YOU’RE IN THE ARMY NOW. A brief interlude.

in·ter·lude  (ĭn′tər-lo̅o̅d′) n. 1. An intervening episode, feature, or period of time:
So why are we having an interlude at this late stage of the main feature I hear you ask? It’s quite simple actually, I want to make people aware of my novels in the Death Series. I wish to sell to the masses, have the world beating a deep and well worn path to my door. Well at least to Amazon’s extremely busy doorway. Remember when you went to the movies, way back in the day? It all started with a cartoon, then a newsreel followed by a B grade movie, an interlude then the main attraction. You really got your money’s worth then.  The last couple of years for me have been reminiscent of a hack reporter at work, belting out copy for the reading public. Sweating blood into my trusty portable Remington Travel-Riter, it sounds better than keyboard. I have hopefully entertained and amazed my reading audience, and I might add the enjoyment from this labour of love on my part has been boundless. My original intent for this blog was to promote the Death Series. Then I realised people want to be entertained.

In July 2012 I began A Policeman’s Lot. which ran for 18 weeks, at first a humorous look at the life of a copper. Then it became a little darker and somewhat philosophical.  I followed up with A Turnkey’s Tribulations. This too had it’s moments of humour and pathos, with some insights into crime and punishment. Then we come to the present offerings, You’re in the Army Now. On average for the three series, I’ve written about 156,000 words. They may not be great words but they seem to have hit a chord amongst most of my followers. The blogs aren’t in sequence, my careers ran like this, Army, Prison then Police taking up 20 years. The remainder of my working life involved security with the defence department. Security work in essence can be boring, this gave me time to study and work at one of the high points of my life, and that was as a Medium and Healer. Like most things I’ve done it had a use by date, I’ve since retired as a Medium. Except for the occasional late night visit, or desperate call for help.  As to the healing aspect, I’m my biggest customer. This will all come out in my next series.

You may well ask, what have the above blogs to do with my novels? Plenty! The old saying of write what you know rings true here. My first novel, Mountain of Death burst into life from my time working in prison. Whether you like it or not, jail rubs off on you. I have a bulging storehouse of characters, all participating in a riot to get out and be noticed. “All right you lot, settle down or there’ll be no television tonight.” Sorry about that. The story begins in Wacol jail with Jack Hardy on his last night inside. He’s done a hard 10 years for armed robbery, naturally he can’t sleep and we learn about the people and events that brought him there. If he thought doing a lagging was tough, then there are surprises in store for him when he gets out. If you’ve read my army series you will note that Kings Cross, in Sydney became a second home for me. Jack Hardy lived and worked there until a chance meeting with ex jockey, Eddie Barnes changed their lives forever. Sydney in 1969 moved to a new beat. It’s sleazy, dangerous heart, Kings Cross long known for crime and corruption had something new happening, R&R. It’s denizens, always eager to make a dollar looked upon the influx of the Yanks as sheep, ready for the shearing. Shear them they did, from the prostitutes and massage parlours, to the strip clubs, cafes and souvenir shops. This story will lead you to places you wouldn’t normally visit. There are no white hats and black hats, they’re mainly a grimy shade of grey. I haven’t had to invent the nastiness you’ll come across inside, it’s there on our nightly news or the front pages of daily newspapers.

By the time Jack hardy gets out of jail he’s a hardened criminal. When he comes up against Hans Draheim and his family he finds out what true degradation and evil entails. This story isn’t all about crime, violence and sex. There is an underlying ancient story at work here, that of the battle between good and evil. The players are human with all their foibles, faults and stories. The stage is the dark alleyways, dimly lit upstairs offices and jail cells. You’ll get a taste of Australia, from Sydney to Adelaide and Broken Hill to the Gold Coast. Like most young men Jack’s desires lead him to make decisions that older, more prudent men wouldn’t make. Women and the need to remove the taint of poverty from his life drives him onwards. These same needs lead to his downfall. I suggest you follow the link to Amazon and see what readers have to say about it.

In 1981-82 I worked as a constable at Fortitude Valley, an inner Brisbane, riverside suburb. Actually it’s a flow-on from the city and is known as Brisbane’s Kings Cross. It has its entrenched gangs, sex clubs, nightclubs, drug dealers-runners and the like. Its train station, and at the time interstate bus depot made it a terminus for runaway kids and crims on the run. An inordinate amount of street people, mental patients and the curious made for a mixed bag of humanity. I also came up against official corruption, which to my mind is one of the worst crimes. Valley of Death is not an easy read, it would be if all of the victims were adults. Sadly they aren’t. In Australia the age of consent is 16 years old, so there isn’t much of an outcry when children that age and over are known to be addicts or sex workers. Children as young as 10 and 11 make their homes in the streets, they don’t stay there too long, usually ending up in the clutches of perverts. They’re preyed on by drug dealers and find themselves living in small gangs.

