her also…

        Too successful for their own good!

        Like

      2. laurie27wsmith Post author

        So true Ray. They have thrived on extra water and agriculture and their numbers have exploded. They were never meant to be in suburban yards neither. Extremely good breeders, they move on all the time and work their territory. That’s why I recognised Spotty, you tend to see old faces after a while. We don’t put food out for them, there’s enough grass. We don’t have a dog so they come close to the house. If I were a grain farmer it would be different. I actually enjoy watching them interact, especially the mums and joeys.
        This save them all at all costs is unrealistic, as you said they’ll die of starvation in the dry. The most I’ve seen on our block is 189 on 40 acres. I find it fascinating about the females holding off on gestation, I read about it years ago and often wondered at the implications in humans. ‘I’m preggers dear.’ – ‘Can you hold it off until next year when I go up a pay grade?’ Food for thought. Thanks for dropping by .
        Laurie.

        Like

    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Gigi, no I’m fine thanks. Oops, the Roos I can only imagine they’ll both be hurting for a few days. It’s a common sight with them although they don’t usually fight for as long as this pair did. I’ve seen one that badly beaten he couldn’t move for a day, just laid under the big tree until dark. he was quite old though and looked to be affected by ticks. It’s a rough world in the wild.

      Like

      Reply
  4. Raani York

    So fantastic, this post, Laurie!! The pictures are extraordinary! I LOVE the fight, and you’re really telling a story with the “subtitles”, don’t you?? So great!!!:-)

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Raani, they’re pretty good. I grabbed the camera and fired away. I like throwing in a few words to roll it along, gives people a laugh too. Thanks so much for dropping in.
      Cheers
      Laurie 🙂

      Like

      Reply
      1. laurie27wsmith Post author

        Thanks Raani, I appreciate your offer of the award. As you can see there aren’t any on my site. I will however accept the love, kindness and thoughtfulness in which it was offered.
        Laurie.

        Like

      2. Raani York

        I know you don’t show them on your blog. But I’m happy you do accept them. Thanks for that! And I really love giving them to your blog! 🙂

        Like

Tell me what you think.

