Scenes, colour and Roos at The Writer’s Room.

We are starting off with a sunset converted into an oil painting, I think it adds a little something to the whole photographic experience, I snapped the sunset yesterday evening. The dark clouds on the left look foreboding as they reach out towards the tree.
Sunset in oils

These three pictures were taken over 30 minutes yesterday evening. Different ISO settings for the first two make a world of difference. I like the first one with its huge curtain of rain coming from the left over a sepia landscape. None of these have been altered.

sunset views

This photo is from a series I shot early last month and what a cracker it is. I had the aperture set to stay open for six seconds. The strike on the left came first, then the big one hit. ‘Righty oh Laurie,’ I said, ‘it’s time to pack up and go inside.’ This hasn’t been lightened, the strike lit the front yard up from, I can’t see a darn thing, to ouch that’s bright.

lightning

Looking back over to the mainland from behind the Lighthouse at Byron Bay, NSW.

Byron Bay

In last weeks blog I had a picture from the Japanese gardens at Cowra, looking up the hill. This is from the top of the hill looking down.

Japanese gardens

When we were visiting Ballina, in NSW the one thing I wanted was a picture of a dolphin. All I could get were distant shots of them leaping around the place and none of them were great. I spent half an hour at the sea wall in town watching an elusive pod barely breaking the surface, at some distance. I had the telephoto lens on but I couldn’t catch them. Feeling a tad dispirited I turned to walk away and this young fellow swam up along the wall, about 3 metres from me. I had to back pedal so I could get him in the frame. It appears a shark may have had a go at his dorsal fin. If you look closely you’ll also see scratches and bite marks on him.

dolphin

I wandered from the bedroom the other morning, grabbed my camera and stuck my head out of the door. There she was, a lovely young mum with her baby, who looks like he had a good nights sleep. The golden cane palms in the background make for a nice backdrop and give the wallaby a 3D effect.

wallaby

These cheeky blighter’s are Apostle birds. They seem to get around in noisy groups. They are also shameless camera hogs. As soon as they saw me they flew onto the branch, I had my happy- chappie-snappy time and when I turned away they left.

Apostle birds

This young lady appears to have had a lump of ear bitten off, she’s still a cutie though. For those who may be new to this blog, the sunset, lightning and wallaby pics are all taken from my front lawn.

wallaby

Finally another piece of artwork. A bee on an orange rose at Cowra, NSW.

bee on rose

Well that’s your lot for this week. I must emphasise that the pictures will look much better if you open them in a new tab or window. I hope you’ve enjoyed the show and I look forward to seeing you all again next week.
Cheers
Laurie.

32 thoughts on “Scenes, colour and Roos at The Writer’s Room.

  1. Pingback: Awesome Blog Content award | Nia Simone, Author

  2. kelihasablog

    I always love your pictures Laurie! Your colors are so vibrant and subjects so interesting, things that I find amazing to catch… like the lightening, the little girl with the pitiful little ear and all the sunsets. I love the one showing the rain moving across too!😀

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thank you Keli, I love vibrant colour and sepia even B and W. They all tell a story. I was so excited when I took the lightning pics, little happy dances. That wallaby is cute, I’ve seen a few with missing ears. That rain looks like a sepia cloak. Thanks for taking the time to drop in.
      🙂
      Cheers
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
  3. WordsFallFromMyEyes

    Laurie, these are BEAUTIFUL. The photos are beautiful. Truly heavenly.

    I didn’t notice the ear bitten off until you pointed it out. She’s so delicate though, isn’t she. So lovely.

    Did you do that bee artwork? That’s fantastic!

    Choice post, Laurie.

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Noeleen, I appreciate that. You didn’t notice the ear because her face was so captivating. With the bee I used a picture I’d taken, sharpened it up and added the pen colour art with my editing program. It gives a different perspective.

      Like

      Reply
  4. patgarcia

    Hi Bro,
    I love your photography. It is extremely beautiful and you have an unusual eye for catching the obvious and bringing out its beauty. I especially enjoyed the one with the cutie Kangaroo with the ear that seems bitten off. She is really a cutie, and your picture of the beautiful blue sky and the blue water made me homesick for Georgia.

    Great Job.

    Shalom,
    Patti

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Sis, I think photography can become art and I try to bring the best out of the pictures I take. Yes she is cute, even minus half an ear she has a certain beauty about her. I’m glad that I’ve brought up some nice memories for you, thanks Sis.
      Love
      Bro.

