This and That from The Writer’s Room.

I hadn’t set anything up for this week’s post so I flicked through my collection and looked for the odd and unusual. Now this isn’t unusual only a sunset but what a glorious riot of colour. Taken on Boxing Day.

sunset

Quite the opposite here with a cooling serene moon set. Taken early winter this year.

moon set.

I have mentioned in earlier posts about our solar shed. Well, here it is. This supplies all of our electrical needs. On a good day it puts out 9kwh. I took this about three years ago when I was still a dab hand in the garden. The hedge behind is now 10 feet tall.

solar shed

This was taken in 2007. We had about 50 cubic metres of road base dumped on the house pad. It gives a good solid base for driving into the garage. After spreading it with the tractor and tilling it in, I spent two days with a vibrating roller. The picture only shows about a fifth of the area.

roller

Now for something completely different. This was taken in a tiny restaurant in the town of Silverton, far west New South Wales. The town is basically a ghost town with a pub and several sandstone structures still standing. The bottles are part of a huge treasure trove of ‘stuff’ dug out of the town’s rubbish tip. When the silver ran out the mines at Broken Hill opened up.

old bottles

A strange fountain in my Doctor’s gardens, taken on the open day a few months ago.

fountain

Trying out my new portrait lens on a friends cats on Xmas day. I took the pic of the table with it and focused on the glass chocolate jar. Everything else goes a little out of focus and makes the jar stand out.

cats

The sheer joy is evident on this young lad’s face as he takes the plunge. I had a boom fitted to the front of the tractor and rigged up as a diving board.

enjoyment

I took this at a small petting zoo. The rabbits are rehydrating because? Yes! Easter is coming soon. I thought I would just remind you all, let’s face it come the first of January the eggs will be in the shops. They are cute though.

rabbits

Hmmmm! Okay even I don’t know what to make of this. It stands in the natural history section of the Sydney museum. It could be Father Time riding out of the old year and into the new. Or a case of extreme dieting, or perhaps I ran out of time and shoved it on here.

skeletons

Well folks, that’s the lot for this year. As usual they will look better opened in a new tab or window. I wish you all the very best for 2014 and hope that the year brings you health and happiness.
Cheers
Laurie.

29 thoughts on “This and That from The Writer’s Room.

  1. suzjones

    I love your view. Very lucky man! We have a great view from our driveway and from the pool but can’t see much but the neighbours from our windows in the house.;(
    Love the bottles in Silverton. I was there a lifetime ago and would love to go again and this time take my Tween.

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks for dropping in Suz, yes it’s a wonderful view. We have neighbours but they are 500 metres away on each side and hidden by many trees. I must do a photo shoot from up behind the house. Been to Silverton? You’re the only other person I know who’s been there. It’s a wild, sparse place.

      Like

      Reply
      1. suzjones

        I remember an art gallery there with an old VW outside painted with vegemite! It could only happen in Australia.
        We’d love to live on a property at some stage but right now with the Tween it is easier to stay in town. She goes to high school in the New Year and that is just at the end of our street so we won’t be moving for at least another 6 years or so.😉 We still head out of town a lot to get our rural fix though😉

        Like

      2. laurie27wsmith Post author

        Then there was Mad Max’s car parked out front of the pub. You have to get that rural fix now and then Suz, I hope the Tween appreciates your sacrifice.:-)

        Like

  2. thisisnotbangkok

    Each shot and text could have been its own wonderful, stand-alone post. I love the Silverton shot: the beautiful, modernistic colorful bottles set against the harsh desert sun. A great set Laurie.

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thank you Michael, coming from a photographer like yourself it’s a great compliment. You’d love the photo opportunities out there, the desert is so rich in colour. The bottles make a great subject.

      Like

      Reply
  3. Anja

    Absolutely enjoyed the photos!!! I love going to antique and thrift stores looking for beautiful colored bottles. Light reflects wonderfully off of them.

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thank you Anja. It’s amazing what you can dig up around the place, both out of the ground and in antique shops. Some bottles change colour from the minerals in the ground.

      Like

      Reply
  4. Pagadan

    What a lovely and fun collection of photos. I love the sunset and the bottles, and I admire your driveway. (I’ve worked with different driveways over the years, and yours looks good! Uh, any weeds coming up through cracks yet?) I like the way the cats are studying you, and the last picture is so much fun!

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Joy, yeah the driveway’s been down for a few years now. I let the grass grow over it, keeps it all together.🙂 Yeah the cats give you ‘that’ look. Nothing like a skeleton to get things going. Did you notice the cat and mouse on the floor?

      Like

      Reply
      1. Pagadan

        I know about grass on driveways; I’ve used a lot of Round-up on our driveways. Uh, where should I be looking for the cat and mouse on the floor?

        Like

  5. nataliescarberry

    First as always I loved the photo journey. Secondly I see we may have been fibbing just a tad about the “black thumb” cause your yard looked pretty darn nice to me. Best and last, I wish you a splendiferous 2014, Laurie. May the Lord bless you and keep you safe. Natalie 🙂

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Natalie, maybe fibbing a little it just seems that the last two years haven’t been my most productive in the garden. When I put my mind to it, well I get good results.🙂 Thanks so much for your lovely wishes.
      Cheers
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
  6. hitandrun1964

    I am always so amazed at how beautiful it is where you live. It’s so impossible to believe that anyplace can be that fantastic. Oh, the chickens (the hens actually) wanted me to tell you that they think you’re really cute in your shorts and all. Hey, hey, I’m just the messenger. The bunnies are so adorable. Your shed is great. I know it’s not really true, but we seem to get 6 hours of sun a year so I don’t think it would work in my yard. Blah. Bad day…but I digress. Please tell your friend that the cats are beautiful. I love the picture with the bottles in the window. My mom always did that and I do too. But your picture is wonderful. Blessings on you, friend and thank you for all the pleasure your photographs give to me all the time. The Kangaroos, the beautiful birds and the unbelievable scenery, etc. A gift that delights.

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Gigi, it is a nice place indeed. The mountains always give off a different view, a great backdrop indeed. The hens think I’m cute eh? Yes, I’ve always liked shorts. Those bunnies were cute, yet they remind me of the insanity of the next festive season. We receive plenty of sunshine, it’s only when we have cyclonic weather that we miss out. The cats certainly showed their best side, she has a black one but it wouldn’t open its eyes for the photo. The bottles would look good with coloured water in them. I really appreciate your wonderful comments Gigi and I’m looking forward to sharing even better photos next year.
      Cheers and best wishes for the New Year,
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
  7. Raani York

    Okay Laurie: you KNOW how much I love your pictures, and your captions and of course both together. But this last picture here is so hilarious, I haven’t been laughing like this for a long time. Thank you for that. I needed it!

    Like

    Reply

Tell me what you think.

