It’s Wednesday, I have to put something up. Yes! Kangaroos.

A little silliness for your midweek viewing. I took these last week in the early morning, it had rained and the kangaroos were anxious to fight. I think it went like this,
“Come on, Bruce get up, it’s time to go home.”
“Aww, leave me alone, Kevin, get lost.”

kangaroos fighting

“Uh, so you wanna fight do ya, Kevin, do ya?”
“Let’s go home, Bruce, you’re drunk again and the other roos are watching.”

kangaroos fighting

“Well let em watch, Kevin I’ve got my second wind and I wanna dance.”
“Crikey, Bruce you’re making a bloody fool of yerself.”

kangaroos fighting

“Look at me, Kevin, look I can swing through the trees. Tarzan eat ya heart out.”
“Bloody hell, Bruce you’re going to break something.”

kangaroos fighting

“Now settle down, Bruce and come home. Mum and Dad are waiting.”
“Oh, they are, well tell dad he’s an old…”

kangaroos fighting

“Aw, c’mon Kevin just one more dance round the paddock.”
A voice calls out,
“Bruce, Kevin get home, now.”

kangaroos fighting Large male roo on the right,
“I don’t know what we’re going to do with those boys, Beryl, they’re running wild.”
“Well, Stan they should have left home earlier, my pouch will never be the same again.” old man roo

 This bottom picture shows the female with her pouch extended, I’ve never seen anything like this before. I know the male next to her was acting quite excited. He peed on the ground and rubbed his face in it before lifting his head back. A combination of bad lighting and a shaky hand caused a little blurring over the distance but I think the pictures turned out okay. This group were about 10 metres away from the fight and I thought the old man Roo was going to get involved.
Cheers
Laurie.

45 thoughts on “It’s Wednesday, I have to put something up. Yes! Kangaroos.

  1. Mélanie

    excellent post and amazing pix – as usually… speaking of these awesome “beasts” in our French supermarkets you can find kangaroo steaks from Australia, of course!!! I’ve never purchased any and I don’t plan to… we say: il faut le voir pour le croire!=you have to see it, to believe it… very bizarre, indeed!
    * * *
    Thanx for stopping by my crossroads, I do appreciate your friendly visits… my very best, cheers and respectful regards, Mélanie

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Melanie, give the kangaroo a try. The meat is excellent and it’s very low in fat. It isn’t much different to venison. Crossroads are always interesting to drop in on, they’re always heading somewhere.🙂

      Like

      Reply
  2. Raani York

    I just LOVE your Kangaroo stories, Laurie!!🙂
    This one’s hilarious!!

    What do you think is with the female one with her pouch towards the outside?

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Raani, the little blighters can be inspirational.🙂
      I think she may have been in the throws of labour and opening the pouch for the little bloke to make his way there. I could be wrong though. Strange indeed.

      Like

      Reply
  3. laurelslovelyliving

    Hi there friend. Long time no talk…how have you been? I am writing incognito – but it’s me Laurie🙂 Long story! Missed your posts so I am glad I’m back to read all your wonderfulness.
    Love, L.

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      This is a story I want to hear. I missed your smiling face. I sent an email the last time and didn’t hear back. Then you dropped off Facebook. Was it something I said? Do I need to change my deodorant? I’m very happy to see you back you know.🙂

      Like

      Reply
      1. laurie27wsmith Post author

        Dogs tend to keep them away, our nearest neighbours on both sides are half a kay away. Nothing behind for 6 thousand acres and well, you’ve seen the front view.🙂

        Like

    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Mate! It’s Queensland, we drink Fourex Gold. It’s not their right hooks that worry me, it’s their bloody great feet with the big sharp toes. They’ve been known to grab dogs and gut them with those toes. Yikes!

      Like

      Reply
  4. hitandrun1964

    I just can’t believe those huge Roos are right THERE so that you can photograph them. It’s so foreign to me. Great pictures. You know I love them. You would be so shocked to be where I am…LOL We have deer and coyote’s but you have to go to the forest preserves to see the deer (if you’re lucky) and we don’t see the coyote’s, except by accident. Otherwise we are down to skunks, possums, raccoons, squirrels and chipmunks. Low to the ground. We have voles, moles and mice, but we don’t see them. I haven’t seen a snake since I was a child. LOL You have shown me a whole new world of beautiful things. Thank you.

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      We’re definitely lucky where we are. You’ll be feeling worse when I put up next week’s offerings, some pics taken from the bedroom window. It’s wonderful. Having to go all that way to see the deer sucks, I go about a mile down the road and they’re usually there. Thankfully we don’t have skunks,🙂 possums aren’t plentiful around here, although I saw a pair of glider possums in the trees one evening. We have the usual assortment of rodents. then there are the bandicoots, they look a bit like rats but with longer noses and they snuffle around the place at night digging up roots and shoots, they’re a marsupial also. Most of our critters come out at night, except for the roos so you have to be dedicated to get out and film them. I’m happy to share the pictures of our unique wildlife Gigi.

      Like

      Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      You’re welcome Susan but I hate to burst your excitement bubble, it’s a Plover.😦 There’ll be more Roos next time, I took some from my bedroom window this morning.

      Like

      Reply

Tell me what you think.

