It’s big and it’s pink at The Writer’s Room.

Something a little different for starters this week. I know my Army blog is finished but I have a couple of pictures left over. This M113 APC, call sign 9 was the C.O’s vehicle. It’s parked outside of the unit HQ and opposite the Officer’s Mess. I took this on a Sunday morning, I couldn’t believe it when I saw what had been done. The culprits were two, young Infantry officers who thought it might be funny to have a go at the Cavalry. They weren’t too smart, the military police followed the pink blotches of paint back to their rooms. Our Boss was not a happy man. One of the culprits actually lost his commission and was bundled back out into civvy street.

 APC M113

I know, I posted the top pic last week and some people thought it could be a lake. Well it’s definitely blue mist.

Misty mountains

Quite a contrast here in colours, another sunset taken a few days ago. The clouds look like they’ve been shredded.

sunset

I do like this huge buttress of black rock, north of Ballina. It’s fighting a losing battle against the sea though. This picture will definitely look better in a new tab, and you will see the seagull. I’m sure they love photo-bombing.

Near Ballina

This rock feature in New South Wales makes for a nice water-colour conversion.

castle rock

Art is definitely in the eye of the beholder, this collection of painted eyes is next to the Magistrates Courts in Brisbane. Talk about keeping an eye on things.

eyes

This statue of a Wedgetail Eagle commemorates the service of Royal Australian Air Force personnel. It’s situated in the park near Queen Victoria’s statue from the other week.

RAAF symbol

This row of terrace houses from the 1800’s is situated in the bottom end of George Street, Brisbane.

george strret

This Egret kept a beady eye on me at Gatton.

Egret

I know it’s cute and I wasn’t going to put any in today but who could resist those droopy, tired little eyes on the joey. he’s comfy, its early morning and the sun is warming his little head.

wallaby and joey

That’s enough cute until next Wednesday folks, I know, you could pick him up and keep him on your pillow. I have to get out more I think and take some new shots. So until next week take care.
Cheers
Laurie.

36 thoughts on “It’s big and it’s pink at The Writer’s Room.

  1. Miss Lou

    Beautiful collection of pictures, Laurie. Rich in history and story. Loved the ones particularly of the blue mist – fascinating and George St townhouses in Brisbane…

    Thanks for sharing…

    ML

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      You’re welcome Lou, quite the mixed bag at times. That mist is fascinating, never seen that blue before. I do like the old townhouses, quite a difference between the old and the new.

      Like

      Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      You’ve caught me out Theresa, my plan was to turn the whole army pink, starting out with the pants, then pink personnel carriers. It will be the Navy next, pink destroyers.🙂

      Like

      Reply
  2. nataliescarberry

    Loved the sunset photo. It was stunning. And I can’t imagine why the pink vehicle wasn’t appreciated. Ya know, some people have no sense of humor at all! Cheers, Natalie 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  3. Eli Pacheco

    Well done, mate. You know, our government would like to have a wall like that, with all the eyes. I think that egret is keeping an eye on you too – doesn’t want you to steal all the juiciest frogs, I think.

    Like

    Reply
  4. Pagadan

    I always enjoy the variety, and it was interesting seeing the blue mist view(s) again, but I loved the sunset and the black rock buttress. I did take the time to enlarge the latter. Impressive!

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Joy. With the mist I’d only shown the top one. The others were to give a wider perspective and show that it was in fact, mist. The buttress does look good at full size, the colours are rich.

      Like

      Reply
  5. talain45

    I use to love these things! I made several different versions to the M113 APC as 1:35 scale model kits. I think I still have a few of them in my basement. These two young infantry officers must of thought they had big balls at the time of the prank. It’s to back one was kicked out though. The military always has its reasons for there disciplinary actions.
    The colors in the sun set beautiful and I remember the post with the blue mist. The other images of places you visited are nice as well. The Egret shoot is interesting, I do not have them in may area of the States but they are hear. I see your still taking picture of the ladies and I think she posing intentionally for you. That look she has is awesome, a very nice capture indeed. The joey is perishes hanging out of the mommy pooch.
    As always, I’m enjoyed your posts. Finding it a little hard to keeping up with everybody right now. I have a busy house by myself with Maria gone but I’m hanging in there! Take care and God Bless, Michael🙂

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      I used to love making up model kits too. The officers had more booze on board than balls I think.🙂 We get some great sunsets here, I didn’t underexpose that one neither. I had some pics up a while back of the egrets in their mating plumage. yes, I can’t help but take pictures of the ‘ladies,’ they are beautiful with their delicate, faces. I took about half a dozen shots there and I thought that looked the most appealing. The way she holds her head is just right. Those joeys are always cute, I love em. Michael I even appreciate a like, don’t feel pressured I know how hard it can be to keep up with followers and such. Keep the housework up to scratch and you’ll be fine Mate.
      Take care, cheers,
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
  6. Raani York

    Wow… I’m fascinated by most of the pictures. The sunset, of course, the monument bird, the kangaroo baby – but this week it’s the bird that caught my attention. Beautiful, Laurie!!

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Thanks Raani, I want to make it eclectic as possible so I can offer a little something for everyone. The egret has that look about her, I think there may have been a nest in the long grass.
      Cheers
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
  7. davidprosser

    I’m none too keen on the pink blancmange at the top of the screen Laurie so I can understand the C.O being a little pee’s off. The other pictures are great but the one of Sunset is absolutely astounding.The best I’ve seen.
    Have a Great Weekend.

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      He was ropeable David, something of an insult doing that. Definitely not something young officers should be doing. You definitely need strange clouds for good sunsets, one needs to look away from where the sun’s going down and check out the flaring effects. Thanks for dropping in David.
      As always, I’ll do my best.
      Cheers
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply
  8. Michele D'Acosta

    Laurie, these individual images are exceptional and (in the case of the first one) quite provocative. Collectively, these images take me on a journey and somehow my end point is Aldous Huxley’s masterpiece The Doors of Perception include Heaven & Hell — “But the man who comes back through the Door in the Wall will never be quite the same as the man who went out. He will be wiser but less cocksure, happier but less self-satisfied, humbler in acknowledging his ignorance yet better equipped to understand the relationship of words to things, of systematic reasoning to the unfathomable Mystery which he tries, forever vainly, to comprehend.”

    Like

    Reply
    1. laurie27wsmith Post author

      Coming from a photographer/film maker like yourself I take this as a great compliment, Michele. A war machine painted pink is quite provocative when I think about it, not the done thing. I read Huxley many years ago and found his work with mind altering drugs interesting. I had a quick look at The Doors of Perception on wiki and find it interesting that he talks about the ‘antipodes’ of the mind in relation to unused parts of the brain and the relationship between bright, colourful objects, geometric designs, psychoactives and art. I think I have a few unused parts of the brain.🙂
      There’s a mixture in the post of old and new, nature and life. Sometimes it’s hard to find a niche.
      Cheers
      Laurie.

      Like

      Reply

Tell me what you think.

