Not a lot from The Writer’s Room.

When in doubt put up a sunset, one that’s been created from nature’s magnificent palette. This
has only been cropped, I like to use several different exposures on the same scene and then choose the most vibrant.

sunset

I took this at lunch time in Gatton a few weeks ago. I’ve been trying a little street photography lately and saw that the light was on. So what do you do with a plain old light? Why you tart it up a little. The yellow hasn’t been touched.

street light

This memorial in Gatton was erected in memory of three members of the 13th Queensland Mounted Infantry, part of the Australian Light Horse who died in the Boer War in South Africa. 1899-1902. I took it so it appeared to be floating in the air.

Boer war memorial

The unusual thing about this pic is the joey. He’s far to old to be suckling when there’s another joey in the pouch. Either that or he’s looking for his X-box. If you look at this pic in a new window you will see that there may be something wrong with the mother’s nose. It looks like a hole above her nostrils.

kangaroos

You may remember the fighting Roos from a few weeks ago, well here are a couple I didn’t put up. In the right hand pic, if you look close enough you’ll notice the roo on the right side has a nosebleed. Caused by having his opponent’s claws up his nostrils.
https://laurie27wsmith.wordpress.com/2013/11/29/theres-a-fight-on-at-the-writers-room/

kangaroos fighting

I think these are Plumed Whistling Ducks. We have a tiny dam down from the front of the house choked with water weeds and such, it’s quite attractive for nesting. I was going to call it Peking Ducks.

ducks

I took this picture of a Butcher Bird when we stayed in a unit down at Ballina. As soon as we opened the door onto the balcony he swooped down to see what we had to offer. I don’t normally feed wildlife but seeing that he’d grown accustomed to being fed by humans I gave him a few crumbs.

Butcher Bird

Well, that’s it for this week, I should be back in form next week and have a wider variety for you. Until then, take care and thanks for dropping by.
Cheers,
Laurie.

43 thoughts on “Not a lot from The Writer’s Room.

  1. Eli Pacheco

    I like that you notice things like the street lamp, mate. So many of us walk right on below it and never get the beauty of what’s right above us.

    Those kangaroos kind of remind of what happens sometimes at the stock car races or football games in the stands – you can kick and swing with the best of them when it’s your team’s or driver’s honor on the line, I suppose.

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Eli, it’s amazing how you tend to notice the little things when you want photos, except when you’re driving. Yeah, I could imagine the roos in a grandstand having a stoush, I wonder if they’d follow the Wallabies? (Oz rugby union team)

      Like

      Reply
  2. thisisnotbangkok

    Wonderful shots Laurie. Great unedited sunset pic. It is rare when I do not edit a pic and produce this kind of quality. The bird shot is one of your best: perfect composition and timing on that one. Good enough for a photo contest. The street lamp is also my cup of tea, as the subject is only a piece of the whole and adds a mysterious feel to it. Oh and in what photo editing program did I see that antique effect? Hmm…can’t seem to remember…..

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Michael, the sunsets get surprisingly colourful at times and as you know a slightly different exposure makes all the difference. The bird raised his head at the right time didn’t he? Yes, the street lamp could be anywhere. It certainly made for a good subject to tweak. yeah, photoscape. I use it about 90% of the time, it’s great.

      Like

      Reply
      1. thisisnotbangkok

        Well I am really glad that somebody took my advice about Photoscape. The only thing it can’t do is layering, so one would need Photoshop for that. But it can do most everything else. Glad you use it. You are right. You got lucky with the bird. With animal pics, we often have to wait until they are ready for us lol.

        Like

      2. laurie27wsmith Post author

        I love the way you can reduce a picture size in Page. I use Arc Soft for any layering and I’m playing with Gimp. Animal pics, especially birds can be a challenge.

