Midweek Poetry. A Grandad’s Letter to Santa.

page

A Grandad’s Letter to Santa.

It’s been a long while Santa,
since I last wrote to you.
I would have been a little bloke,
with not much else to do.
I wrote to you religiously, well
what else can I say.
That you must have been too busy,
to drop in on Xmas Day.

I’d run down to the fireplace,
to see what I could see.
Then like every other time,
there wasn’t much for me.
Now, I don’t want you to feel guilty,
or even a little sad.
The years have flown by quickly,
and now I’m an old grandad.

There’s nothing you can deliver,
I think I’ve got it all.
The years since then have shown me,
the writing on the wall.
It’s not all about the presents, food
or an evergreen tree.
It’s about what life and people,
have really given to me.
So, this letter is for the things I want,
for my grandkids across the sea.

When you leave your sack of presents,
in their lounge room warm and snug.
Can you leave them both the essence
of their grandad’s loving hug.
I know they’ll have a truckload,
of toys and food and things.
But not the love and happiness,
that a grandad’s presence brings.

So I wonder if amongst the joy, of their
snowy Xmas Day.
That you can leave my little gift,
to see them on life’s way.
Please Santa, can you tell them,
though I’m way across the sea.
That their grandad misses them dearly,
and the love…
Well it comes from me.
Laurie Smith©2013

65 thoughts on “Midweek Poetry. A Grandad’s Letter to Santa.

  1. thisisnotbangkok

    This is a phenomenal poem, written straight from the heart. Yes, it is nostalgic and talks about all the important things in life–the intangible things that so many of us take for granted–versus the material, fleeting things. However, for me, this poem’s power comes from the pain of a writer who truly misses what matters most in his life. A simply great post Laurie. Your postings are sparse, but always grand.

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks again Michael. I think that piece has been building up inside me for quite awhile. At the end of the day if you don’t have the love and companionship of people, then the material will never make you happy. Thanks so much for commenting.
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
      1. thisisnotbangkok

        Very well said. I do agree. I suppose I can see where it was waiting to come out, so to speak. It built up to a beautiful and powerful close. As for commenting, you will always get one, for all of the support and feedback you have given me with my blog…..

        Like

      2. laurie27wsmith Post author

        Thank you Michael, it will be a little while before I get another one like that out.🙂 Also a big thank you for your support this year, I value our friendship.
        Cheers
        Laurie.

        Like

      3. thisisnotbangkok

        Same here. I’m glad we found each other on WordPress. We make a great team, even though we are a half a world apart…have a great New Year’s. I should be posting another epic photo soon🙂

        Like

      4. thisisnotbangkok

        I appreciate the optimism. Now All I need is an epic camera…..I am actually working on a new photographic process that I really like and that I believe would be very sell-able. I have not dared put them here though. I can email you a few if you’d like. But I would need your brutal honesty of what you think. So far everyone I have showed them to has liked them. But none are photographers or critics.

        Like

      5. thisisnotbangkok

        Ok great. I appreciate it. Give me at least a week to select a few good ones and send them off. And if I forgot to wish you a Happy New Year, then Happy New Year. By this time, you have probably had yours. It is early Tues morning here…..

        Like

  2. Theresa

    Laurie – we seem to tear up through most of each others’ posts, don’t we? Teen-agers have a mind of their own, and often times, when, as children, they’re held from seeing a relative, when they’re old enough, they’ll make their own decisions to get in touch. That is my wish for 2014 for you – that your family becomes one again, and that the past is forgiven and the future one of hope and love. Always love…

    Like

    Reply
  3. oldmainer

    You send your love, but you cannot hide your hurt. Ten years is a long time to be estranged. I know it won’t make up for things, but as far as hugs go, you can have one of mine. Merry Christmas my friend.

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Bob I gladly accept all the hugs you can send. It may not change much but it shows friendship and solidarity. It took me about ten read outs before I could do it without crying. A big Merry Christmas to you and yours Bob. Thank you again.
      Cheers
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
      1. kcg1974

        I gave my father a beautiful, printed copy of my post, “The Gift of My Father,” today. It was matted and framed, a surprise for sure. I read it to him, bearly able to get through. He wiped a tear or two away. The very best gift I ever gave to him, Laurie. He”ll cherish it forever. I told him it was “my friend’s suggestion.” Thank you is not enough to say…..many blessings to you.

        Like

      2. laurie27wsmith Post author

        That would have been a nice gift to give him Kim. People know it’s from the heart. I feel quite chuffed that you took some inspiration from me. Thank you. I read my poem out to the neighbours today and managed not to cry for the first time.🙂

        Like

      3. kcg1974

        I don’t know how you could, Laurie. Again, I replied. when I first read your post, but sometimes my phone message to you “get lost in space.” Your words in that post brought tears to my eyes. I don’t know how you wrote them let alone read them aloud. I enjoy your writing, Laurie, and loved your post that day At the same time, my heart breaks for how you miss your loved ones so. Will you be with them again one day? Did you call on Christmas Day? I do hope you have some peace and happiness during the holidays……….:)

        Like

      4. kcg1974

        I don’t know how you got through. Your warm heart and kind soul must have been there to help guide you. One day you will be reunited with the loved ones who are missing you more than you know.

