WOT? No Wallabies at The Writer’s Room.

Sometimes you can’t see the forest for the trees, or in this case the blue mist. I took this in June last year and didn’t even notice the mist at the time. Other than cropping I haven’t enhanced this picture.

blue mist

From street photography to beach photography, a snapshot of summer on the beach at South-West Rocks, NSW. I think the little blond lad running towards the waves is having a great time.

Beach near south west rocks

You don’tย need to be young, slender and have long hair to surf, only skill. Taken at Newcastle, NSW.

surfer, newcastle

An Agapanthus flower taken at night.

Agapanthus flower

Another picture tucked away from a few years ago. Yes it’s Marilyn Munroe on a poster holding a Chanel perfume bottle, I think.ย  I performed another, make a picture B&W and bring out the coloured bits. This wasn’t a great picture to start with, I took itย in the ball room of a Broken Hill hotel after talking to the host about the haunted room he put us in. (I’ll talk about that in my new blog) The room was huge and hadn’t been used in years. The pic is gritty and grainy, just the look I wanted for an old picture. I think Marilyn now adds a touch of class to the place.

Marilyn Monroe

Another sunset.

sunset

A blast from the past, 22 years ago to be exact. Yes, it’s yours truly on his Honda Goldwing, ready to head off to work. That was the best part of the job, the ride there and back.๐Ÿ™‚

Honda Goldwing

Reflection at Mt Cootha Botanical gardens. Reminds me of a Van Gogh, sort of.

reflection of tree

Hands up if you think you have the worst job in the world, come on, you know who you are. Then look closely at the rear ends of both camels, and seeย what’s perched on their back legs. Yes, little birds whose livelihood is centered around picking flies off the bums of camels, and other large animals. I took a few pics and didn’t realise the birds were there until I put them on the computer. Top frame, bird on camel on right hand side, “Oi, Bert! Hop it, she’s gonna fart.”
Bottom frame, camel on left, “That’s right you little twit, ruin a girl’s fun why don’t ya!” This pic is best viewed in a new tab or window, just so you get the right effect.

camels

That’s enough couth and culture from me this week. See, I can do a post without a Roo or Wallaby. It was hard though. Take care and I’ll see you all next week.
Cheers
Laurie.

49 thoughts on “WOT? No Wallabies at The Writer’s Room.

  1. Miss Lou

    The Sunset is gorgeous. Great collection of pictures. I usually enjoy looking at Camels, though their bums were not particularly appealing.. lol

    Honda shot is a great shot.. bit of a blast from the past eh!

    ML

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Ah, the thing about the camel bums is this, bring the pic up in a new window and see the birds perched next to their bums, waiting for flies one would hope. quite the symbiotic relationship there.๐Ÿ™‚
      A definite blast from the past on the Honda. Had a kangaroo bounce into me one night, not many chuckles there, stayed upright though.

      Like

      Reply
  2. kelihasablog

    Loved the pictures Laurie… well, the hind end of the camels was rather odd, but I often get my cats behind in my face while I’m trying to read or type. Naturally that’s when she wants my lap.. Love the purple flower picture, but that may be because I’ve always thought of myself as the purple crayon in the box…. The reflection one is Awesome… looks like a painting to me.โค

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Keli, did you see the birds on the rear ends of the camels? That’s why I put them up, what a life sitting next to a camel’s bum waiting for the flies to turn up.๐Ÿ™‚ The purple crayon eh? Is that because it’s exotic and colourful? Yes the tree is a beauty and I didn’t do a thing to it except a small crop.
      Cheers
      Laurie.๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

      Reply
  3. Patricia Salamone

    Thanks for making me smile today Fratello, I needed that. Yes the photo in the garden does remind me of Van Gogh I admire his painting’s and have a couple of prints. You are a wonderful writer no matter what the subject. Weather you think you can or you think you can’t, you are right. Henry Ford said that and it is so true.

    Ciao

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Sadly Natalie it wasn’t, I can do a little body surfing though. The pic impressed me because all you usually see are the young, slender things out on their boards.
      Cheers
      Laurie,๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

      Reply
  4. Raani York

    You’re right! No Wallabies!! Wow!
    I like the picture of you on the motorcycle.
    And of course I LOVE the beautiful flower.
    But most I love the picture of the camel and the two-boob-ed buffalo. – OH WAIT!! That’s another camel!! *blush*๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      I know, it was definitely hard to do but I overcame the temptation.๐Ÿ˜‰ The camels are great, I wanted a shot where they both had their heads turned to the right but it didn’t happen. Imagine my delight when I saw the birds waiting at their bums. Hmm, a two boobed buffalo eh?๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

      Reply
  5. Pagadan

    So, the mountains are sort of misty? I wouldn’t have noticed; and the blue in front of them is water? Love the sunset; and the room with MM has a ghostly feel. And you are so cool on your Goldwing! And I liked the surfer and the shimmering tree.

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      The mountains are mist free, the mist is what looks like blue water in the valley, that’s why I put it up. I’ve never seen mist reflect the sky like that before. That room definitely had a ghostly feel, believe me. I was trying for the cool look on the bike.๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

      Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks David, on a second look it does remind one of coral. It’s all in the eye of the beholder, especially the hunky bloke on the bike.๐Ÿ™‚
      I’ll endeavour to make it a great weekend David.

      Like

      Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      They were for the later models. Mine was the 76 model, although it was comfortable. It also had a radio-cassette player on board. I spent many a happy trip going home at night from Amberley to Lowood with the player going full volume.๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

      Reply
      1. suzjones

        Too funny.
        I used to live in Ipswich and often went on to the base with friends of mine to watch cheap movies etc. I used to park near the entrance and watch the F1-11s do touch and goes where they would come in, touch down and then rise into the air again. I loved it.

        Like

      2. suzjones

        Laurie, you’re asking me to remember stuff from my teens and my head doesn’t do that too well lol
        I was friends with a married couple that used to let me tag along for social stuff so not sure.

        Like

Tell me what you think.

