Meanwhile, back at The Writer’s Room.

Another mixed bag this week viewers, a hasty collection from Newcastle and home. I took this panorama with my android phone at South-West Rocks, New South Wales. The beaches on both sides of this point are beautiful.

south-west rocks, NSW

Now I know where the teddy bears have their picnics. This tree is on Thunderbolt’s Way, between Stroud and Walcha. From what I could gather in between dodging huge swarms of flies is, it has something to do with lost dogs. Still, the teddy bears look happy.

teddy bear tree

Many followers love Kangaroo pictures, so they won’t be disappointed this week. This handsome creature came up onto the house pad after a shower of rain the other day. He wasn’t too sure about having his picture taken though.

kangaroo

On the left we have mister inquisitive, I saw him sticking his head into the opening and by the time I picked up the camera he’d wandered around the back. That’s a blob of soot on his nose. On the right we have FrankenRoo, no I’m not experimenting on them. I thought about a weird shot and took it. I love the way the grass stands up between them.

kangaroo

Not the best picture but they do make for an interesting study. We visited Trial Bay Gaol a historic site near South-West Rocks. It was built in the mid 1800’s to house low security prisoners who were involved in building a huge rock groin to make a safe harbour.

kangaroos

This is the accommodation and kitchen wing, inside the walls. I love the attention to detail in the masonry.

trial bay gaol

This fern adds a touch of beauty to an I beam which used to support the floor for the top cell block.

tial bay gaol

Newcastle is an old city by Australian standards and has many fine pieces of architecture. I like Victorian houses and this is a fine example. Yes that is a pigeon flying past near the roof.

house

These terrace houses are in the city itself. Some are residences, others surgeries and the apricot one seems to be vacant. The wrought iron work is quite intricate and some of it needs a good clean-up.

houses

Something of a contrast between the lonely terrace house and the dilapidated silo.

page11

That’s it for this week, I hope to have some portrait shots for next week. So until then take care. Remember the pictures always look better viewed in a new tab.
Cheers
Laurie.

39 thoughts on “Meanwhile, back at The Writer’s Room.

  1. Raani York

    An entire bag of beautiful pictures again, Laurie! πŸ™‚ Thanks for sharing.
    I got two favorites this time: Of course – the Teddybear picnic – and then I love that beautiful orange-beige house. So pretty!
    πŸ™‚

    Like

    Reply
  2. oldmainer

    Great pictures Laurie. The first one of South-West Rocks is beautiful and has surprising clarity for having been taken with a phone camera. In the picture of the homes in the city you mention that some are residences and some are surgeries. Not familiar with that term. What are surgeries?

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Bob, yes the phone cam surprises me sometimes too. Surgeries are what we call doctor’s offices here. A lot of the house I looked at, especially the well maintained ones were owned by various practitioners.

      Like

      Reply
  3. Pingback: Meanwhile, back at The Writer’s Room. | The Writers Desk

  4. thisisnotbangkok

    I feel a lot of old energy here in Newcastle. Must not be a lot of night life. The first kangaroo photo is great–nice and clear and close-up. The far shot of the building and masonry detail is perfectly composed. Beautiful Victorian houses. Very soothing post…..

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Newcastle started life as a military and convict outpost in the earl 1800’s then on to being a shipping town with a long harbour. The place has changed, there was an earthquake there on 27/12/89. 13 people died and there was significant damage. Yeah the Kangaroo was only about 20 feet away, the tend to hang around on the lawn and don’t see us as a threat, makes for clear photos. Thanks for your thoughts here Michael, I really appreciate them.

      Like

      Reply
      1. laurie27wsmith Post author

        This country was wild and woolly in its day, still is in some places. You’re right, a rich history which tends to get overshadowed at times. I love it here!

        Like

  5. doverwhitecliff

    Wonderful photos! Please let the bears know that if they ever want to picnic at our place they’d be more than welcome. You and the roos can come too! Assuming the t.s.a. would know what to do about roos…

    Like

    Reply
      1. nataliescarberry

        Oh, I see. Is there something sacred about Wednesdays? Is that when the rhyming fairy visits or something.? Maybe that’s why my poetry has never been any good. I was trying to write it on the wrong day. Blessings, Natalie πŸ™‚

        Like

      2. nataliescarberry

        Well, what a dummy I am. I had not picked up on that repeating sequence. And I was so hoping that if I tried to write poetry on Wednesdays mine would be better. Hee Hee Blessings from the DOA (Dumb Old American), Natalie πŸ™‚

        Like

  6. Pagadan

    It’s interesting that you have kangaroos all around, but I love the gaol (beautiful building) and the houses and buildings. I enjoy looking at homes and various buildings and exploring them; and one of my hobbies is watching houses being built. I visit sites when I can.

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Just about everywhere you go where there’s a patch of grass you’ll find a roo of some sort. In times of drought they move into small towns and feed on people’s lawns and such. It looks like I filled your needs this time Joy. πŸ™‚

      Like

      Reply
  7. lifechange90

    Great stuff Laurie, and we have a picture of the same fern, I think, from our last trip through there. And yes, LOTS of roos there! Lovely spot and no, the jail doesn’t have that ‘jail’ feeling… Never thought of it before!
    Cheers,
    Ray

    Like

    Reply
  8. hitandrun1964

    Love the kanga’s. So adorable:) Thank you for always putting a couple in your post. Your pictures are so lovely. The houses, beautiful. Another wonderful series of great pictures:) Always a pleasure to see them.

    Like

    Reply
  9. suzjones

    Awesome shots there Laurie. We had a pair of pretty face wallabies on the front lawn last week but when they saw me they jumped away.
    I love Trial Bay Gaol. I actually saw a whale when I was standing on the walls at the back the day that I visited. I was so happy that day. There was an art/sculpture show on display there the day I visited so I have so gorgeous photos of art pieces with masonry back drops. And lots of photos of the swallows that were nesting in the brickwork.
    Thanks for sharing πŸ™‚

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Suz. If you wander back through my writer’s room thread you’ll see the extent of the roo population here. It varies from half a dozen to upwards of a hundred and sixty. We drove from the front gate to the house one day, (800metres) and stopped counting after a hundred and sixty. I liked Trial Bay too, it doesn’t have the hopeless, sad feeling of most old jails. The art show would have been great. I didn’t see the swallows. If one was going to do jail time, then trial bay would have been the place to do it for the view alone. πŸ™‚

      Like

      Reply

Tell me what you think.