        Like

      3. thisisnotbangkok

        I have used ArcSoft in the past. Now I use ArcHard–get it? Ok. Horrible joke. Anyway, yes, animal shots are difficult. I would not have the patience for it. There are some wonderful animal/nature photographers that I follow here. The bird shot is def one of your best.

        Like

      4. laurie27wsmith Post author

        Okay, you know your forte is photos, I’ll do the jokes. 🙂 Patience is the key, sometimes you get really lucky though. I guess the bird held his head just right.

        Like

      5. thisisnotbangkok

        With your rich life history and breadth of experience, I am sure you were many people’s mentors. And no, I will not be the humorist as you are the King of Sarcasm and Wit.

        Like

  3. Patricia Salamone

    Hi Fratello, The pics are great. Your face is very similar to the memorial statue in Gatton.
    I think if you cropped it at the shoe line it would look more like it’s floating. Just my unpro. opinion and you know what they say about opinions. :o)

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Yes he has that stony faced look, just like me. On the other side of the hedge there is an avenue leading up to the whole memorial. o I thought I’d have him floating on the hedge as it were. 🙂 I know what they say about opinions. 🙂

      Like

      Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Gigi, peeking indeed. 🙂 Those kangaroos don’t hold back, they can inflict a lot of damage. I’ve seen them spend a day or so recovering, then crawl off into the bush. Yes they’re stressful. I took the pics from what I considered a safe distance and from behind the hedge. 🙂

      Like

      Reply
      1. hitandrun1964

        I wouldn’t like to see them fighting. Feel bad for them but nature runs the show and all that…sure isn’t up to me. You poem is on my blog and I love it. Thank you again. Have a wonderful day (or is it night by you???), either way…be well and happy and enjoy your weather. Hugs…always. Hi to your lovely wife:)

        Like

      2. laurie27wsmith Post author

        it’s what they do and I think the females expect it. Survival of the fittest etc, etc. Glad you like my little ditty, Dee Dee inspired me. It’s midday here now as I answer this and warm. 🙂 Thanks for the hugs and my wife says Hi.
        Cheers
        Laurie.

        Like

  4. Raani York

    You know, Laurie – that I’d melt when I see that Sunset. It’s beautiful.
    But this week I have to admit, I do like the last picture best. The little bird. It’s just so cute!!
    Thanks for sharing these pictures!!

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Yes, a lovely sunset and we get the view every day. The butcher bird was a cutie, he came inside at one stage and had a look around. Cheeky bugger. 🙂 You’re welcome Raani, I love sharing them as you know.

      Like

      Reply
  5. talain45

    And what a beautiful sunset it is. The image with the joey I was thinking, that maybe he was just practicing for a future job with airport security. like, “sorry mam! I need to check your bags, just your bag mam! Ok, your good to go!” They are a neat animal, I’ve only seen them in a couple of zoos over here.
    I love the bird images of the Plumed Whistling Ducks and the Butcher bird. I did notice in the duck image, we have the same type of thistle plant here with the same purple flower. The butterflies love it here. I think the writer’s room did fine Laurie. Its a beautiful post for thing I don’t get to see here, Michael 🙂

    Like

    Reply
    1. Pagadan

      Love that sunset. Such beautiful colors! And the critters are interesting; but I really found it interesting–’cause I didn’t know–that Australians were involved in the Boer War. How did that happen?

      Like

      Reply
    2. laurie27wsmith Post author

      That’s funny Michael, They’d make an interesting diversion for travellers. 🙂 I took the whistling duck pics with my telephoto lens and thankfully he focus picked up on the ducks and not the Scottish thistles. We’ve been inundated with them this year, they pop up all over the place. The butterflies like them here too. That’s the great thing about the net Michael, anyone can get a look in at other people’s lives and pictures, it’s great. 🙂
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Natalie, there just weren’t as many as usual. I get carried away sometimes. 🙂 Yes it’s a great pastime, those little peeks into another place and or time. I’ve always loved photographs.
      Cheers
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply

Tell me what you think.

