Playing with Pictures at The Writer’s Room.

Something different for this week viewers, most of these photos have been on here in the past however I have played around with them a little. Woodlands Manor has been given a sepia look with a greyscale background and lawn. I’ve left the shrubbery at the front au naturel and I think it has that old painted postcard look.

Woodlands manor

The lighthouse at Ballina didn’t need too much work, greyscale for everything except the blue bottom.

Ballina Lighthouse

The old truck took a little while, the shrubbery and grass is sepia, the windscreen and rear window is greyscale. The touchy bit involved doing each stem of grass in front of the truck.

wrecked pickup truck

You may recognise this as the dam at the front of our property, it usually doesn’t have black and white water in it.

reflections in water

A reverse on the one above, I seem to have created a wintery scene in the Japanese Gardens at Queens Park, Ipswich. Plenty of greyscale here.

japanese gardens Ipswich

 The touchy part here was in trying to greyscale between the tiny lines in this Dragonfly’s wings.

page6

Gazanias on a different background.

gazanis

This lovely lady is Rebecca, a friend of my niece. I took this picture amongst many others at an engagement party when we went to Newcastle. I haven’t done a thing to this picture, it’s ‘as is.’

portrait

Same picture converted to black and white.

portrait

Same again in sepia.

portrait

I hope you enjoyed this week’s offerings. For those who like kangaroos, I’m sorry I didn’t put any in the post, next week. I like to try something different now and then. Until then,
Cheers,
Laurie.

34 thoughts on “Playing with Pictures at The Writer’s Room.

  1. thisisnotbangkok

    Fantastic photos Laurie. The lighthouse and the truck are my favorites. For the former, love the blue at the bottom. That makes the entire picture come alive. Great contrast in the truck photo. I like how you manipulate the colors and shadings in this set.

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks so much Michael, that lighthouse was the easiest too. I just left the blue uncovered. Yes I like the truck, it’s one of the better examples of an old wreck I’ve come across in a while. I love playing with photos. 🙂

      Like

      Reply
  2. WordsFallFromMyEyes

    Wonderful fun with these photos, Laurie 🙂 And Rebecca is utter loveliness! She really takes a beautiful photo.

    I love photography.

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Hi Nia, thanks for that, I hope you have a great time playing with your pictures. I’m very happy with the portrait, sometimes you just get it right the first time. 🙂

      Like

      Reply
  3. lifechange90

    As far as manipulating photos, I print and shuffle them – that’s about it! My respect for your abilities just skyrocketed Laurie, these are amazing! The photos were good to begin with and I remember some of them, but your effects transform them! Brilliant!
    Cheers,
    Ray

    Like

    Reply
  4. Raani York

    Another set of beautiful pictures, Laurie!! Of course Rebecca is gorgeous!! – I like the dragonfly as well – what an amazingly clear picture! – But what fascinates me most this time is the old truck. 🙂 I love it!!!

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thank you Raani, yes she is a beautiful lady. I nearly fell off a little waterfall taking that dragonfly pic. 🙂 The truck does make a statement indeed, it really stands out. thanks so much for your support Raani. 🙂

      Like

      Reply
  5. olganm

    I have no ability to either create or manipulate images. All look fabulous. I like the contrast with the blue in the lighthouse…It could make a great book cover (not the only one)…

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Olga. I have plenty of time on my hands to play with them, it can be a good thing I guess. 🙂 That blue does stand out, it was the easiest one to do. Hmm, I could darken the image and put a light in the top. Yes it’s a simple image that stands out, it would make a statement on a book cover.

      Like

      Reply
  6. Pagadan

    I enjoyed your versions of these photos; I remember the truck, and I loved the ponds. I’m only vaguely aware of greyscale. I think I’ve seen it listed when printing…

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Joy. Yes I picked ones I had already used because they weren’t too deep in the archives. 🙂 Greyscale is where you convert a picture to black and white. I’m glad you liked them.

      Like

      Reply
  7. oldmainer

    Color, black and white, or sepia, Rebecca is a fox. Loved these pictures (all of them). So unique. Would love to see more like this. The tradeoff of color vs grayscale or sepia is magic.

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Bob, I wholeheartedly agree and she’s a caring, funny girl to boot. A blogger I follow says that the picture is only the beginning, you can do so much to make them into pieces of art. Magic indeed.

      Like

      Reply
  8. davidprosser

    You have an amazingly deft touch Laurie. I tried a similar thing on a app of my daughters where you make everything b & w then just restore colour where you want it. I found i almost impossible if I was doing something like grass.These are great pictures.

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks David. The program I used you can paint in the sepia/greyscale. So it meant bringing the picture right up and coming down to a very small brush head for the grass. I actually enjoyed it. 🙂

      Like

      Reply

Tell me what you think.

