Merry Christmas from The Writer’s Room.

Here we go, a Merry Christmas from the gang down under. I’m a little late today we’ve been busy with all the visitors bringing gifts in their Santa hats. Of course they hang around and sing carols, like: We wish Roo a Merry Christmas – Deck the pouch but not with Holly – God rest ye merry Wallabies. The list goes on, then they bring out the eggnog with brandy, whack each other with their candy canes and fight over the presents. Some tender young Roo sticks mistletoe on her head and the party really begins.

Merry Christmas

A pond in the Canberra botanical gardens converted into a watercolour.

page7

Roses at Cowra.

roses

An everyday seascape at Ballina turned into a watercolour.

seagull

Pelican at Ballina yacht club.

pelican

Another pic of the fighting roos from a couple of weeks ago. Or they could be left over from the Christmas visitors.

fighting roos

There are two ways of commenting on the next two pictures, giving birth which is what really happened and a skewed account by yours truly. The wallaby sat in the front yard (yes the grass is long, I’m cutting it tomorrow, right?) for a few minutes licking the fur from the lip of her pouch, to down underneath her tail. The babies are about an inch long and hairless, once out of the womb they crawl up the fur where Mum has licked and into the pouch. Once there they latch onto the nipple and stay attached for a while. I’ve never seen a Wallaby, or Kangaroo mum stick her head down into her pouch until the other day. I believe she’s making sure the baby is okay. Now for my version: left to right and down. Mum – ‘Janet, where are you, are you hiding again?’ Janet – ‘I’m right here beside you Mum.’ Mum sticking head way down in pouch – ‘Where, I can’t see you in here?’ Janet grabbing Mum’s ear – ‘Yoo hoo, I’m here.’

wallaby

I know they’re cute. Now Janet knows she’ll never be able to get a drink from mum again.

wallaby

Looking south from the side of the house at a departing storm.

sky

Decorate this! At the botanical gardens in Canberra, not every tree grows straight and tall.

gum tree

That’s the lot for this week. So no matter what you are celebrating next week I hope you all have a safe and happy time.
Cheers
Laurie.

49 thoughts on “Merry Christmas from The Writer’s Room.

  1. Patrons of the Pit

    Merry Christmas, Laurie. I’ve much enjoyed connecting with you over the last year in the great blogosphere. Thanks for all your time and efforts. Much enjoyed. You’re one of the good guys!

    Take care,
    -Potp

    Like

    Reply
  2. Raani York

    What an amazing and beautiful collection of pictures again, Laurie! I’m stunned!
    I love the one with the sunrise, I have to admit. It’s just breathtaking!! 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  3. Jane Risdon

    Happy Christmas and Happy New Year Laurie and all your readers and followers. Loved your photos and this piece so much. Thanks for sharing. I hope you have a heathier and happy 2014. Jane x

    Like

    Reply
  4. Patricia Salamone

    Hi Fratello, I am trying to catch up. It has been rough since my oldest sister had a massive stroke just before Thanksgiving. Your posts lift my spirit and the photo’s you post are so beautiful. It takes my weary mind to a better place. Keep up the good work. :o)

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      This is sad Sorella, I hope she is recovering. I’m glad that my posts are going a little way to helping you. There’s nothing like a nice picture to lift your spirits. Don’t wear yourself out. Your Fratello.

      Like

      Reply
  5. nataliescarberry

    Great photos, humorous commentary, informative commentary, and well wishes!!! What more could one want. I know this is not your favorite time of year, Laurie, but I pray that this year it is filled with amazing blessings for you. Be safe and enjoy your lovely land. Natalie 🙂

    Like

    Reply
      1. nataliescarberry

        And I do so love potpourri, especially the fragrance of yours, Laurie! My prayer for you is a surprise Christmas blessing! Something you wouldn’t expect that makes the season bright for you! Blessings, Natalie 🙂

        Like

  6. hitandrun1964

    What a great post…beautiful, fun and a new wee baby. Who could ask for more? Peace, my friend. The chickens and chicklets send their love and hope that you will write something for them soon;) Hope your holiday is a nice one. You live in a place that is incredibly beautiful and I’m so happy that you share that beauty with all of us. Thank you. Happy, happy on you.

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Gigi, who doesn’t love wee babies? I feel your chooks getting closer there will be poetry. 🙂 We’ll make the best of Christmas, who couldn’t living here? I hope you thaw out Gigi and have a great Christmas.
      Cheers
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
  7. Pagadan

    I especially love the water colors, the departing storm (I love clouds), AND the Christmas photo, which I shared with some people. Thank you! And may you, your crew, and your roos have a Merry Christmas!!

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Hi Joy, I’m glad you like the water colours. They are such fun to play with. yeah the Christmas photo is great. I reckon they were only after eggnog. 🙂 I usually only look out to the west for my cloud pics but that one caught my eye. It draws you right in. Merry Christmas Joy.

      Like

      Reply
  8. doverwhitecliff

    Sir, as always your photos are amazing, but you are a very dangerous man… I will now be inflicting my cubicle mates with many a chorus of God rest ye merry wallabies and we wish roo a merry Christmas… they’ll never know what hit them. I hope you have an amazing, awesome, and wonderful holiday! Cheers!

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thank you for such warm greetings. Ahh, the dreaded ear worm. Spread the new carols far and wide good man, go door to door with them too. Merry Christmas to you and yours.
      Cheers
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      They are a marvellous creature, it’s one in the womb, one in the pouch and one at foot. If they’re pregnant and the weather gets dry, the foetus will stop developing until the rains come.
      All the best to you and yours for Christmas and the new year.

      Like

      Reply
  9. Mary Strong-Spaid

    Merry Christmas, Laurie…from “Up Over” in the U.S. !
    You mention the wallaby and the kangaroo in your writing above.
    I never heard of a wallaby, So l just looked it up and it says that the wallaby is simply a smaller version of the kangaroo. Is that the only difference?

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      ,Hi Mary, basically yes. They are smaller, some live amongst rocks others are coloured differently. They’re macropods but a different size. Like ponies and horses I guess.

      Like

      Reply

Tell me what you think.

