Wallaby Wednesday: Roomeo and Jooliette.

ROOMEO & JOOLIETTE
A PLAY in 1 quick Act.
by Will Pademelon

A story of two families at war and forbidden love in the wilds of the Australian Outback.
18+ Parental guidance recommended.

Starring:
Gerard DepaRoo
, fresh from his No 1 Broadway hit,
Who’s afraid of Virginia Wallaby?
Wallaby
Co-starring:
Marilyn Munroo, a newcomer to the stage but a star in her own right, straight from the centre pages of MACROPOD MONTHLY. Read her interview in the Wild Wallaby Women section. “Come on you Macropods, I just love a Roo with big feet. You know what they say……”
wallaby

History doesn’t tell us the why of this family feud, only that it seemed to be over property boundaries. Fighting ensued and the legend grew of how the patriarch of the lower paddock wallabies, survived an electric fence to the testicles.

wallabys

Generations passed, yet the animosity grew along with the legendary prowess of the male descendants of that unfortunate patriarch. Roomeo, the latest in line lived a privileged existence under the care and guidance of his two nurses. They allowed Jooliette of the swamp mob, more commonly known as, a pack of mongrel dirty fighters, to play with Roomeo.

wallabies

Growing up they took advantage of every moment to meet at the old gum tree in secret. There they pledged their undying love for each other.

wallabies

Every week Jooliette waited by the tree hoping Roomeo would chance by. She would sit forlornly until sunset, calling out,
“Roomeo, Roomeo, where the bloody hell are ya, Roomeo?”
When an answer wasn’t forthcoming she would make her way down the paddock.

wallaby

One day, unable to wait any longer she began addressing her own issues when Roomeo turned up,
“G’day Jools, whatcha doin? ”
“Oh, Roomeo, you startled me. I, I was – dammit you know what I want. What’s a girl gotta do to get some action round here?”

wallabies

“Well Jools it’s like this, you’ve heard the legend. You know what happens to the males in my line.”
“I know but by the look of that I wouldn’t call it legendary.”

wallabies

“Oh, Roomeo, yes, yes. A little to the left, that’s it.”
“I love you Jools, you’re different to the other girls.”
“Other girls?”
“Oh, well you know the story about the legend, it gets around.”

wallabies

“Err, Roomeo?”
“Wh, wh, what Jools?”
“You’re using protection, right?”
“Yeah, I sprayed on the tick repellent, I’m fine.”

wallabies

“Hmmmm, Roomeo, that is divine. Ooooh, the legend lives.”
“Uh, uh, uh.”
“You do love me, right?”
“Uh, uh, uh.”
“And you’re using protection?”
“Uh, uh, uh.”
“Hang on, is that my Dad hopping up to the fence?”
“Uh, uh, eek.”
Roomeo bounds off in the opposite direction, leaving Jooliette to feel her dad’s wrath.

wallabies

“Crikey, Jooliette I thought you were better than this. Here ya are letting one of them, lower paddock mongrels have his way with ya.”
“Oh Dad, I’m sorry. He was so nice and I’ve known him forever, and……”
“Well that’s the last you’ll see of him girl.”
Loud grunts and crackles float up the paddock from the electric fence.
“Oh Roomeo!”

page12

Time drags on, Jooliette’s Dad passes away and the swamp mob banish her. She gives birth and the lower paddock mob ignore them both. She spends the rest of her days living in the overgrown garden, bringing up Roomeo’s son. The legend lives on.

wallaby and joey

These characters bear absolutely no resemblance to any creations of The Bard.
Cheers
Laurie.

62 thoughts on “Wallaby Wednesday: Roomeo and Jooliette.

    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      I have a warped, poetic mind that sees the absurd in most things and when those wallabies started doing what they do a lot of I thought, Hmm, there’s a story here.

      Like

      Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Michael.🙂 I let it all hang out for this one. You wouldn’t believe it, I took the pic of Marilyn Munroo late that afternoon. I wandered out front and there she was. Stretched out, waiting for me to take a pic.

      Like

      Reply
      1. laurie27wsmith Post author

        Me too but there she was in all her glory. You know I remember what I was doing the day Marilyn died. I would have been about ten and I was shooting a mate’s air rifle at cans from his bedroom window. The radio was on at the time. I don’t think she’ll ever ‘die’ as such with the amount of memorabilia, photos, movies etc. A bit like Elvis.

        Like

      2. thisisnotbangkok

        Very interesting story. And very cinematically told. In fact I live near Hollywood where she stayed at the so-called infamous Hollywood Roosevelt Hotel. Her room is supposed to be haunted.

        Like

      3. thisisnotbangkok

        Totally. She apparently lived in multiple locales all around me–of course I was too young to know who she was at the time. Oh one more thing, they also say that the hotel lobby is supposed to be haunted as well. I believe by her, but maybe some others. There are a TON of haunted places near me that I’d love to photo one day.

        Like

      4. laurie27wsmith Post author

        I’ve had several follow me over time, they tend to move on and leave. Though it can become a little disconcerting, although they’re usually lost. Some are unaware of their present state of being.

        Like

      5. thisisnotbangkok

        Believe it or not in addition I also met the real Elvis when I was about 12 or 13 years old. I can email you more about it if you’d like. There is sort of a funny story to it.

        Like

      1. lifechange90

        Or they get hopping mad!

        I saw a little Prettyface Wallaby one day at full speed, dive under the bottom barb wire of a fence, but his tailed just touched the timber post, putting him off balance. He careered around off balance and smacked head first into an ironbark tree. Score – tree 1 – wallaby nil – unless you count the stars! After 5 minutes, he stood up and hopped slowly away…

        Like

  1. Patrons of the Pit

    Wow! Your creativity is only exceeded by your free time I think. This one will be on your greatest hits list. Hilarious indeed. Save for the poor roo I suppose, who’s testicles made the acquaintance of the electric fence. HArk!

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Guys, I so enjoyed putting it together. Yes, I have so much free time I have to put on some help.🙂 I think I do more damage to myself with electric fences than the roos do. It’s different, time, patience, randy wallabies and a telephoto lens works wonders. I’d like to see it knock my homepage off the top of the list.

      Like

      Reply
  2. hitandrun1964

    OMG you are too much…LOL Shakespeare is spinning in his grave, thinking, “Wait. Did I write that about humans or Kangaroos? I can’t remember but I guess it works for both. But I thought it was humans.” Back to sleep for the Bard and the Kangaroos can begin making their second film.

    Like

    Reply
      1. talain45

        Thank Laurie! The bad new is I’ll probably have to come over and visit this post over the next four weeks for entertainment! Hopefully Not!! “LOL” I’m sure you had fun with this one. Take care, Michael🙂

        Like

      2. laurie27wsmith Post author

        I’m sure my blog will be a second rate excuse for the absence of your lovely wife.🙂 I had a ton of fun with it, not as much as the mating wallabies did, I’m sure.

        Like

  3. Raani York

    This, my dear Laurie, was LEGENDARY!! I therefore spread word all over the place!!
    (while giggling, I must add). LOL
    I just LOVE this post!!

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks so much Raani! I thought it was a bit of a hoot too. I imagine August might like Jooliette, a girl who takes things into her own hands, sorry paws as it were.🙂 I reckon it would have tickled your funny bone.
      Cheers
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
  4. Theresa

    Undying love. Unfortunate death. Family conflict. Hot sex. An even hotter electrical fence. Birth in the Cycle of Life. This, my friends, is a true Hollywood epic. Your creativity abounds, Laurie.

    Like

    Reply

Tell me what you think.