      Like

      Reply
  5. lifechange90

    Great photos Laurie! You mentioned the lightning struck a mile away – I’ve seen it hit a large ironbark tree close by and destroy it – blasting pieces of timber as big as a person over 200 metres away in a great big curving arc, then bury them halfway into the ground, they landed so hard! I know some people have been struck by lightning and survived, but I guess that was a different kind of strike! Chuckle… A mile away is good – close enough to see and far enough away to not blow a fuse in the pacemaker or hearing aid!

    LOVE the dolphin shot! And yes, looks like he was almost a meal for a shark… Once they get that close to the business end of a shark, they mostly take the inside route to the other end of the shark… Lucky little blighter!

    Cheers,
    Ray

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Ray, yes the old lightning is a wonderful thing to behold. The damage they do can be astounding. The reason I went inside once it reached there is, I’ve been struck three times by it and once while on a tractor and had an interaction with ball lightning. First one when I was 15 and worked at the woollen mills. I had helped the boss move a roll of fabric from the weaving room across the way to the washing room. On the way back a bolt of lightning hit the transformer outside the weaving room, ran down the pole hit us and threw the pair of us through the door to land numb and scorched on the floor. No 2, in the army on my radio course. We were in an old WW2 hut at Puckapunyal, tuning in our radios. They were an old Brit variety and had to have the antenna tuned into the radio frequency at the same time. The sarge called out, morning tea, everyone bolted except me. A bolt of lightning hit the main antenna outside, naturally I was the earth. It came through the radio into my fingers and out through my skull above the right eyebrow. My eyebrow was smoking and I had black holes in the ends of all my fingers. Still in the army, myself and few other blokes were sat in the old barracks hut watching telly and a huge ball of lightning came through the open window and hovered over my head for about 20 seconds. Then whooshka, straight out the door, across the road and ricocheted off the huge redgums growing there. Everywhere it hit branches exploded.
      The tractor on the ex in-laws cattle property. We had slaughtered a bullock and I drove the tractor up to the dump about a mile away from the house with the guts etc on the carryall. On the way back crackle boom. Lightning struck the bonnet, I checked my undies after that one. The last one was when I worked in the police at Fortitude Valley. We had a transformer on four poles outside the front of the station. I worked the front counter and sat at the desk working at the computer console. You guessed it, lightning struck the transformer and came out through the computer monitor. Striking me in the centre of the chest it flung me and my chair back through into the senior sergeants office, and deposited me on his desk. He’d been reading the sunday paper and got up me for ginning around. So yes, a mile away was close enough.
      The dolphin was a beauty, I also had a thought that maybe he could have fallen foul of an outboard motor.
      Cheers
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
      1. lifechange90

        They say lightning never strikes twice in the same place. So just for the heck of it, you second guessed where it was going to hit and went there, time after time! You’re a worry Laurie – you’d think you’d learn after the first, even the second….! But THAT MANY TIMES? I think you musta bin enjoying it a bit…

        Ask me about the hunter chasing the Kodiak Grizzly Bear sometime….!

        Same thing… Chuckle…

        Like

      2. laurie27wsmith Post author

        I thought I may have turned into a conductor Ray and not one selling tickets.🙂 Perhaps I may have pissed some thunder god of old off, I don’t know. Enjoying it? I love having parts of my body frizzled.🙂 Grizzly eh?

        Like

  6. Nia Simone

    Wow, I really love that bee. That is a beautiful painting. I like the first one too, very dramatic. The storm is amazing. You really know what you are doing. Thanks for mentioning what you did to make the photos. And thanks for sharing the dramatic landscape of Australia.

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Nia, some days it’s hard to decide on what to put up.
      You can’t go wrong with dramatic scenery. I like to play with the light settings, it adds a new dimension to a picture. I might have to look back in my Flinders Ranges shots. hmm.

      Like

      Reply
  7. Pagadan

    The sunset/oil painting is a fantastic beginning! Love it. The storm trio and lightning shots are awe-inspiring; the wallaby with the golden background is beautiful; and the Japanese garden photo looks like a painting.

    Like

    Reply
  8. Raani York

    I LOVE the bee and the birds, Laurie – and of course the dolphin!!!🙂
    Thanks for sharing these beautiful pictures – you are so gifted!!!

    Like

    Reply

Tell me what you think.

