Out on the street at The Writer’s Room.

No sunsets or sunrises this week, instead we have…….Ta Daaa, Sunflowers. Taken at the Botanical Gardens in Brisbane and what cheery looking flowers they are.

sunflowers

Still in the gardens. Yes but is it art? Well I guess it is artistic looking and gives some fine reflections.

sculpture

High Dynamic Range photography is quite popular. For those who don’t know, you take several photos of the same image at different exposures. Blend them together in a HDR program, select the type of look you want then work on the hues and saturation etc. The first picture of the church, situated at Ma Ma Creek, outside of Gatton is a normal shot. The next is a HDR which I think looks okay in grey. The third picture I think is more dramatic and is definitely worth a look in a new tab. These are my first attempts, needless to say I’m hooked and will be trying something new as time goes on.

ma ma creek church

Ma Ma creek church

This picture isn’t about composition, colour or focus. It’s about attitude. Some evenings I’ll go outside and snap away at the Roos and Wallabies that come up outside the house. There is always some sort of hijinks going on. Most of them became bored and hopped away, leaving young Mum here. The little dangly thing at her midsection is joey’s hairless tail and going by her size I’d say her first one. I took a step closer and she arced up. Look at those tiny fists, her eyes, ears laid back. Even that squished up look on her face all says one thing, “Back up Buster, or I’ll give ya a kickin.” She reminds me of a wet hen.

Roo

My first foray into street photography. I call it ‘Glamorous Mum.’  She looks so calm amidst the hustle and bustle. Red cross volunteers were touting for donations, the man behind her was protesting about being sacked. Yet she waits patiently for the crossing lights. I hung the camera around my neck and took the picture at my chest height. The only thing I needed to do with the picture was to level and crop it.

street view

Then at the last minute I thought, Hmm, this will look good in black and white.

page8

I’m rearranging the garden and moved Buddha up onto the lawn for now.
Inquisitive Roo. “Hmm, you weren’t here before.”
The metal Roo is part of an exhibit on the footpath in George Street, Brisbane. I’ll be showing another one next week. There are some clever artists out there.

roo

If you have a look at the third pic of the church you will see this angel side on. I took her picture and decided it would look far better as a negative, then given a sepia makeover. A little highlight at the top and you have something unusual.

cemetry angel

That’s the lot for this week, with something new for a change. I hope you like viewing the pictures as much as I like taking them. Until next week, take care.
Cheers
Laurie.

37 thoughts on “Out on the street at The Writer’s Room.

  1. Peggi Tustan

    Hi Laurie, I haven’t seen your posts on LinkedIn lately. I’m feeling the winter blahs here in Cleveland after yet another snow storm. So, I came to you site looking for beauty and you didn’t disappoint. I NEEDED those sunnyflowers today! Thanks!

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Hi Peggi, I’ve been downsizing in many areas lately until I feel better. Thank you so much for dropping over, there’s always something here to give you a smile. Even a couple of sunflowers. 🙂 I’m glad I could help with a little upliftment.

      Like

      Reply
  2. Pagadan

    Nice diversity of photos! I love starting off with those colorful sunflowers. Beautiful church and cemetary; the HDR version is even more beautiful, and I’m impressed with your skills. (I wrestle with photo editing for covers, and that’s more than enough fo rme.) Good roo description; “Back up Buster, or I’ll give ya a kickin.” And, ah, definitely one of the weeping angels. I enjoyed this week’s tour. Thank you, Laurie.

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thank you Joy, I seem to have ticked all the boxes this week. I like starting out with a nature shot. I think HDR is awesome, it certainly adds depth. That roo certainly had gumption, if I went any closer I think she would have. I’m glad you liked this week’s offerings, now I’ll have to keep up the standard. 🙂
      Cheers
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
  3. talain45

    I liked it Laurie, something new works great. I haven’t tried HDR yet but I will give it a go sooner or later. You capture that work very nicely! love all of them. The metal is definitely interesting, some one spent time working on that. I can see some of the different car parts pretty clearly. Nice post Laurie! I can’t stay too long tonight, just wonted to say Hi, Michael 🙂

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Michael, I’m always up for something new. Metal Roos are interesting, actually anything metal and strange is photo-worthy. 🙂 Mate, a like or a quick word is always good. Great to hear from you.
      Cheers
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
  4. Raani York

    Fantastic pictures, Laurie. I do like the dark Angel – but what I like the most today are the sunflowers. So happy and cheerful. They made me smile. 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  5. olganm

    Very striking. I also loved the kangaroo with the Buddha… Not sure what I think about the angel… It’s beautiful but… Funnily enough, writing a story with angels and demons…And no ideas for the cover….

    Like

    Reply
  6. davidprosser

    The grey picture of the church s really striking. It looks almost middle-ages. That last picture of the angel would make a tremendous cover for a horror book though.
    Nicely done Laurie.

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks David, yes the church is definitely middle ages to gothic in appearance. It has a certain creepiness to it. The angel has lost all benevolence in its face, I’m sure you’d get a start if you woke up with that looming over you. 🙂

      Like

      Reply
  7. suzjones

    Loved looking at the photos of Brisbane. I should go in there again one day and take photos. And that HDR photo is awesome. Something I’ve never tried but definitely something I would enjoy . 🙂

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      It was a good day for photography Suz, there’s always something to see in the big smoke. I love doing the HDR pics, it’s definitely an art and I hope to improve. As you can see I’ll try anything with a picture. 🙂

      Like

      Reply
  8. hitandrun1964

    Okay…the black and white picture of the church creeped me out BIG TIME. That is the stuff horror shows are made of, believe me. It’s amazing how different each shot looked. The first one was, well a church, the second one was the church of EVIL VAMPIRES (or government officials/defenders of the status quo). A place of unspeakable horrors, mutilations and taxes, kind of place. AND the cemetery, right there, ready graves for the dead and the end of civilization as we know it. The red roof was so colorful and the whole picture had an entirely different feel to it. You KNOW I love the kangaroo. So adorable and then the one with the Buddha…sweet. But the first one, where she’s facing your camera…aw….beautiful. The angel is straight from Dr. Who. But she’s fabulous and I’m almost positive that that is exactly what things look like in a different dimension. Really excellent post. Lots of fun. More please.

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Yes! Just what I was after getting a gut response from a picture. Thank you Gigi. Yes the grey church drips with menace, foreboding skies with a touch of the other worldly. I LOVE HDR photography. It gives so much depth to a picture. Yes the red roof one is good, I like the way the sandstone is highlighted on some of the gravestones. Obviously I can’t go wrong with the roos. 🙂 Yes the wet hen is definitely a nice study, she actually came a few hops towards me. A good Mum indeed. I had second thoughts about putting the angel in, then it was like, hmmm, give it a go. I’m going back to take a series of shots of her for a HDR pic. Yes there’s a touch of other dimensions there. Thanks for a great comment Gigi, next week won’t disappoint. 🙂

      Like

      Reply
      1. hitandrun1964

        Looking forward to next week’s post. Again, the angel is very cool. Scary and beautiful. Powerful and otherworldly. But that church….foreboding in spades. Amazingly creepy. I love it but wouldn’t go near it, of course:) You are doing great work with your new camera:)

        Like

      2. laurie27wsmith Post author

        There is something about the angel, neither good or bad only there and mechanically benevolent, programmed to offer impersonal care. The more I look at the grey church the more it gets under my skin. Thanks for the compliment, I’m learning and trying to get better results. B&W has me hooked, especially with people. It has a certain look that colour doesn’t quite convey.

        Like

Tell me what you think.