Valley takes up 15 years after the gripping ending of Mountain. Annie Leeson is a uniform constable at Fortitude Valley police station. She’s young, with a head of bright, copper red hair, attractive, bi-sexual and the adopted daughter of an ex-Detective Sergeant. Her life is complicated by her inherited wealth and the jealousy of others. After her part in the conviction of a child rapist she finds herself working as a plain clothes officer, in the then, Juvenile Aid Bureau. Not convinced that the death of a street kid is an overdose, she begins to dig into the girl’s background and associates. It leads to a group of paedophiles with international connections and no compunctions about removing nosy coppers. Some children die in this book, a sad thing yet it happens daily in every country. Type child prostitution into Google and see what you come up with, unfortunately I didn’t need to. I mentioned in an earlier post that I was rented out as a child on occasion. At the tender age of 9, I personally witnessed the murder of two small girls. Victims of a group of perverts. Perhaps that’s why I have no trouble writing about these events. Their story, albeit slightly rearranged is there in the book, so perhaps they will now always be remembered. It isn’t there in a gratuitous way, it does however fill in the antagonist’s back story. You can’t have a character turn up on a page and be evil incarnate, he needs a starting point. The characters develop and grow, beset with challenges of violence, death, love and family. Annie, a broken, abused child herself, is taken to the brink and beyond and shows grit, determination and gives a glimpse into the strength and resilience of the human soul.  I like to throw my people in the deep end of a pool, then throw them a cinder block to hang onto.

River of Death (to be released on Amazon in the next few weeks) is set once again in Fortitude Valley, south-east and northern Queensland, 5 years after the end of book 2. Annie Leeson is back, a little older and a lot wiser. She’s toughened up and doesn’t take crap off anyone. Working out of Homicide, she finds herself seconded to the Valley after the discovery of a young woman’s body hanging in a shipping container. We meet Simon Fynch, a new Detective on the block. He becomes the perfect foil for Annie. I can’t say too much here as it will spoil the endings of book 1 and 2. Suffice to say you will find yourself in the mind of a perverted killer, on a downward spiral. Why does he prefer his victims to be young, pregnant, green eyed red-heads? A murderous prison escapee is also on the loose and Annie has more than herself to worry about. Blood is thicker than water and family connections are brought to the fore. Needless to say, there is violence, death, sex and adventure, relationships are made and lost, and we say goodbye to some old friends and welcome new ones.

Cape of Death, is set mainly in Queensland’s Cooktown and Cape York Peninsular. I’ve finished the first draft and will be working on it once River is released. Annie is back, along with the team from River, investigating the deaths of several refugees and smugglers on a lonely beach. The story takes us from Afghanistan via Indonesia and West Irian to the Cape. As it unfolds you’ll find yourself alone, naked and terrified on a muddy rainforest track fleeing from horror to….? Or perhaps you’re a wounded Taliban terrorist living alone in a cave, subsisting  on wallabies and burning inside with revenge for mankind in general, while nature wreaks havoc outside. You could be the Russian crime boss with a nose for gold, stolen Nazi gold and with no compunctions about who gets hurt in the process. Jack is back big time here and leaves his mark as only he can. There are: IED’s, big crocodiles, a murderous pair of bastards – Ipswich locals,  who hunt more than wild pigs, a beautiful woman doctor with needs that only Annie can attend to, and a new Sydney crime boss from the Cross with an axe to grind. Throw in a cyclone and a manhunt across the rugged north and I guarantee you’ll need a holiday afterwards… so you can read, Bay of Death. We move to Sydney for this story, I’ve nearly finished the first draft. Set between Sydney and Thailand it deals with terrorism, biker gangs and arms smuggling. Annie is still with us and all I will say is, this book will re-invent her. I will also add, she’s bloody tough.

I have to make mention here that although I write about subjects that may be distasteful to some, I have to stay true to myself and write it as I see it. Sometimes I’ll call a spade a spade, other times it’s a fucking shovel. Since the beginning people have: loved, made love, lived, killed, enslaved, hurt and demeaned others. You’ll find more than this in my books, you’ll find triumph over evil, family love, loyalty, justice, both natural and man made, grief, happiness and upliftment. There’s physical pain and suffering, debasement and torture. I have inserted a physic element into the series, usually through Annie’s troubled dreams. There we have it for this week, a little drum beating and flag waving, it also highlights what I said earlier….. Write what you know. For those who may be thinking what does he know about debasement and torture? I can assure you that I do. Until next week,
Cheers
Laurie.

Mountain of Death

Valley of Death

16 thoughts on “YOU’RE IN THE ARMY NOW. A brief interlude.

  1. hitandrun1964

    A medium???????? I love this. I will check out your books but I want the medium/healer stuff. I do some of that myself:) I’m sure it’s nothing compared to you but I can’t wait to hear about it…I mean REALLY can’t wait. This is so exciting:) Oh, and the chickens and chicklets send their love and many wishes for excellent health. Chirp, peep and they want to know about that part of your life as well so I promised I would read whatever you write, to them. They said thank you…well, actually, they just chirped again:)

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Yes indeed. It turned out to be quite an interesting time of my life. Tell the chickens anything except this, seers of old used to read chicken’s entrails. Shush! I don’t want them traumatised at all. I would prefer to read a feather.🙂

      Like

      Reply
  2. davidprosser

    Albeit fiction you write Laurie, there’s always an audience for the well written reality you inject. I just hope your audience increases a lot. You’ve really lived haven’t you. I didn’t think my life had been boring till I read about yours.

    Like

    Reply
  3. Raani York

    Dear Laurie,
    I think it’s a GREAT thing you remind your readers that you’re not only an excellent blogger, but a phenomenal writer too!! Remember I read your books? I did re-read the reviews I wrote – and I stand behind every single word!!
    In case someone wants to read them: http://raaniyork.wordpress.com/2013/03/23/book-review-for-mountain-of-death-by-laurie-w-smith/
    and
    http://raaniyork.wordpress.com/2013/03/23/book-review-for-valley-of-death-by-laurie-w-smith/
    They’re GREAT books and I love them!!

    Like

    Reply

Tell me what you think.