        Like

  4. Patricia Salamone

    Fratello, that is one of the most beautiful poems I have ever read. I am sure Santa delivered that gift to your grandchildren. You have been blessed. Merry Christmas, I send you and your family the gift of joy and love from our family.
    Sorella :o)

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thank you Sorella, that makes me feel good. I certainly hope he did. I would hate to think that they don’t think of me, or even worse they’ve been told I’m dead. I found out the other day that their mother died early this year. They’re young teens now and I would say they’re living with their Aunt. It’s all very sad. Anyway thanks for your Christmas wishes from you and yours. Hope you’re having a great day and that your granddaughter has learned to wash the dishes.
      Cheers
      Fratello.

      Like

      Reply
  5. hitandrun1964

    Why don’t you go there? Why? Do you call them? Write? What?????? Get tickets and let the Kangaroos take care of the yard while you’re gone. Where do they live? Go…now we all want you to see them before they are forty:0 Oh Laurie, I can’t imagine how ten years went by without a visit. I hope you feel okay. Much love and many hugs…hope you really do go. Merry, Merry, Merry, my friend. And jingle, jingle as well. Oh, the chicklets send their love and are hoping to hear a poem from you in the New Year. Peace, my friend.

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Hi Gigi. Not that simple. Their parents divorced in early 2004 and addresses, phone numbers, emails were changed. In late 2004 she contacted me wanting money because the children needed clothing. I sent what she asked for and she said if I wanted to keep in touch I would have to keep sending money. A thousand dollars a time is a lot. They live in Canada. Now the sad thing is their mother died in January. I only found out the other day while writing the poem. Lorelle decided to see if she could find an address and found an ‘In Memorium’ instead. I’ve placed a remembrance on the site along with a picture taken of myself and their mother on that xmas. I also contacted a friend of hers who left their email addy on the site. So here’s hoping. Hope you and the chickens are having a good Christmas.
      Cheers
      Laurie. xx

      Like

      Reply
      1. hitandrun1964

        Ah, I understand completely. When our son died, the first thing his ex did was say we couldn’t see our grandson again. We were sitting our greedy lawyer’s office when she called. It was two days after he died but she was on us immediately and instead of dealing with his death we had to go to a lawyer. We found out that she had been calling the hospital EVERY SINGLE NIGHT, to find out if he was still alive so that she could attack. We had given explicated orders to the nurses NOT to do that, but they did it anyway. After she got some money she relented. It took almost seven months but then we got to see him again. That was years ago but…awful and it’s always about money.

        Like

      2. laurie27wsmith Post author

        Ah, that is so sad Gigi. People who put a price on love have an awful lot to learn when they use children as pawns. Time is always a great healer, the trouble is it can take an awful lot of time.😦

        Like

  6. Pagadan

    Sweet and full of love. I think children who have loving grandparents are very fortunate. Do you write them? Kids–and other people–love to get letters addressed to them personally; and I add clippings from the paper or bookmarks, etc. to the envelopes.

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks David, I have the same hope. I have my wife’s grandchildren to fill the gap and we had Christmas day with two of them. They give me a lot of love. Hope your day was great.
      Cheers
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
  7. nataliescarberry

    Oh man, you should have started this by telling us to grab a box of kleenex first. What a lovely bittersweet poem, Laurie. Even if they don’t see you often, I pray your grandkids know or come to know what a sweet and loving heart you have. And I pray that Yeshua, the Christ, enter their world and let them know upon whose shoulders they stand, yours and His. Merry Christmas, my friend. Love comes your way from across the sea in Texas. Let us prepare Him room in our hearts! Natalie 🙂

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      I should have, I shed enough tears writing it. They haven’t seen me since Christmas 2003. So they’re teenagers now. Sad. Thanks for your kind thoughts and wishes Natalie.
      Cheers
      Laurie.🙂

      Like

      Reply
      1. lifechange90

        We are having the same challenges now too, Laurie. Kids… They grow up and make lives of their own – I guess you can’t blame them because we did too, but we still kept in touch… It seems different nowadays. Different values put on home and family…

        Best wishes to you both Laurie, I hope Christmas and the coming year are the best yet! Thanks for your friendship and blogging over the year, you have contributed much and the world needs more Grandads who care like you!

        Cheers,

        Ray

        Like

      2. laurie27wsmith Post author

        Thanks Ray, I have no trouble with my son making his own life. It’s the fallout from a broken marriage that brought this about. He hasn’t been in their lives at all since 2004 and no longer lives in Canada.
        Thanks for the Christmas wishes Ray and the lovely compliment I hope you and Susan had a great day.
        Cheers
        Laurie.

        Like

Tell me what you think.

